Oops

This always happens to me: I post something, and then after the fact I start to realize numerous ways in which what I’ve said might have been misconstrued.  So, to clarify: nobody in my family has been accused of a heinous crime.  Quite the contrary.  The only crime of which any of my relatives are guilty is just lying down and taking it.  Basically.  I wish I didn’t have to be so vague, but I really can’t be too explicit here!  Out of curiousity, I asked my mom whether she’d be on my side if I did [insert relevant wrong here], like [insert relevant perpetrator’s relation here].  I could not get a straight answer out of her; I am taking that as a “no.”

Family drama really gets to me.  I don’t like drama.  At the same time, though, if it is already there, I’d rather just get it out in the open, hash it out and come to some sort of resolution.  Instead we’re left with simmering resentment.  Is it any wonder why I’m so good at that?!  I come from that type of stock, apparently.

I’m not making any sense here, am I? … Never mind, then.  Moving on.

Whole wheat English muffin and All Whites with salt, chili powder, and cayenne pepper.  All fine and good except that I got a mouthful of cayenne with the last bite.  Hot.

I got together with some of my friends today, just to hang out and play some weird game that one of them couldn’t figure out… which we didn’t end up playing, but that’s another story.  Two of them brought their kids.  I wasn’t thrilled about that… I mean, I’m not begrudging them that, or anything, but it would be nice to be able to spend time with my friends.  That’s all.  I tend to feel very depressed / ambivalent about life after these little get-togethers.  Probably why I dislike them!  Ah, well.

Cottage cheese banana pancakes that actually look like pancakes, as opposed to a scramble, which is usually what happens when I get impatient and try to flip them too early.  It probably helped that I was distracted and doing four other things at the same time.  Anyway, this contained 2/3 cup wheat bran, 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1/4 cup All Whites, 1/2 banana, packet Truvia, and cinnamon all blended until smooth.  And then cooked, and cooked, and cooked on the stove.  This is why I can’t ever have them for breakfast: I don’t care to wake up an hour earlier than I already do, just to make pancakes.

Random: I was at my sister’s house the other day, and she told me that my mom was “boasting” to her that she (my sister) doesn’t know “how much [I] pay for tuition.”  Which isn’t true — my sister does know, I mean, she does my taxes for me!  But seriously?  What.  The.  Hell!  If she wanted to pay the crazy tuition, then she would have the right to brag about it, but I don’t see why she feels like she can crow over my going bankrupt.  ARGH!

Spaghetti squash topped with a mixture of sauteed eggplant, fetus carrots, baby bellas, and Gimme Lean Beef “meatballs” (okay, more like “meat squares”).  I tossed the seeds from the squash into my backyard.  I’m betting nothing will happen, but how cool would it be if I had spaghetti squash growing right outside my door??

Reasons why I am not exactly looking forward to the coming week:

Well, not the roses. Nothing wrong with that. This picture is from last year, when Shavuos came around.  I’d go into further detail — because you so want to hear about that — but I have to go, because I just did an awesome job of making a pain in the ass of myself so that I could get a last-minute appointment with my podiatrist.  Because apparently I don’t know how to walk, and I’ve got to take care of this irritating callus.  Okay, you probably didn’t need to know that.  Anyway.  I just wanted to do that before I go on vacation… next Sunday!!  If I survive this week, that is.

Have a lovely Monday.

“We must all hang together or most assuredly we shall hang separately.”
~Benjamin Franklin

12 responses to “Oops

  1. I like your pasta dish! A fetus carrot? Good grief! Is that like a step down from a baby carrot? lol

  2. I hate family drama as well, but luckily most of my family lives on the other side of a big, big ocean, so I don’t have to deal with it too often. I DO have to listen to my mom complain about it all the time, though, so that’s a bit annoying.

    And if I see one. more. pancake while reading blogs today, I’m going to scream. I swear that they’re taunting me. I’ve been meaning to make pancakes forever now, but I can’t seem to deviate from my morning bowl of oats. I guess the only logical thing to do is have pancakes for dinner…

  3. traynharder23

    NICE pasta. totally want to try this now.

    family drama sucks ass. i have it all the time. and now that all sisters are home? more and more. time to hermit.

    PANCAKES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Meh, I’m not a drama person either. I just try to let things go in one ear and out the other when my mom and her sisters get crazy. Which happens a lot. They’re very loveable and sweet though so I guess it works out. Hope you aren’t too stressed about it all. You can make it through the week! Sending good wishes!
    xoxo Caronae

  5. Family drama SUCKS. I’ve had my fair share, and I mean with my relatives, not my immediate family members…with a certain inheritance and the death of my grandpa…yeah. So trite. It sucks to see adults acting like complete immature brats.

  6. Hope your family member is okay…

    Good luck at the podiatrist!

  7. Chillel Williams

    Sorry i didn’t comment on your post yesterday dear..
    I read it and just felt ‘oh dear..this is so cryptic i fear i’ll say the wrong thing and cause offence’…so i chose to say nothing.. Gah..apologies..

    I really hope the family drama dust settles soon..
    It’s sad to *see* you so low and i guess..’different’..
    These things happen though right?..

    I hope you’re taking care of yourself as best you can otherwise though..

  8. Ohh family drama. Sadly I know it all too well!
    Your pancakes look great; I’m guilty of flipping mine too early. I can’t help it, I’m excited to eat them! =P

  9. oh yea, that wouldnt be cool if someone thought u were talking about ur family! .. i knew what u meant tho. sorry about having to juggle friend time with their motherhood.. i totally can understand what ur saying! you were looking forward to being able to spend time with ur friends and have fun. its SO important.. and even if they have kids.. its still important for them to have alone time with their friends (like you) as well. xoxo ❤

  10. ohhh yeah nothing better than being with your married/child-wielding friends to make you feel OH SO ACCOMPLISHED, right?

    um, unrelated, where did you find spaghetti squash?? i have such a craving right now

  11. nothing sucks more than drama… i always say whatever and tell myself to get over myself already and get on with life. it is SO not worth dwelling on. i either face and and take care of it up front and immediately or else drop it.

    yummmmm i need an ode to the spaghetti squash if they werent so flippin big i would eat them often but you get a freakin crapload from one squash!

  12. imaginenamaste

    I detest drama—never fun, at any age!

    You always such interesting ingredients in foods! You inspire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

