Sad Feet

Beautiful weather here today.

NOT.  I have a pair of wellies that I was going to throw out once, but I didn’t, and I now remember why they were headed that way.  When I left the gym, I didn’t bother to put on my socks, since they’d just get wet; I stuck my bare feet in the wellies, and oh my gosh, the pain!  Wellies + bunion = agony.  And a blister.

But I did lug a pair of running shoes with me today.  (Indoor running shoes, so they could not alleviate my agony once the rain finally stopped.)

I’m not exactly sure of the time, but it took too long to run a mile… something around eleven minutes.  Actually, that’s because I walked half of it, since I got a stitch in my side again, and if I tried to run through that I probably would have fallen off the treadmill.  What causes stitches, and how do I get rid of them?!

I think it’s a bad idea for me to track my time when I’m running.  I’m always going to want to beat my previous time, and at some point that becomes impossible.  Also, while I like trying a new form of exercise — because I love discovering soreness in muscles I didn’t even know I had — I do not like to feel like I am horribly out of shape, and running makes me feel like I am.  I arrogantly expect to be able to do everything super-well the very first time I try it, and if it doesn’t work out that way — as tends to happen — I get angry with myself.

Anyway.  I’ve always said that I prefer to eat my greens, and therefore I am not likely to jump on the green monster bandwagon.

Well, I didn’t.  This is about as far from healthy as you can get!  It’s a yogurt smoothie… made with sugar-free lime Jello powder.  I do not actually like lime Jello, and I do not know why I have another two boxes of it.

Looks like I really need to call my endocrinologist now… aside from the confusion about the medication dosage, I called a lab today to make an appointment for a bone scan.  I was informed that they don’t do bone scans there; they do bone density scans.  Well, whatever; I want the same thing I had done there last time!  But I don’t know whether that’s what is on the prescription the doctor sent.  Way to make a pain in the ass of myself!

Romaine, alfalfa sprouts, tempeh, roasted butternut squash.  Finished the tempeh!  And while I’m rejoicing over finishing things I didn’t want around, I also finally finished the hemp milk.  Now I can try a couple of new cereals I had lying around — I didn’t want the taste of the hemp milk to ruin the taste of the cereal.  Yes, I have issues.  Why do you ask?

This is more along the lines of what I was hoping for with that bottle of way-too-sparkly polish!

Excuse the sloppy  job… I wasn’t “finished” yet.  😉

As is typical of Monday  night (nutritionist night), it is way too late for me to be awake.  I am quite disenchanted with the supermarket trip I took after my appointment: there were no bananas at the right stage of ripeness, the grapes were insanely expensive, and there is nary a rutabaga to be found.  Boo.  And I am not even going to venture into yapping about the appointment, because I want to go to sleep… which I would have done half an hour ago, had my sister not decided that it is urgent for me to proofread this book tonight.  I refuse to be held responsible for anything I may have overlooked, since I am half asleep.

IMG_0104

Recycled.

Happy Tuesday!

“No diet will remove all the fat from your body because the brain is entirely fat.  Without a brain, you might look good, but all you could do is run for public office.”
~George Bernard Shaw

14 responses to “Sad Feet

  1. LOL awesome quote. btw im painting my nails while typing this.. well not at the same time.. that could get messy. just waiting for them to dry haha.

    thats gotta be the most gorgeous weather-wow.. lol yea its raining here too! night night love<3
    xoxo

  2. bone scan = bone density scan

  3. i happen to love your nail polish here 🙂

  4. Jessica Zara

    I think both types of bone scan are the same thing? You can’t really scan for anything other than density to my knowledge…

    I remember one particular comment about the supposed volume of food on your plates but I think it was more said in jest than anything, although it was very badly misjudged and quite insensitive. I hope you haven’t had any others besides that one, otherwise I’ll have to go and poke the commenters’ eyes out with a stick of celery.

    With running, no-one is ever great at it to start with unless they’ve been participating in track or cross-country since they were a kid. Everyone has to start from the bottom and once you do see results, it’s so satisfying. You’re better than I was when I first started, because I couldn’t even manage a mile. Please try not to put so much pressure on yourself when you’re just starting out though. In many ways treadmills are pretty demoralising when you first start off and, as you say, there’s a huge temptation to get obsessed with the numbers. Perhaps you could run/walk the distance to the gym and then gradually build up to running it all, which would take the focus off times etc? Just a thought anyway, feel free to disregard 😉

  5. i think it’s important that you recognized and now can change your running workouts, knowing the kind of path your mind wanders to.

    youre a rock star, don’t forget it 🙂

  6. Oh God, that green smoothie thing cracked me up big time. I’m not a fan of the things, so I definitely support your decision to stay off the bandwagon and go with green jello smoothies instead 🙂

    I have the same exact relationship with running; I want to be good at it, but every time I tried, it just reminded me how much I sucked at it so I gave up to keep my pride in tow.

    Can we trade weather? I’ll take your rain and you can have my snow…

  7. I’m probably the only person who hasn’t tried a green monster. Maybe one day….now the jello one is right up my alley!

  8. The Shaw quote made me laugh! And I loove roasted butternut squash 🙂

  9. Ugh yeah, I got drenched yesterday. Then our office AC was broken, and I was stuck sweating in a cashmere sweater!

    Don’t worry about how long it takes you to run a mile… just do what feels good. And if you have to walk, it’s okay! Ari and I went out for a run yesterday and ended up walking the whole thing.

    I wrote a post about side stitches once… there are a lot of things that can cause them, from eating before you work out to endurance to the way your foot strikes to how you breathe.

  10. “I think it’s a bad idea for me to track my time when I’m running”

    isnt it a worse idea to run with blisters and bunions???

    haha lime jello ewwww i wouldnt like that either, not a fan of the lemon-lime stuff.

    i have wanted a bone scan/density thing for a while now to see if i have damage… i didnt even know there was a difference, go figure

  11. I am seriously HATING this weather!

    That is the greatest quote btw!!

  12. I love that quote!..

    Im sort of in the same place with you & running. I get very competitive and always feel like i have to do better or more. Im working on the whole moderation thing. You can try putting limits to how often you run, that what im doing.

    Dana ❤
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  13. Well, I heard that NYC will be getting some good weather pretty soon….it should clear up soon enough, hopefully!
    The idea of a bone density test scares the shit out of me. I know it’s gonna be really, really bad news…

  14. Pingback: Beautiful and Bikinis « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

