Aunt Oldie

Good news first: I am an aunt!  Yes, big shock, I know… I’ve been one since I was six, and have lost count of how many nieces and nephews I have.  But there’s a new one!  😉  A girl, if you must know.  And for those who inquired whether she has a name yet, no, she does not, because baby girls are named during the morning reading of the Torah portion, and that happens on Mondays, Thursdays, and Saturdays.  So it’ll be another couple of days!

This is where I should hide in shame, but instead I am just going to announce that I basically ate two breakfasts and two lunches today.  (Thanks for the suggestions re: replacing the dreaded supplements, by the way!)

Breakfast #2:

The equivalent of one Boost Plus.  Just tastes better, and is easier on my digestive system… which, believe me, is a very necessary requirement.

I’m absolutely mortified to eat enormous quantities in front of other people… so I only took part of Lunch #1 with me when I met my friend.

Based on this recipe, but I altered some of the measurements.  In case you’re too lazy to click over, the ingredients are mung bean sprouts, corn, kidney beans, salsa, cumin, paprika, salt, pepper, and water.  Sounds crazy, but it’s good, I promise!

And then, to replace another Boost Plus, I used something I bought last night…

Shivers.  Okay, I actually wanted to get the cinnamon raisin variety, but A) I don’t really like raisins at all, and B) I was having a completely disordered moment anyway.  But I made a sandwich using this and Mighty Maple.  (Yes, I know, sandwiches are a “fear food” for me.  Whatever.)

The bread was very… intriguing!  I’m wondering how the crunch of the seeds (or whatever they are) would coincide with a cinnamon raisin loaf.  That just seems like it would be… weird.

And then I jumped on two bloggie bandwagons at once: savory oats and nooch.

Oats cooked in vegetable broth with a beaten egg white added in; topped with peas, fetus carrots, and a blanket of nooch.  Which, surprise, tastes extremely cheesy!  I don’t like cheese at all; never did.  I didn’t mind the nooch at first, but after a few bites it got to be a bit much.  I shall apply it with a light hand in the future.  😉  And eating savory oats didn’t feel as strange as I thought it would.  (My  mom walked into the house while I was eating this and wanted to know if she smelled barley… or maybe kasha?  I don’t know what she smelled, but I do remember my Abnormal Psych professor saying that smell delusions are indicative of severe mental disturbances, so I think she should worry.  ;))


Verbal vomit portion:

I am seeing my endocrinologist tomorrow morning.  This makes me nervous for a variety of reasons.  I do not want to be weighed… but I suppose I could always just tell him that I don’t know want to know.  I am trying very very hard not to freak out that I won’t be able to go to the gym.  It isn’t exactly working.  And I am most likely going to have to go get blood drawn immediately after the appointment, and the last time I did that, I got yelled at because they wanted fasting bloods… so I won’t be able to eat until probably around noon.  And I have class tomorrow night… which means I’m going to have to somehow squash something like fifteen hours’ worth of calories into six.  Just so not happening — how would one even begin to do that?!

On a completely unrelated note, in this never-ending e-mail exchange with my dad (I believe we’re at 33 messages at present), he informed me of a comment made by one of my nephews who came over the other night.  This is how I do: take shower, put on “pajamas.”  I see no reason to wear clothes if I’m not going anywhere!  So I was wearing short sleeves, which I never do otherwise.  I don’t really think it’s important for me to go into specifics, but I heard “through the grapevine” (i.e., my dad’s e-mail… we are such a family of gossipers…) that he said something to my sister.  A) Why is it necessary to tell me this?  B) Am I supposed to care?  C)  Am I supposed to be upset?  Glad?  What??

Clearly, I have issues with identifying what I am feeling.  Or should be feeling.  Or something.


Random: I spent all day trying to get an annoying pebble out of my shoe, and when I changed into my swimsuit tonight, I figured out why it wouldn’t go away… it was in my sock.  How on earth did that happen?!  And I need to buy new shoes.  Boo.  I hate buying shoes… such a pain.

Earrings… recycled picture, but I wore these today. 

And I am off to stress myself out some more, I suppose!  Have a happy Hump Day.

“The devil has put a penalty on all things we enjoy in life. Either we suffer in health or we suffer in soul or we get fat.”
~Albert Einstein
(Come again? … I’m not quite sure what this is supposed to mean!)

9 responses to “Aunt Oldie

  1. Savory oats! Wow, it’s been much too long since I’ve had those. I think I know what’s on the dinner menu for tomorrow. And nooch does taste surprisingly cheesy; a fact that actually kind of freaked me out when I first tried it. Those little flakes are crazy addicting though.

    As for having to get a lot of calories in in a short amount of time, I usually find that smoothies work best for instances like that. You can really load them with some crazy stuff and make a single glass super calorie dense. Not the most pleasant idea, maybe, but doable when it has to be done. And it DOES have to be done, girl. Don’t use it as an excuse ❤

  2. i’m too scared to try savory oats. i’m so weird like that. oats must be doused in cinnamon and peanut butter and yogurt. =D

    sorry about the med drama. i “got the red out” via a vein my left arm. lovely.

    i eat 2 breakfasts! and 2 lunches! and posssibly 2 dinners. hehehhe.

    mung beans are BOMB. and yes, i’m defrosting the tofu roll as we speak.

  3. YAY we have the same bread <3.

    ps. i fu$k#@g hate when i get a pebble lodge in my shoe. its one of those annoyances u cant let be.. gotta get that thing out hah

  4. yum to this:mung bean sprouts, corn, kidney beans, salsa, cumin, paprika, salt, pepper, and water.

    and the last post, the ‘fu w/ paprika looks perfect and so colorful, lov it

    congrats on being an aunt and love the earrings!

  5. Congrats on being an auntie once again!
    I dread my endocrinologist visits as well mainly for the weigh ins. Luckily I haven’t had to fast for blood drawn but I would throw a hissy fit. I know how much that sucks!
    Did you enter my giveaway yet?
    http://itsawrapteacher.blogspot.com/2010/04/birthday-giveaway.html

  6. Congrats on being an auntie again!!!

    Your savory oats look nice, I still havent tried many variations of them yet, I usually cook them in tomatoes and add stuf in. Its quite nice for a change.

    I do that to, I get home from work, take a shower and stick my pjyamas on ebcause I think why not? Im not going out so theres no point in getting changed to just change again in an hours time!
    xox
    Laura

  7. aww congrats on being an AUNT!

  8. Congratulations, Auntie!

    Good luck at the endocrinologist today.

    (I get into my PJs when I get home from work, too. Nothing wrong with being comfy!)

  9. Pingback: Hades « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

