Progress + Giveaway Winner

Someone had a productive few hours!  This is highly unusual, I assure you. 

Last night, as planned, I took a shower.  And then I did this:

Dehydrated apples and sweet potatoes.  Which I took out of the dehydrator at 5.30 this morning, since I couldn’t sleep.  Thank you, Excedrin Migraine.  My mom was mad at me for not tasting them.  Uh.  Okay.

Later in the day, I also made these, for my brother:

No idea why the picture is so dark, but that’s dehydrated mango and spicy potato “chips.”

I did slice and freeze my challah.  And I even did schoolwork!  Not what I meant when I put it on my list — I was referring to the Assignment from Hell, and instead I commented on the assigned readings (without actually reading them, of course).  But I did get some work done for the aforementioned assignment today.  And I have come to the conclusion that it is a total waste of time, energy and paper.  It seriously serves no purpose.  I hate things like that.

Anyway.  There were a few slices of challah left besides for the loaves that I froze, so I decided to make some French toast. In doing so, I discovered that if I use another attachment to my mini whisk to, well, whisk an egg white, it works out a lot better.  Go figure… I soaked the challah slices in a mixture of almond milk, egg white, cinnamon, and Truvia, and then put them on a hot nonstick pan and set off the smoke alarm.  It was taking too long, and I am very impatient, so I popped them in the microwave for a minute, and then back on the pan.  Hey, whatever works, right?

Eh, I hate to gloat, but I was right.  This made awesome French toast.

Dense and chewy, just the way I like it.  🙂

I do not, however, appreciate the return of winter.  It was so cold today!  And here I thought I wouldn’t need to wear my winter coat again until next year.  Boo!!

My camera is schizophrenic, apparently.  Outdoor settings work better indoors, and vice versa.

It was, in fact, so cold that soup was warranted.  (Oh, right, I love soup even in the middle of a summer heatwave.  Let’s just ignore that for the time being.)

Broccoli soup with some whole spelt croutons and a side of comics. I haven’t had this soup in forever… with good reason.  I’m a salt-lover, yes, but even I have my limits!

And what’s a day without a pile of vegetation, of course?…

Blend of broccoli, green beans, sugar snap peas, carrots, onions, water chestnuts and red peppers… with Bragg’s, tofu and udon.  I love eating things like this because I can use chopsticks without feeling like a freak.  Not that I don’t do it all the time anyway…

Since it’s Sunday night, I have to say it: I do not want to go back to work!!  Monday is also nutritionist day (night) … I really shouldn’t worry, because yeah, I struggled a bit over the weekend (what else is new?), but I’m 100000% certain that I’ve fattened up sufficiently for the week.  But I’m an awesome worrier!

Oh, right, you really want to know who won the giveaway?  Fine, then.  Using random.org

Morgan! Congratulations! Coupons are on their way.

Have a great start to your week.

“Discontent is the first necessity of progress.”
~Thomas A. Edison

9 responses to “Progress + Giveaway Winner

  1. It looks like your dehydrator works so much better than mine. your fruit looks good! I kind of hate my dehyd!
    So excited I won, I’ve never tried these! Now I can finally have the bacon I’m craving (I’m craving meat, it’s HORRIBLE!). Do you still have my address or do you need me to send it again?

  2. im so impatient with my dehydrator.. everytime i put fruit in i end up opening the lid and sneaking my fingers in n’ start nibbling.. before i know it ive eaten all the fruit and now theres nothing to dehydrate. lol

    ur fruit turned out really good it looks like !!

  3. You’re so lucky to have a dehydrator! Have you tried dehydrated beets too? >.< They look really goooood!

  4. congrats on making AWESOME french toast! i’m drooling! which is gross.

    i drink hot stuff all the time during summer. LOL.
    dehydrator…..now i want some some dried apples! =D

  5. All your dehydrated treats make me want to lug mine out of the basement and put it to good use. Still holds some bad memories though, so I think I’ll leave it alone for the time being… And I have this sudden and inexplicable craving for French toast. Weird.

    I think you should embrace your inner freakness and eat with chopsticks all the time. I know I would if it didn’t take me like 4 times longer to finish a meal. I eat slow enough as it is…

  6. congrats to morgan and glad you were sooo productive. the eats look great!!!!!

  7. I miss your earring photos.. *hint hint*..Please tell me you’re still wearing them!!??..
    Just in case you wonder (im not ASSUMING you would) why im not commenting for a while i have final university exams until May 12th so can no longer justify spending my time cruising your wonderful blog..
    I’ll be back though!
    Gonna miss commenting.. 😦
    Take care love..
    xox

  8. I’m so jealous of your food dehydrator… good for you! I love dried apples. Nice of you to make your bro some snacks, too 🙂

  9. Pingback: What Does A Body Need? « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

