Lightlife II + Giveaway

You can check out Part One here!

Light Burgers, Veggie

I heated this on a nonstick pan (no oil / spray, just put the pan on the burner for a few minutes).  It worked out quite well; the outside was just the tiniest bit crispy, and the inside was a little chewy.  There are visible vegetables and brown rice, which I liked.

Tempehtations, Zesty Lemon

I’ve tried this before, and I didn’t love it.  But it was my first time ever trying tempeh, so I thought I should give it another shot.  I still didn’t love it… the texture is fine, what you’d expect of tempeh, but the “zesty” flavor is just way too strong.  It almost tastes sour.  In a sour-lemon way, not a sour-milk way!

Smart Strips Chick’n

I like these because they’re so versatile.  They work in a stir-fry…

…or in a salad…
IMG_0052
…or in chicken tandoori.
IMG_0043

I’ve used these strips in lots of other ways, too.  The only thing that would make them better is if they were available in an unseasoned variety; they’d be even more versatile that way.

Smart Chili

My pictures totally do not do this justice.  Yes, it looks like dog food.  No, it does not taste like it!  (Though, to be fair, I’ve never actually eaten dog food.)  It’s kind of high on the sodium, but it’s great once in a while when you’re in a rush.

Organic Soy Tempeh

This was extremely interesting to me!  I liked that it was pretty much a blank slate; it’s very versatile.  So far, I’ve tried it steamed and pan-seared, but I envision lots of different variations using this!

So… want to try some Lightlife products?

The company has graciously agreed to provide one of my readers with this:

Coupons that will get you some free awesomeness!  Only valid in the U.S., I’m afraid.

To enter the giveaway, visit the Lightlife website and tell me what products you’d choose!  Link back for an extra entry.  I will randomly select a winner sometime on Sunday, April 18.

15 responses to “Lightlife II + Giveaway

  1. The Smart Bacon. bacon is the one thing I now miss as a veg!

  2. Wow there’s so much to choose from! I think I’d like to try some of the chicken strips…any flavor! Oh wait, and pepperoni…I’ve heard such good things about theirs!

  3. I would love to try the tempehtations! 🙂

  4. so i just tried the smart wings and im definitely obsessed, now i want to try all their products…the other flavor wings and the tempeh-tations (since i think tempeh is gross without seasoning/marinade)

  5. smart chili, of course!

  6. I would love to try the smart chili swap. Yum, yum!

  7. I’d like to try either the mushroom burger or chili. Both sound really good.

  8. I would like to try their Smart Dogs. I like hot dogs, but I do think about the bad ingredients in regular hot dogs. They kinda freak me out I’m not sure what’s in them.

    ❤ Tori

  9. Ooh, great giveaway! I love the Smart Bacon, and would love to try the Zesty Lemon Tempeh!

    Thanks for a great giveaway, L 🙂

  10. I really want to try the chicken strips. Morningstar or someone used to make something like that and I had them once and loved them then they discountinued them! 😦 I also would like the jumbo smart dogs for grilling on the beach with my family! It would be fun to try tempeh and some of their deli meat too!

  11. I would choose the Smart Links® Breakfast & the Smart Deli® Bologna!

  12. organic tempeh b/c i have not had any in 5 yrs since going very soy-light/free

  13. Pingback: Progress + Giveaway Winner « Blue Eyed Heart

  14. Pingback: Feels Like Friday « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

