Yikes

I wanted to address some issues re: my last post, but it is late now and bed seems very appealing, so I will hopefully get to that tomorrow.  I just got back from my nutritionist appointment (verbal vomit at the end), and most of this post was composed beforehand.  So…

Guess what I tried this morning!

I really liked it!  Then again, I really like the regular Heart to Heart, too… but I would have liked a stronger cinnamon flavor to differentiate this from the original.

Mr. J came back today; I thought he wasn’t going to return until the end of the week!  Boo.  I was looking forward to eating my salad in peace, but I guess it was not meant to be.

Romaine, roasted Brussels sprouts, chick’n strips, roasted rutabaga.

Pumpkin bran muffin spread with Barney butter and microwaved… and yes, I bought myself a microwave-safe plate!  I keep these muffins in the refrigerator, and so even after I microwaved it for twenty seconds, the Barney butter was deliciously melty but the inside was still cool and crumbly.  It actually scared me how much I loved it.  Crazy.

I took a pretty picture today in celebration of the fact that winter is no longer my bosom buddy.  However, my computer ate every single picture on my memory card — there were about 500, because I was trying to hold off on uploading them until right before my vacation.  I freaked out.  My mom was all, “A computer genius like you should be able to find them again!”  Um.  I am a techno-dummy, as has been established here multiple times in the past… though I guess I’m not, in comparison to her!  After she said it three times, I asked her to stop since it was just making me nervous, and I called my sister to ask if I would ever be able to get them back.  She said there was a way, but that she wasn’t sure how to do it, and that I should call my brother.  He didn’t answer his phone, so I left him a message, and then I consulted Master Google.  Long story short — I got them back!!  But they’re on one of my other laptops uploading to Winkflash, so take my word for it that it was a pretty picture and maybe I’ll show you tomorrow.  😉  Coincidentally, the folders are all screwed up on my card now.  Wonder what that’s all about…

And on a totally unrelated note, I finally got my eyebrows threaded.  I’m actually very pleased — she did an awesome job!  I don’t think they’ve ever looked this good before.  (Sorry — that sounded conceited!!)


The abovementioned appointment with my nutritionist was the first one since before Pesach… and I was really scared.  For good reason, as it turns out.  I don’t really have the time or energy to go into all the details (lucky you!), but I was there for over an hour (appointments are usually a half hour long).  I went to the supermarket afterwards, as always.  They did not have a single rutabaga, and they had a crazy scale at the registers that rang up the price for a single banana, at $.59 / lb., as $1.35.  But…

Due partly to this, the calories I am now supposed to be consuming are nearly double that of what I already was.  I am scared shitless.  Words cannot even describe it.  But I am sick of my life.  I can’t say any more than that right now… the hour is too late.


I wanted to at least pay tribute to the fact that today is Yom HaShoah — Holocaust Remembrance Day.  I am actually named after someone who died in the Holocaust, and my generation is probably the last one that will ever personally know survivors.  I’m not generally a mushy / sentimental person, but I felt that I should at least acknowledge that.

Enjoy your Tuesday.

“I would not waste my life in friction when it could be turned into momentum.”
~Frances Willard

13 responses to “Yikes

  1. Girl, I’m worried about you. I’m sorry your nutritionist appointment was so stressful, but please be making sure that you’re taking care of yourself. Enjoy another one or two of those delicious looking muffins 😉

    Glad you got your pictures back. I love using technology, but I hate it when things go bad. I’m still waiting on my laptop to come back from the dead, and it’s been a less than pleasant experience for sure.

  2. Technology kicks my butt sometimes as much as it helps! I’m glad you got your pics back! Take care of yourself with all your added “fuel!” You can do–and you don’t know that you can’t until you try, right?

  3. if i say i love you does that help… hang in there chickie ❤

  4. Oh love..Im worried about you..Im not even gonna try and hold it down anymore..ugh..
    The less you ‘speak’ the more i worry too..So at the very least vent
    okay?.. Don’t worry about sounding negative.. I just want to make sure there are still *sounds* coming from you ya know..
    Then at least i know you’re still okay and that there’s hope.. 🙂
    I have faith in you hun..
    Hang in there..
    I always look forward to your posts by the way..
    🙂
    peace and love..
    xox

  5. Ease in to the calorie increase… your nutritionist is probably trying to recommend what is best for you 🙂

    That’s really neat you were named after someone who died in the Holocaust – it is a good way to let their memory live on.

    Happy you got the pics back! I am curious as to how.

    I got my eyebrows threaded once and LOVED it. I wish I could find a good place around here that does it!

  6. I know that it’s incredibly nerve-wracking to up a meal plan, but hang in there. Remember that your team’s goal is not to make you fat, it’s just to get you healthy. If it helps, any time I upped a meal plan when restoring weight, my metabolism boosted INSANELY. Kind of annoying at times, but it’s also a reminder that the old “calories in calories out” model doesn’t work, your body will put the new energy to use smartly. Also, remember that it will prioritize restoring your organs, muscles, brain, etc before anything else…not that there’s anything wrong with your brain, but it does demand 1/4 of your energy every day!!!

    The first few days on a changed mp are toughest, and then it becomes routine…hang in there, you’ll definitely be in my thoughts.

  7. Ack, sorry your appointment was rather traumatic. Dealing with calorie increases is hard but like Cammy said, it gets put to good use remarkably quickly. I wish there was some way to make it less scary for you ❤ I'm thinking of you anyway.

  8. I’ve always wanted to try threading! I get my brows waxed a few times a year (when I remember/have time)… I’m glad you like how they turned out.

    Good luck meeting your nutritionist’s goal… I have faith in you!

    Thank you for reminding us all about Yom HaShoa.

  9. stay strong darling!! ❤ that muffin looks amazeee.

  10. Hihi I remember my nutritionist threathening me with Boost…I was actually thinking: ”Oh they have Butter Pecan flavour, sounds good.” xD
    Calorie increase will get easier 🙂

    I’m glad you recovered your pics, I don,t know how I would do my posts otherwise!

    That Kashi sounds amazing, I wish Canada had them. I use Kellogg’s guadian, they seem similar :p

    How do you roast rutabaga and sprouts? I want to try new veggies. The rutabaga sounds intriging…:)

    xoxo

  11. Pingback: This Is Very Long « Blue Eyed Heart

  12. Pingback: Oh Dear « Blue Eyed Heart

  13. Pingback: … « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

