Wasting Time

I have come to the conclusion that my sleep woes are merely indicative of the fact that I am allergic to work.  This is based upon the knowledge that last night, I was asleep within twenty minutes — which is good, for me.  Of course, that might have something to do with the time I went to bed (nearly 1.00 AM), but I still think the theory is a good one!

My baking experiments… first, the challah.  The “subterfuge” was this:

The idea was to see whether the whole wheat haters would realize… but for reasons explained below, it was really irrelevant.

It was kind of a flop.  I had to refrigerate the dough overnight, and it didn’t rise properly, and when I was ready to put it into the oven, it was pretty hard.

pre-bake

post-bake

I was not trying to make pretzels!!  Guess it’s back to the original recipe.

Happily, the muffin venture was a lot more successful.

Pumpkin bran muffins!  I used a recipe from here, but I made a few changes.

Also from that website:

Baked French Toast.  I wanted to use up some cottage cheese… the bread was soaked in a pureed mixture of cottage cheese, almond milk, Truvia, vanilla, and egg whites.  I finished my jar of raspberry preserves by mixing it (about two tablespoons’ worth) with almond milk and microwaving it to make a sauce. Which was still way too liquidy, so I added a pinch of xanthan gum.

Tried something new this week, too.

Quite good, actually.  I can’t figure out why this is so much harder than soy ice cream, but I kind of like that it is.  Minus the whole “impossible to scoop” thing.

There is a lot of work I need to do, so, like any sensible person, I am going out tomorrow in an attempt to find a bag.  Sounds simple, but is not simple at all, because I am kind of picky since I know what I want… and I can’t find it.  My avoidance skills are truly remarkable.  I astound even myself.

Sort of related to that, there is something I won’t talk about here since very few, if any, people will understand it, and I’m just too drained to explain it.  But it’s something that has really been on my mind the past few days (spurred by a somewhat ominous I want to talk to you from my dad, who never did realize I was upset with him).  The fact that I can’t discuss it with anyone bothers me more than the actual concept of my not being able to discuss it, if that makes any sense.  It could potentially involve a life-changing decision — and I say that with a healthy degree of skepticism — but there’s a part of me that doesn’t believe I can control anything at all, especially if it involves a second / third / fourth party, and so I may as well save myself the grief by just giving in before I’ve even started.  I know that this all sounds ambiguous, and I’m sorry.  If I did a better job of explaining myself / getting my point across, maybe it wouldn’t be the predicament that it is.

With that, I am off to attempt to accomplish something useful.  Which probably won’t happen.

Have a happy Sunday.

“If a man character is to be abused there’s nobody like a relative to do the business.”
~William Makepeace Thackeray

7 responses to “Wasting Time

  1. i fear that i too am allergic to work. it is 7 pm and i am JUST starting on somethign that could have been done at 12 30 . whoops.

    aww feel better! i’m here for you!

  2. Bah lady..Im worried about you.. The ambiguity of that post just makes me worry more.. 😦
    Do NOT give in…You do have the potential to make things better for yourself love..BELIEVE..and talk about whatever you need to talk about with whoever you need to talk about it with..
    If it could possibly be of benefit to you you have nothing to lose..
    Don’t give up without trying..
    I realise this reply is probably sounding just as cryptic as your post (haha) but the jist of it is that im sending ya peace, love and encouragement!

    xox

    ahem..i’ll totally take the ‘pretzel’-challah bread off your hands if you don’t want it! 😉

  3. Boo to ambiguity, girl! Now I’m gonna have to bug you to make sure you’re okay… and I do very much hope that you’re doing well.

    I hate it when baking experiments don’t work out; sorry about your challah. But at least the muffins were a success, right? I’m definitely craving some muffins now. They seem to be popping up everywhere!

  4. Pingback: Ramble « Blue Eyed Heart

  5. Pingback: Yikes « Blue Eyed Heart

  6. Pingback: Angry « Blue Eyed Heart

  7. Pingback: Go Away, Winter |

Leave a Reply

