Sleep?…

Those of you who know me on Facebook have heard about my opinion of insomnia…  I was exhausted last night and in bed before 11.00 … and then, of course, I just could. not. fall. asleep.  I thought it might be too warm, so I turned on the ceiling fan.  Nope, still couldn’t sleep.  I refused to turn on the air conditioner — it was only 60 degrees outside!  I tried a sleep mask.  Didn’t help.  I decided to take a little walk to the bathroom… and once I got there, my eyelids felt like they were made out of lead.  Back to bed I went, but I was wide awake again.  I am telling you, my bed is the biggest upper out there!  It was nearing 1.00 AM and I was ready to pull my hair out, so I decided to be useful and went down to the kitchen.  I was pressing tofu and mixing a marinade at 1.00 AM.  Isn’t that lovely?

While the preparation time wasn’t ideal, I was rather fond of the turnout.

I used this polenta, sprinkled with some paprika; and this tofu, marinated in a mixture of spaghetti sauce and salsa and then baked.  And some zucchini for greenery.  With some extra marinade.

It is really, really lovely to be able to incorporate protein into my diet again.  Case in point:

Vanilla raspberry layer protein cake!  15g vanilla soy protein powder, 1 T applesauce, 1 packet Truvia, 1 egg white, 1/4 t baking powder, and a couple of drops of vanilla extract.

Ooooh, I must share this very, very exciting moment! I was griping about this exactly a month ago… look at what I found in Whole Foods this morning!

Let’s take a closer look at this, shall we?

Eeeeee!  (Insert manic squeal here.)  If this is not completely awesome, I will be very upset.  😉

I had elaborate plans involving schoolwork this evening… but somehow, that never wound up happening.  First I went to my sister’s house to pick up some of the things we had stored in her freezer over Pesach.  Then I had to do some things to prepare for Shabbos.  Then I made muffins — because, well, that’s more important than schoolwork, right?  I’m not going to show them to you until I’ve verified that they are non-toxic.  😉

And I am actually still in the process of making challah.  The dough is rising now.  At least, I hope it is — that’s what it’s supposed to be doing.  There is an element of subterfuge involved here, which will be revealed once the process is complete.  I hope that this is a more successful endeavor than last year’s!  (I used to bake challah every week, but now I only do it the week after Pesach.)  I used a new recipe, but I doubt I will be repeating it, since it is far too labor-intensive and time-consuming.

When am I going to do the work that needs to get done?!?!?!  (Of course, I could just take a page out of my co-worker’s book and “forget” to show up at work, which would free me up to concentrate on school.  Argh.)

Oh, I haven’t posted an earring photo in a little while.

Green to match a green day?  It was gorgeous outside.  I love hot weather.  (It wasn’t even really that hot today, but compared to a couple of weeks ago?  I’ll take it!)

Time to go check up on my dough, I suppose.  Which means I am not going to verbally vomit… even though I’d love to.

Have a lovely Friday.

“Wit is educated insolence.”
~Aristotle
(Ha… am I insolent, then?!)

11 responses to “Sleep?…

  1. Your protein cake looks fantastic! It look like a proper little cake, like a scone almost, definitely way better than my attempts! I didnt have any applesauce or pumpkin, maybe that helps things along.

    Love your earrings such a pretty colour, hpe you have a great weekend and get some good sleep!
    xox
    Laura

  2. traynharder23

    EEEEEE = manic squeal. REMINDS me when i got my camera/b called/centipede in my house.

    ew. i have to do work today too. NOT FUN! NOT FUN!

    =/

    xxxooxox

  3. Nothing like pressing tofu in the wee hours of the morning 😉

    I’m so jealous that you’re having nice weather. When I look out my window I see rain, wind, and snow… Winter has come back with a vengeance.

    Hope all your baking endeavours go well 🙂

  4. oh goodness — i used to have TERRIBLE insomnia and thank goodness it is gone (for the most part). i’d suggest if your not on meds yet, it used to be my anxiety that kept me up forever and my meds have helped A LOT.
    your protein cake looks scrumptious btw :] ❤

  5. Hey i have those earrings, except they’re brown. Just an fyi Haha

    ❤ Tori

  6. Oh challah bread..how i adore thee.. *swoon*
    I can’t believe you make it yourself! You’re def a girl
    after my own heart.. 🙂

    Sorry to hear that you’re having such trouble sleeping dear..
    Bah..it’s been a while now huh?..
    Have you thought of taking anything for it..? Just to give you
    AT LEAST one decent nights sleep?..

    xox

  7. Oh your cake looks good!! Great idea to fill it up!

  8. sorry you’ve been having trouble sleeping! that is the worst. i honestly didn’t find much of a difference btwn that heart to heart and the original, but i think i prefer the original ever so slightly. wow that protein cake looks professional!!

  9. Do you tend to read, watch TV, get on computer, etc in your bed or bedroom? I used to have problems falling asleep, but once I compartmentalized my activities a bit (computer only in office room, TV only in living room, only sleeping in bedroom) it made a world of difference. Just an idea, hope you get some rest tonight!

  10. You and I need to trade a few of our sleeping traits. I sleep like a log, and cannot wake up in the morning. You can’t sleep. We need to balance each other out!

  11. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    that protein cake looks good- i’ve got tot ry those! and im sorry about the sleep problems , i HATE not being able to fall asleep. I usually find that i’m hungry if i can’t sleep and so a littel snack does hte trick!!

Leave a Reply

