Lightlife

You may or may not have noticed that I’m a big fan of Lightlife products.  Kosher vegetarian options are few and far between, and many of these products are kosher certified, so naturally, I am all over them.

A few months ago, I was searching for the heat ‘n eat meals, and I couldn’t find them anywhere.  I e-mailed the company to find out why, and it doesn’t surprise me that yet another product I liked is now obsolete!  But the company sent me coupons so that I would be able to review some new-to-me products.  I originally intended on doing the whole line (well, everything I can, anyway), but that would be a monster post, so I’m just going to put this up for now.

Smart Links, Breakfast Sausage Style

I obviously have no idea whether or not this tastes like authentic meat sausage. It was a bit salty, but that’s to be expected from a fake meat product. The texture was a little bit dry / grainy; I would have preferred to have it be just a little moister.  But I liked it, overall.

Gimme Lean, Ground Sausage Style

I really liked this; at first, I had some trouble working with it because it was so sticky! I cut it into individual portions and froze what I wasn’t using right away, and then took them out of the freezer and defrosted them as I needed them. When “browning,” it was hard to break it up into chunks / crumbles, but at the same time, it held together really well when I made “meatballs.” This does have a slightly meaty consistency, but it’s not as heavy as meat; the meatballs were slightly spongy, but in a good way.

Organic Soy Tempeh

This was my first time trying tempeh strips. I’m not sure what I was expecting, so I can’t say whether or not these met my expectations! They had a nice smoky flavor, but I would pair it with “blander” foods, since that flavor can get overpowering.

Light Burgers, Original

These had a somewhat strange, almost “gummy” texture.  The taste wasn’t bad, it was just a matter of getting past the weirdness of the texture.  That might not be a problem if you pan-fry it; I microwaved one and grilled the second one on my Foreman.

Smart Sausages, Chorizo Style

Again, I would have no idea how these compare to “authentic” chorizo sausages.  But they did have a lovely, slightly spicy flavor.  The texture was a little chewy — not quite tough — but the package does warn to keep an eye on them, as they overcook quickly!

…and that’s all for now!

Have you tried Lightlife products?  Did you like them?

6 responses to “Lightlife

  1. i’m not a fan of lightlife products!! but that’s probably just because i don’e like fake meat things at all.

  2. Hmm, I will keep an eye out for these. I am craving some vegan biscuits and gravy!

  3. Thanks for these reviews! I’ve always been curious about the Gimme Lean sausage.

    I really like the tempeh strips. So smoky and yummy!

  4. Pingback: Lightlife II + Giveaway « Blue Eyed Heart

  5. Pingback: Feels Like Friday « Blue Eyed Heart

  6. Pingback: Sunday Night Blues « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

