Rain, Rain, Go Away!

This weekend has pretty much been a non-stop monsoon.

At least nobody was standing under that particular tree… five people were killed by falling branches during this ceaseless storm.  I can’t wait for the sun to come back.  It seems like it never will!

To alleviate the frustration caused by the myriad attempts at “protein pancakes,” I made cottage cheese pancakes instead.

1/3 cup cottage cheese, 1/3 cup wheat bran, Truvia, one egg white, and a crapload of cinnamon (hey, the container slipped) all blended up and cooked on a griddle.  The problem with these is that they take f-o-r-e-v-e-r to cook, and I am a very impatient individual.

Sometimes, however, things are worth waiting for.  Case in point: roasted vegetables.

Tofu steak (can’t wait until this stuff is finished!); rutabaga roasted with seasoned salt; and broccoli, mushrooms, and fetus carrots, Bragg-ified.

I sort of cleaned my room… meaning my closet is scarier than it has ever been, my carpet is officially shampooed, and my mattresses are flipped.  What I really need to do is take an entire week off and devote every second of every day to purging my environment of all unnecessary things, but that isn’t going to happen, so this shall have to do.  But I did find this:

I etched that a few years ago… it’s a mirror.  Lest you get the mistaken idea that I’m artistic, I actually used a stencil sheet for the design.  But I was fascinated by the notion of etching, and I did make another one that says something like “Home Sweet Home” … I believe that one is hanging in our basement.

These boxes contain 89 pounds of matzah.  Isn’t that lovely.  (Rhetorical question, because no, it is not lovely at all!)

It is Sunday:

I got a miniscule amount of schoolwork done today.  I suppose that’s better than none at all, especially considering that I am supposedly “on spring break,” but still.  I could have done more than I did, except that apparently I was too busy with other random things… but I’ll be damned if I know what those things are!

About my vacation “dilemma” … Even though I tell her that it’s mine, I earned it, and if I want to flush my money down the toilet then that is my prerogative, my mom persists in hounding me about how I spend it.  At this point, she doesn’t even have to say it anymore, because it’s like I have a Little Mom sitting on my shoulder all the time.  It kind of sucks.  But I looked into some other vacation spots, and overall, it would probably wind up the same price as my original plan, because diving costs more in some other locations, even if the flight / hotel / transportation is less expensive.  I think I should stop looking at the wetsuit as a part of this particular vacation and consider it an investment instead… the problem is that I am afraid that if I buy one and then gain too much weight, it won’t fit anymore and I will have really wasted my money.  😦

Not to point out the overly obvious, or anything, but I don’t want to go back to work tomorrow!  Oh, well… at least it’s payday.

Have a lovely Monday.

“A crust eaten in peace is better than a banquet partaken in anxiety.”
~Aesop
(Exactly.)

12 responses to “Rain, Rain, Go Away!

  1. you etched that? wow! i would probably break it and then be cursed with bad luck. oh man, scary stuff about the falling branches, that is what freaks me out about bad weather! hope some sunshine comes your way soon!

  2. i wanna etch a mirror! looks like fun! sorry about the rain! that sucks! ugh.

    pancakes—– now i have a pancake itch. UGH!

  3. I’ve never etched a mirror, but I’ve broken plenty! Hopefully the thing about bad luck isn’t true, or I’m doomed to be unlucky forever.\

    Ugh, I can completely relate to having a “Little Mom” on your shoulders… time to get rebellious and give her the old brush off!

  4. That mirror is so pretty! You could sell those : )

  5. So much to comment on!
    The fragrance whore from the last post…me too but I dont indulge as much these days as i used to.
    Paydays on Monday?
    Mother’s controlling your spending decisions. Ugh.

    The wetsuit and you’re a diver? OMG me too! I am PADI and have been for about 6-7 yrs. We go to Aruba every yr in Dec and I dive. Well, I havent the past couple yrs (pregnant or small baby) but next year, I am so there. I dont have a wetsuit b/c I refuse to ever dive in cold water again, got my PADI in CA and the water was horribly cold! Like it made me almost not go thru with it…same with scott but we stuck it out and so glad we did. We have all our own equipment but yea diving stuff is super pricey!

  6. we’ve been having a monsoon here too!!!

    what does rutabaga taste like? i don’t believe i’ve ever had it!! i’m with you on being impatient– thats why i never cook! haha 🙂 looks delish tho!!

    xoxoxo 🙂

  7. Haha I have a mini-mum on my shoulder too 😉 I don’t often listen to it but it does like to bug me! I agree with you on the roast veg issue, it might take a while but it is definitely worth it. That mirror is really cool, whether you used a stencil or not that still takes some doing! Consider your blog readers impressed anyway 😉 I hope the monsoon stops soon!

  8. I saw all of the damage in New Jersey this morning… looks even worse than it was here! We lost power for about 6 hours, but there are still so many who haven’t gotten it back.

    Wow, that’s a lot of matzoh… I’m kind of excited for it! My mom usually picks up a box or two of dark chocolate-covered, too 🙂

    Have a great week!

  9. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    cottage cheese pancakes? hmm haha sounds interesting. I lOVE roasted veggies too! & as for the vacation, your mom is just doing what all moms do.. don’t worry about it. Follow your heart. & yes that is annoying that you might gain and not fit into the wets uit but maybe then you shouldn’t invest in one quite yet, bc geting healthy is/should be the #1 priority.

    xoxox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  10. OMG i recently discovered rutabagas and i am IN LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! grilled, fried, mashed, roasted….they are SO GOOD. try hashbrowns out of them!

  11. hey suga!! my chocolate oats are on my recipe page 🙂 🙂

  12. I didn’t realize people die from branches falling on them. Yikes!

    Ugh. I hate how moms can affect our decisions even when they aren’t there. Well, I suppose it is good sometimes 😉

Leave a Reply

