Bombastic

Jessica asked if I ever feel oppressed by the more “misogynistic” traditions inherent in my culture. The answer is much more complicated than just a simple yes / no.  I’ll try to keep it short, though!

When I was younger, yes, I was very irritated by the “confines” of religion in general.  I do not take kindly to being told what to do, especially if I don’t understand the reasoning behind the action.  While I do accept that there are certain things that just don’t have a logical explanation, or one that is beyond human comprehension, I felt like that was used as a cop-out.  Kid asked something you don’t feel like explaining?  Just tell them that G-d said so, and you can’t understand it, so don’t even try and just accept it.  Asking questions, in my opinion, is not a bad thing; it shows that you’re not a brainwashed drone.  Apparently, not all of the “authority figures” here felt that way, because many times, kids / teenagers who asked “too many” questions were deemed to be “at risk.”  (I guess at risk for “leaving the fold,” though that makes it sound like I belong to a cult where we’re all held in shackles, which is not actually the case.)

The segregation of sexes never really bothered me much, since I am not the world’s most social person anyway.  (If you are wondering how it came to be that I wound up with a boyfriend anyway, it was probably just because I was told unequivocally that I couldn’t do something; that meant that I definitely was going to do it!)  But when I was younger, yes, I was a little peeved that men seemed to rank higher than women.  Sure, I can give you a bunch of sources (Biblical, Talmudic, whatever) that expound upon the importance of women, but they were all said / written by men, probably because their women made them do it.  (Yes, I’m kidding.)  I think it’s just the principle that bugs me, though.  Orthodoxy doesn’t permit women to enter the rabbinate or to officiate at religious ceremonies, but since I have absolutely no desire whatsoever to do that anyway, I couldn’t care less.  It actually works to my advantage sometimes: men are supposed to pray with a quorum of ten men.  Women have no such obligation.  So while my dad and my brother had to trudge through a deluge this weekend, I got to stay in bed until noon.

In terms of “misogyny,” then, I don’t think my feeling oppressed by it has much to do with religion per se.  It has a lot more to do with the particular males with whom I reside, and I think that is pretty universal.

For those of you who inquired: Baking matzah isn’t so complex, really.  It only involves two ingredients, after all — just flour and water!  The most important thing is the speed, because it must be completed in under eighteen minutes from start to finish (in order to ensure that no leavning occurs).  That includes mixing the dough, kneading, rolling it out, “puncturing” it, and baking it.  In a really, really, really hot oven!

Yet another attempt at protein pancakes:

15g whey protein powder, 5g soy protein powder, about 3 oz. All Whites, 1/4t each baking powder, baking soda, and cream of tartar, packet Truvia, 1t vital wheat gluten.  I actually forgot the cinnamon!  I made these in a small skillet.  Despite using less All Whites than I used to, this still had a slightly “eggy” flavor.  I am getting tired of this whole pancake / omelette hybrid thing I have going on!  But I probably won’t have the opportunity to try this again until after Pesach… absence makes the heart grow fonder?  😉

There was some pumpkin in my freezer, and I used it to make pumpkin peanut butter oat bran.  Yeah, I don’t particularly care for peanut butter in oat bran.  Whatever.

Oat bran, pumpkin, Truvia, cinnamon, and chunky peanut butter.

To finish off the last apple cinnamon mini muffin:

Vanilla yogurt, cinnamon applesauce, cinnamon, apple cinnamon mini muffin.  Yes, I am neurotic and diced it instead of crumbling it.

And yes, I ate out of a teacup.  We don’t seem to have many dairy bowls!

Despite my best efforts, there is no way in hell that we are going to be able to consolidate the contents of all of our freezers into one.  I told this to my mom, and she immediately became accusatory, telling me, “It’s all your things in there!”  (This is not entirely accurate.)  I asked her to excuse me for living; I was actually going to ask her to excuse me for living here, since we all know it wouldn’t be my first choice, but that just felt a little too bitchy to say.  She said that she wants me to live “like a normal person, the correct way.”  Meaning, like her.  Meaning, I don’t know how to live.  Because she is always right, and I am always wrong.  Seriously?  She makes me want to scream.

New Turtle Mountain flavor:

Chocolate peanut butter.

It actually tastes almost exactly the same as the chocolate peanut butter Soy Delicious.  Not awful, but not my favorite, either.

I love getting packages… it’s just so exciting.  It’s even better if I didn’t have to pay for them!  😉  Well, I did pay for this one, but I was still thrilled about its arrival!

A cordless optical mouse for my laptop.  Finally!  Too bad my laptop is slightly retarded and apparently incapable of managing both an SD card and a wireless mouse at the same time.

The next package requires a little preface… have I ever mentioned that I’m a total fragrance whore?

Well, I am.  Anyway, I won a giveaway from Allure magazine in September, and received this in Friday’s mail!

Velvet Amber Blackberry Eau de Parfum.

I had never smelled it before, but it’s quite nice!  🙂  I like most Victoria’s Secret fragrances, though.  Just in case the above picture didn’t give that away…

Yesterday’s earrings…

The hood is not actually there to show how perfectly my sweatshirt matched my earrings; it is because we have been experiencing truly lovely weather for the past couple of days, complete with high winds and torrential rains, and my hair does not appear to be very happy about it.  Nor am I… especially the part where I walk out of my room in the morning and have rainwater drip onto my head from a leak in the ceiling!!

One of the schools I contacted about online programs has gotten back to me.  I sent some course descriptions to my school to see if the credits would be accepted, and the dean needs to approve it, so I have to wait until Monday before I even apply.  I’m wondering if it’s even worth it for me to spend all that money and hassle — I’d have to pay the application fee, plus the fees to have my undergraduate transcripts and GRE scores sent.  The only difference, because I’m not a degree-seeking student, would be that I don’t need to have letters of recommendation.  I think I am going to apply to just one school and hope for the best.  Which is probably a stupid move.

And on the topic of spending… I was all set to book my May vacation, when I found the catch.  You know how when something is too good to be true, it probably is? … Well, the round-trip transportation from the airport to the hotel would cost $116.  I nearly had a heart attack when I saw that.  So now I have to decide what to do… I can go somewhere else for less money, but I really would rather go here because I’ve never been before, and I want to dive in new-to-me places.  I also have a “rule” that I can’t spend more than one paycheck on a single vacation, and with airfare, hotel, transportation, diving, and the wetsuit (because yes, I am including that) … I’d probably surpass that.  I’m good at feeling guilty as it is; this is not helping.  Unless I win the lottery, which isn’t looking likely.  What to do, what to do…

Tomorrow has been designated as the day for me to clean my room for Pesach.  This basically entails flipping the mattresses and shampooing the carpets, which would generally mean I need to sleep upstairs while it dries… but since I don’t want to do that, we’re doing my room on a Sunday so that it has all day to dry.  I’m getting a little sneaking feeling that I won’t be achieving much in terms of schoolwork over the rest of this weekend!  Cue panic.

And we even lose an hour of sleep tonight.  Whee!

Have a great Sunday.

“When you’re finished changing, you’re finished.”
~Benjamin Franklin

12 responses to “Bombastic

  1. dang good thing you caught that little zinger about the transportation, wow!! interesting read, i’m always curious to know about other people’s cultures and their take on it. i love matzah bread

  2. yay for losing EVEN MORE SLEEP. (sarcastic).

    i’m totally dragging on the school work too! and the blogging front. totally not putting the effort when i should.

    sorry about pancake fail. i’m waiting for you to have an epiphany and develop the best protein pancake and then i get to try to make it! you are SUCH a better cook than me!

    and totally feel you on the mom front. UGH.

  3. girlfrand you need more healthy fats!! haha okay i know im being annoying.. BUT i added wayyy more fat to my diet and I FEEL GREAT. my skin is soo smooth, hair is soft, nails growing, abs are showing more!! i think i am saying this bc you said you didnt like PB in your oatbran, which is totally ridiculous that im saying this in the first place, so i apologize

    sorry about the mom thing and the pancake thing!! i dont even try to make protein pancakes anymore bc they ALWAYS FAIL! haha!

  4. That is NUTS about the travel costs! I went to a yoga center in up-state New York and almost fell over when I learned that the cost from the airport to the center (all of 30 minutes) was $50 both ways! Worth it–mostly b/c i had no other way of getting there 🙂

    I laughed at the coffee mug…I had to eat my cereal out of one today! I ran out of bowels!

  5. Haha that last word should be bowls 🙂

  6. Ahhh, I don’t think i’m ever going to make protien pancakes right. I don’t even bother posting them to by blog.. its suchha stress, ahah!
    I can’t believe how many of the same perfumes we have! 😀
    I also can’t believe you don’t like pb with your oats girlie!! :O We’re all different though.

    xoxoo!

  7. Pretty bottle for your perfume, Ive never smelt that one before.

    wow $116 is quite a lot just to get to the hotel and back, there must be a cheaper way to do it? Buses usually dont costs to much, unless the hotels really far away?

    Lol @ your pancakes, although your never happy with them they always look pretty good!

    Have a great weekend,
    xox
    Laura

  8. Thanks so much for answering my question in such detail! I think we actually share a lot of the same views, particularly in terms of ‘cop-out’ explanations…although I suppose I can blame my parents for that one 😉 I suspect they sent me to a school with a Christian ethos (because where we lived there weren’t any that weren’t either Church of England or strict Catholic!) just to infiltrate it and deconstruct the ‘programming’ of the other kids…I certainly got in a heck of a lot of trouble before I learnt to keep my mouth shut during Bible readings. I was really worried that it was rude of me to ask so thank you for being so understanding and accommodating my relentless religious inquisitveness. It must seem odd, but I have a lot of admiration for those with faith and I’m desperate to understand more about how people accept/accommodate the aspects of organised religion which I find hard to understand or get to grips with, something which I think troubles my Dad greatly 😉

    After all of that theological musing, I’ll finish by saying that if you ever make another bowl of oat bran with nut butter and don’t like it, then I’ll finish it for you 😛

    ~Jess~
    xoxoxo

  9. No PB in oats? Eep! I can’t eat PB because of allergies, but I can’t go without some kind of nut butter in my oats. Healthy fats make me happy, happy, happy…

    As for your vacation, I definitely say break the rule that says you can’t spend more than one paycheck on it. Vacations are meant to be enjoyed and if you like diving in new places, then I say do it. We only live once, right? 🙂

    I completely forgot about the time change… Needless to say, I was a bit confused this morning…

  10. Traveling can get expensive but I think worth every penny. Just do all your research before-hand and find the best deals. Those are the best experiences so don’t pass up the opportunity!

  11. ahh i can totally relate to what you were saying about judaism. although i am not orthodox, i am conservative. i used to go to temple quite often but never had any idea what was going on and the amount of unanswered questions plagued me to no end. but i have learned to accept it (probably because i’m not as religious anymore). i’m glad you’ve been able to do the same without losing religion as a part of your life!
    love always,
    becca

  12. congrats on winning the allure fragrance prize! Looks like a great bunch of stuff! I know it’s easier said than done but I say treat yourself to a vacation you truly want because you work hard and deserve it!

Leave a Reply

