Sleepy

Having grown up with it, I don’t find my own culture all that fascinating.  It’s such second nature to me that it’s easy to forget that it’s “news” to other people.  I’m glad to have played the role of “educator” in my last post, then, I suppose! 😉

This week’s guest speaker wasn’t quite as soporific and bombastic as the one we had to endure last week, but it was bad enough! And my oh-so-helpful professor went over our project topics… to me he said that “it looks like you have a good grasp on your topic, so I’ll leave you to it.” Gosh, thanks… all of my questions have now been answered!

There is an item that I need to add to my list of products I liked that have been discontinued: Nature Valley vanilla nut crunchy granola bars.  This makes me very sad!!  I bought that one box; I ate one bar, my brother ate five, and I haven’t been able to find them since.  Nature Valley tells me that “it wasn’t as successful as [they] had anticipated.”  It was so much better than some of the other flavors!!  I just don’t get it.  😦

But since I’m talking about them, this is why I do not like to eat bars at home:

I eat far too many of them when I’m out and about; when I’m at home, I don’t even want to think about them!  (See that Boost in the corner?  Yeah, it came to work with me by “accident.”  As in, I somehow took “too many” calories with me.  But I should have drunk it, because I “need” it.  And I didn’t.  Fail.)

Romaine, sugar snap stir fry (sugar snap peas, carrots, onions, mushrooms), tofu steak.  I’ve come to the conclusion that seasoned tofu annoys me; I’d rather have a plain block and season it myself so that I don’t need to eat the exact same thing for days on end!

Plain old purple earrings.

And a bracelet!  So exciting; I can wear bracelets again, thanks to acupuncture.  I couldn’t do that before, since I wouldn’t have been able to fit a brace over it.  While it’s still messed up, my wrist is so much better since I’ve been getting acupuncture; and I am the last person you’d expect to “buy into” something like that.  But when it works, it works.

With my distorted reflection.  (At least, I hope it’s distorted; I’d rather think I’m not two inches tall and round as a ball!)

Upset though I may be about my spring break non-plans, I’ve begun to work out my May / June dive trip.  To keep myself from slashing my wrists, or something.  :p  Seriously — I always need to have some sort of getaway on my radar, or I get very antsy.  Anyway, I am pretty sure that I have chosen both a location and a hotel… all I need to do is call the dive shop, because I like to have everything tentatively lined up before I book a flight and hotel.  Am I crazy to book a May / June vacation in March?!  One reason why I want to do it now — well, aside for the part where it might “slip away” if I don’t — is because I am going to invest in my own wetsuit before I go diving again, and I’d rather keep that on a separate credit card bill.  It’s for the good of my blood pressure.  You understand.

Even though I am not going to class next week, I am still going to leave work early as if I did have class; after all, I come early because of that!  I guess I will just get to go home and make a fancy dinner.  😉  Suggestions??  (Actually, this all depends on whether our kitchen will still be in use; a couple of weeks before Pesach, we move to our basement kitchen, which is microscopic, to prepare the main one for … potatoes, I guess.)

Almost the weekend… enjoy your Thursday!

“It is the nature of mortals to kick a fallen man.”
~Aesychlus, “Agamemnon”
(You know, sadly, this can be very true)

11 responses to “Sleepy

  1. I always like having something to look forward to on my radar as well, keeps me from getting cabin fever 😉 and I don’t think you’re crazy to book a summer trip in March! I’m glad your wrist is better enough for bracelets now 🙂

  2. Nope, I’m trying to plan a trip for Greece in July right now hoping it will be cheaper. I love having something to look forward to though. Cute earrings like always and in my fave color!

  3. Purple’s my favorite color! I wish you hadn’t talked yourself out of the Boost, although I can’t say that I haven’t done that with my Ensures before. There’s really no way I could have too many calories at this point, but I think that some days.

  4. Loving the purple earrings/shirt/bracelet! Purple is one of my favorite colors to wear 🙂

    I don’t like eating bars at home either… they feel like an “on the go” snack. That being said, there’s not many bars that I can actually eat because of allergies (peanuts) so if I want one, I have to make my own. As if life wasn’t complicated enough!

  5. Stylish doesn’t even begin to cover how great you look ~ purple really is your colour and suits your skin tone beautifully.

    I have been fed that line (word for word) by my own supervisors twice in the past semester. I just feel like shaking them and screaming out loud that I have no idea what I’m doing and I’m grasping my topic about as well as a person dangling from a cliff edge that has been covered in crude oil who is attempting to hang on with one finger. I feel your frustration!

    Hope the vacation booking goes smoothly 🙂

    ~Jess~

  6. barnardbarbelle

    Wow, it was so fascinating to learn about your culture. I attend school with a lot of orthodox students, many of whom are already getting married. I am technically Jewish, but do not know much about the culture of Orthodoxy. Thank you for sharing the info:)

  7. Wow, it was so fascinating to learn about your culture. I attend school with a lot of orthodox students, many of whom are already getting married. I am technically Jewish, but do not know much about the culture of Orthodoxy. Thank you for sharing the info:)

  8. im so glad you will have something to look foward too girl! makes the days not nearly as long!

  9. i def agree about tofu steaks.

  10. The sugar snaps need to come back into my life, stat. I never think to buy them for myself, so I love when my mom has them around the house.
    And I totally agree about seasoned tofu… it gets old so fast!

    I love the purple love! I need to bring my bangles back out.

    Good for you for taking the week off work anyway. Live it up!

Leave a Reply

