Snow Day

Even though I feel like I’ve said this a million times, I’m going to say it again, because I don’t assume everything I say is so memorable!  ;)  And none of the next paragraph will make any sense if I don’t say this first.  Anyway, I have a gold card membership to my gym.  I can go to any branch, but I generally use three: one from Monday through Thursday, one on Friday, and one near (relatively… it takes me about an hour to walk there) my house on Sundays.  The last one is the where I spent an hour standing in the snow a few weeks ago.  It opens at 9.00 AM.  The first two branches open at 7.00 and 7.30, respectively.

I tried to sleep late today, but I gave up around 6.45.  (I remember the days when I considered that insanely early… and now it’s called “sleeping late”!)  Even though I was uncomfortable with it, I was resigned to the fact that I would not be able to go to the gym today.  Still, since I was already awake, and since there wasn’t actually that much snow on the ground, I called the Monday-Thursday gym a little after 7.00, and it was open.  It’s kind of far from my house, but I was going to go there anyway.  Then, after breakfast, right before I left the house, I called the Friday gym — it’s a little closer to where I live.  They were open, too!  This made me very happy.  So much so that I even gave up walking outside for the elliptical, because I have a feeling that most “normal” people probably avoid traipsing about in snowstorms.

Speaking of “normal people,” my mom was really mad when she found out I was going to the gym.  She said that I am “not normal.”  I told her that I was pretty sure that I would not be the only person there — and, in fact, I was not — and she said, “But those people don’t have your problem, you are not well.”  Okay, Mom… and the point is…?  Sigh.  Yes, I am crazy, we all know this.  Accept it as a fact of life and move on!

Backtracking to breakfast, remember how I was so delighted at the protein content of my cottage cheese pancakes?  Well, today I made pancakes with a protein count that put those to shame.

I may have seen something like this on another blog, but if I did, I don’t remember whose it was; feel free to claim credit if it was yours!  Anyway, I combined half a cup of All Whites with a scoop of protein powder, a packet of Truvia, a few dashes of cinnamon, and the tiniest pinch each of baking powder and baking soda.  The awesome thing about these pancakes is that they contain 36g of protein.  What is not so awesome is the fact that I made them in the microwave, and I totally overcooked them.  The taste was fine, but they were tough.  And I generally like things “tough,” but this was overkill.  I ate them anyway.  Because… well, you know.  I’m excited for the prospects this gives me, though!  Maybe it had something to do with the fact that they were so, ahem, “well-done,” and maybe they were sitting like a rock in my stomach, but I was still insanely full four hours later.  So.

On my way home from the gym, I got off the train a couple of stops before I needed to, because I had visions of a peaceful walk through falling snowflakes dancing in my head.  Eh… not so much.  I emerged to a gust of wind that blew a sheet of frozen pellets at my face.  Sleet and hail.  Nice.  I started walking anyway, and eventually it stopped.  I was very camera-happy in my meandering today, though…

Okay, okay, I’ll stop.  :p

Much to my chagrin, I came to the realization that I would have to eat the lunch I had packed for work yesterday; it wouldn’t last forever, and the next time that I’m going to be taking a salad to work is next Tuesday!  This is what it looked like originally:

Romaine, alfalfa sprouts, steamed zygote carrots, and Lightlife Gimme Lean Sausage, which I just diced up and baked for a few minutes.  This is what it looked like after I mixed it all up:

I realize that it looks disgusting, but I assure you it wasn’t.  I’m not upset about it anymore, actually, because it was fantastic.  And I totally used the sauteed eggplant as a dressing; and like I always say, that stuff can make anything incredible.

My shoveling style is apparently extremely non-ergonomic; I have quite a backache!  The snow was falling faster than I could shovel it, but that’s okay, I don’t really mind shoveling.  My brother did it once this morning before he left for work, then my mom took a turn, then I did it twice, and then my mom did it again.  When I was gearing up to go out again, this time to shovel the back deck so that my brother won’t be stuck in the garage when he gets home, my mom got really pissed at me because “People like you should not be shoveling.”  Say what??

In between all of that shoveling, I had to run out to buy mushrooms, because I finally got around to making a “pizza.”  There’s actually nothing “pizza-ish” about it, but I don’t know what else to call it, so that will have to do.

On a garden vegetable tortilla: pasta sauce, peppers, onions, mushrooms, and tofu steak.  A bit overloaded, wouldn’t you say?!

With a side of crosswords.  Of course.

There are about a hundred pages that I need to read for school.  I think I read about twenty five today.  Only.  In an entire day.  None of it registered in my brain at all, though, so I guess it doesn’t matter.  And I got an e-mail from my professor saying that next week, we are essentially going to be cramming two classes into one.  My head hurts already!

But while I was sitting and “reading,” I had one of those spontaneous feelings of gratefulness that I was curled up on a recliner in my warm house instead of being outside in the nasty weather.  It serves as a good reminder to be thankful for what seem to be basic, everyday things… nothing is a “given,” even if we take it for granted.

However.  I’m not so sure I feel like going to work tomorrow!  Actually, I’m sure that I don’t.  Oh, well.  Life goes on.

Have a great Thursday.

“For sleep, riches and health to be truly enjoyed, they must be interrupted.”
~Jean Paul Richter
(I guess I’ve got a lock on this one!)

19 responses to “Snow Day

  1. aww sorry about the reading! UGH! that sucks.

    yay for salads! I HAD TWO SALADS TODAY!
    =D

    pancakes. wow. rock in stomach? SIGN ME UP!

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    “normal” and “people like you.” sigh. i’m sorry you have to listen to that! i hope you take care of yourself though, i know exercise is a complicated thing but i hope you can find the balance. that salad doesn’t look disgusting! all of your meals look amazing to me, i’m such a veggie whore :)

  3. I thought about taking some pictures of the snow outside, but I was too lazy to go out today! lol I did get one pic out my window however!

  4. suga you need some more carbs in those meals!!!
    haha maybe just bc i love carbs!
    pancakes look great .. 36 grams..dang!

    • Hi
      I don’t know the proper blogging etiquette in this situation, but i was hopeing you would check out my blog. I would love to get some feedback on it. Im sure you get this all the time so I would greatly appreciate it but even If you don’t get to it, I love your blog and I will be commenting more now that I am blogging as well. Hope to keep in touch.

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    yay for random feelings of greatfulness lol! but listen to your mommy :) moms know best! trust me. getting healthy feels really fantastic. 36 grams is so much protein, wow! the snow looks pretty and i think the salad looks deliciousss
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. Wow, 36 grams? Those are some protein packed pancakes you’ve got there!
    Oh, the good old “people like you” line. Nothing like it to make you feel like a different species or something.
    Since I’ve yet to experience snow I enjoyed all the photos. ;)

    Rachael*

  7. Oh dear, that wasn’t very tactful of your mum. I disagree that you are destined to be ‘crazy’ forever though ;)
    Your pizza looks good! I make them a bit like that sometimes too. I hope your back feels better today, and that your head doesn’t melt from all that work!

  8. Hooray for a cozy day at home! I also gave up the gym in favor of the comfort of my covers.

    Those pancakes sound awesome! Sorry they were tough… better luck next time.

  9. I love having those random grateful feelings; they make the day seem so much better. They’re especially nice when they have a cozy feeling attached to them. I’m loving the looks of your pizza! I’m currently munching on one of my own :) And snow makes everything so picture perfect.

    Have a great Thursday, hun <3

  10. Your Mum could have put it more delicately, but I think she was just worried about you. I went out shovelling snow six years back at my lowest weight and caught chickenpox because I got so cold. Shovelling snow is extremely strenuous and she might have thought that it was a compulsive/exercize thing?

    Glad that you’ve finally found a *reasonably* reliable gym!
    <3

    ~Jess~

  11. My family does not understand that I want to exercise either ;)

    I feel so happy to be inside when we have awful weather! Good luck with the rest of your reading!

  12. Hello, I was wondering what brand of protein did you use in your pancakes? Was it flavored or plain?

  13. The snow lokos gorgeous, and I love our little realization of gratefulness!
    Sorry that your mom seems to be sending you confusing messages. Maybe you could talk to her about things?

  14. Pingback: Close Call « Blue Eyed Heart

  15. Pingback: Saturday Night Blues « Blue Eyed Heart

  16. Pingback: “Confession” « Blue Eyed Heart

  17. Pingback: Oopsie. « Blue Eyed Heart

  18. Pingback: Forgettable |

Leave a Reply

