A Case of the Mondays

This will have to be (relatively!) quick, because I was only gifted with about four hours of sleep last night, and when I am sleep-deprived I get even more cranky and irritable than usual.  It is not pretty.

It was really interesting to read all of the comments in response to my last post; I’m going to shut up about it, actually, I just wanted to clarify a couple of points!  First, I’m not referring to any one person in particular; especially not someone whose blog I read regularly.  Obviously, if that gets on my nerves, and someone constantly does it, I’m not going to read that blog.  Also, I didn’t mean that it annoys me when an underweight person posts pictures of themselves in the context of their lives; just because someone is underweight does not mean that they have to pretend they don’t exist.  What I don’t like are the pictures that are clearly posed; there might as well be a thought bubble there saying something like, Well, if I position my shoulder just so, then my collarbone will jut out!  Woohoo!  I mean, things like that do happen accidentally sometimes, yes; but some of the photos I’ve seen require the effort of a contortionist.  It’s kind of ridiculous, really.  If someone wants to do that, by all means, they have that right; I just won’t read it.  But I really would like to understand it!  And I will get off my soap box now.

Some more matchiness!  (Is that even a word?!)

Hmmm.  It doesn’t look like it matches in this picture… but trust me, they’re the same color!

My bar stash is becoming a little less frightful.  I think I’ve transferred that to my nut butter collection!  But I do still have some random bars that I need to finish before they “expire,” so this was up today:

I’ve had this once before, a long time ago.  I don’t even remember it.  But considering my “iffy” history with Organic Food Bar (another story for another day), this was quite good.  A little too sweet and greasy for me, but I didn’t hate it.

This is the “ugly” salad photo.

…And here is the “less ugly” one!

Romaine, roasted rutabaga (oh, how I love you), seitan, sugar snap peas, carrots, mushrooms, and onions.  And, obviously, honey dijon vinaigrette.  Which I hadn’t mixed in very well at that point.  I wonder what I need to do to get my seitan to achieve this texture…

I wanted this Lightlife Original burger to have a kind of “lattice” pattern on it, but, well, it kind of got stuck in my Foreman and I couldn’t be bothered to pry it free twice.  There is something odd about these burgers… I just can’t quite place it.  They remind me of something, but I can’t remember what, and it’s driving me crazy.

Either because I didn’t get enough sleep, or because I just had a case of the Mondays, today was one of those days when everything was driving me crazy.  I have a co-worker (whom I’ve mentioned before, I’m sure) who doesn’t really speak English.  That’s irritating enough… but when she tells me something, and I get it, she never gets that I get it, and she just keeps going, and it makes me want to pull out my teeth.

And as an extra little reward, I took three and a half trains home today.  I generally take two.  Three, if I decide to switch from an express to a local, but that’s different.  It’s not like three and a half; the half is because I spent ten minutes standing on a train that went nowhere before deciding I’d rather take a hike to get to another line.  Whee!

I’ve whined about my wrist quite a bit, I know… it’s just incredibly frustrating because it’s rather debilitating, given my job!  (Well, hello, that’s how it got injured in the first place.  That, and because I’m a moron, but let’s not go there.)  I can’t accept that I am going to have to put up with this for the rest of my life.  I won’t.  I finally got an appointment at the acupuncture clinic for tomorrow; someone who works for the same institution I do swears that acupuncture cured her carpal tunnel, so I guess it can’t hurt to try.  I mean, it hurts anyway!

Oh, yeah, this is totally random, but I think it’s kind of obvious that I wouldn’t “do” Valentine’s Day.  Still, the friend whom I always meet for lunch and I are each other’s “valentines.”  What started as a joke a few years ago apparently turned into a yearly thing… which basically just consists of exchanging cards.  (None will ever top the “screwdriver” card…)  I asked her if she wanted to “do” Valentine’s Day this week or next week, and she apparently wants to do “a proper dinner”!  Uh, what?  No.  That will not work.  Primarily because she’s the type who realizes, when 11.00 PM rolls around, Hey, maybe I ought to think about dinner now.  Hmmm.

I saw my nutritionist tonight, and I’m not even saying anything about that because I don’t want to get myself started; I want to go to sleep!  But I did want to boast a bit, because I’m oh-so-proud of the self-control I exhibited afterward in the supermarket: PB&Co. was on sale for $2.99.  That is practically unheard-of!  (Well, except for in this supermarket, where I have seen that before!)  My White Chocolate Wonderful and Dark Chocolate Dreams are almost finished, so I was going to buy more.  I even put them on the conveyor belt at the checkout line… and then I took them off.  Because I have enough peanut butter!!  I can wait until the next time they’re on sale.

I did, however, buy this!  I don’t know why I’m so “excited” about it, but whatever.

Review to come!

And now I must go in search of this elusive thing called “sleep” … because I pity the people around me if I don’t get some of it.  I’m not the most patient person in the best of circumstances; it’s very hard to rein that in when I’m so tired!!

Have a happy Tuesday.

Do not quarrel with anyone without cause, if he did you no harm.
~Proverbs 3:30

10 responses to “A Case of the Mondays

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    i see the matchiness! sorry to hear about your wrist, blah!

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    pb&co on sale?! you lucky girl!! and im glad to hear that my blog doesn’t upset you :) and i know what you mean about the posey pictures!! hope your wrist feels better
    i like that cinnamon raisin bar a lot! and all hte other eats look good too :)
    i think valentines day with a friend sounds fun!!

    xxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  3. love love the earrrings. and sorry about the mondays. i had a bad monday today too. NEVER TRIED THAT NATURE VALLEY BAR! i like the green honey oats ones!

    AND LOOK I HAD SALAD TOO!

  4. Uh, if that had been me I would have cleared the shelves of PB&Co. Good job that it wasn’t, really :P

    Sorry about your wrist – it really does sound like a chronic injury and I really hope that some accupuncture can help you. And I very much doubt that you being a ‘moron’ as you keep referring to yourself (totally erroneously) has anything to do with it.

    I know what you mean about the ‘posed’ photos and they are irritating, but mostly because few people are brave enough to stand up and point out that there’s something wrong with them. I think you highlighted a very important issue in your last post and more of us need to have the courage to say something controversial or polemical when problems like this arise.

    Neither one of your salads looks ‘ugly’ to me!

    I loved that Organic Food Bar…then again, sweet, greasy things are unfortunately a favourite of mine, especially when the grease comes from cashew nuts or nut butters ;)

    Hope Tuesday is an improvement on Monday.
    <3

    ~Jess~

  5. Ack Mondays are a pain in the butt. I don’t even have a job or go to school and I still feel like Mondays are a let down :P ooh, the nature valley bars look good – you can get there over here too, I like the apple ones best (when I’m eating oats, that is! Gah, even I can’t keep up with what my digestive system approves of this week). Hehe that’s cute that you do valentines cards with your friend :) I’m staying with one of my friends this weekend just by chance, so maybe I’ll have to get her a card! Hopefully she won’t be freaked out and think I’m coming onto her…

  6. mondays are surprisingly great lately! i dk why! maybe because theres a full week ahead of me, full of the unknown and full of blessings!
    i loved that bar-but it messed my stomach UP!

  7. I understand what your getting at with the blog pictures, I hardly ever get annoyed at any of the pics/writings I read but I do notice that sometimes the pictures are obviously someone showing off their disorder whether they really mean to or not. In a way its just a pity for them because they are still living in the clutches of their disorder.

    I really hope you get your wrist sorted out, a lady at my work has a really bad shoulder and neck and found that accupuncture is the only thing that helps it, so I hope it works for you to :-)
    xox
    Laura

  8. Pingback: Unexpected Day Off « Blue Eyed Heart

  9. Pingback: Close Call « Blue Eyed Heart

  10. Pingback: Thank You « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

