Serial Cerealizer

Yes, I am aware that the play on cereal / serial is one of the oldest out there, and incredibly corny to boot.  Apologies.  I just couldn’t resist it.  :p

Anyway, if you’re a regular reader of my blog, you know by now that I am a cereal freak.  I love it.  I always have loved it.  When I got home from school in Israel, the very first thing I did was sit down and have a bowl of each type of cereal we had in the cabinet at the time… I think it was four boxes.  Doing that now would mean about a dozen bowls — and that’s underestimating.

In my years of cereal obsession, I’ve tried many different varieties.  These are the ones that merit particular mention because of how long they lived in rotation!

  • Golden Crisp – I don’t remember whether I actually liked this cereal; I just know that when I was a kid, we had it in my house, so I ate it.  As I recall, they were basically puffed wheat kernels coated in honey / sugar… I gag at the thought.
  • Honey-Comb – ditto the above; it was around, so I ate it.  I remember my brother once trying to convince me to carry it from the backyard to the house, because it’s in a yellow box, and he’s allergic to bee stings.  He claimed that the yellow of the box would attract the bees.  (What bees?!)  If you ask me, he just didn’t want to take it back into the house.
  • Trix – I loved this cereal when I was in high school; particularly the little watermelon pieces.  I used to bite out the red before eating the “rind.”  I go into a sugar coma just at the thought of this cereal now… because silly rabbit, Trix are for kids!
  • Berry Berry Kix – this followed immediately on the heels of the Trix, because it wasn’t as sickly sweet.  I eventually tired of it, though I don’t remember why!  Plain old Kix are still on my “to try” list, which is way too long for me to control.
  • Shredded Wheat – remarkably short-lived.  I only remember it because the same summer that I had my Berry Berry Kix phase, I had a box of Shredded Wheat right beside it on the bunk over mine in camp.  I can’t understand how I even ate it, because it is absolutely tasteless.
  • Cocoa Pebbles – this one lasted a really, really long time.  It’s just as well that I got over it, since I can’t have Post cereals anymore!
  • Fruity Pebbles – actually, I never liked this one.  My brother did.  But it was always in the house, so I put it on here anyway.
  • MultiGrain Cheerios – it’s still around in the house, and everyone else eats it, but I just don’t.  I don’t know why, except that maybe there are so many more exciting cereals around!
  • Fiber One – at this point, I am more likely to grind this up and use it in cottage cheese pancakes.  But whatever the use, it’s been around on my shelves for a long time.  It’s especially good with frozen blueberries and some sort of milk.
  • Kashi GoLean – my infatuation with this cereal was primarily fueled by my eating disorder, which is why I stay away from it now.  I don’t think I ever really liked the taste of it — or lack thereof!  I always had to pour a bunch of Splenda over it.  Of course, this was in the days before I did more novel things with cereal than just eat it with milk.
  • Toasted Rice Flakes – I suppose I should have written “Special K” here, but I can’t actually have Special K.  I only know that I like it because I had it when I was IP.  After that, I found that Stop & Shop’s generic brand Special K tasted remarkably similar to the original… so, of course, they stopped making it.  I tried Pathmark’s generic brand, but it just tasted like corn flakes.  Shoprite’s are pretty close to the original!  (Can I just say how hysterical I think it is that of all things to fall in love with while IP, it was Special K?!)
  • Strawberry Fields – my current favorite.  I have a lot of boxes of cereal, and while I like a lot of them, I don’t buy them on a regular basis.  This one is an exception; I always have a backup box because if I run out and don’t have another one, bad things will happen.  :p

This post was inspired by the fact that I tried a new cereal this morning…

True story: the summer before last, I went to Washington, D.C. with a friend. While we were there, she bought this cereal. I wanted to try it, but since neurotic me didn’t have measuring utensils of any sort, I was too scared to do it. Ever since then, I’ve been meaning to try it… and I finally did.

You know how sometimes things live up to the hype created by a long wait? Yeah, this wasn’t one of those things. That little oat cluster you see was one of about three in the entire bowl. Boo.  Not a fan.  Where are the oat clusters?!  Where is the crunch?!

I just wanted to clarify this: sleeping in because you want to do it = good. Unintentionally oversleeping = not good! After waking up half a dozen times in the middle of the night, I finally gave up on sleep a little before 5.00. Which, I suppose, is better than the alternative.

This is one of the pairs of earrings I bought on my rain-soaked walk.  It occurs to me now that this is a particularly bad picture, but I’m not about to go take another one, and I’m sure you’re all shedding crocodile tears over that.  :p


A good title for this post (had the cereal not stolen the show) would have been “Second Chances.” Remember how I freaked out on Monday because of what happened with my nutritionist’s appointment? I was tentatively slated to see her tonight instead, but I wasn’t really feeling it… I called her and asked, “You don’t really want to see me tonight, do you?!” Nope. So I found myself in the same position I was in on Monday! I automatically heard the same inner monologue from then… not fun.

What happened afterwards is that I internally kicked and screamed and bullied myself into eating this Larabar — a new flavor to me! Good, but a little too greasy for my liking.

I also never noticed this before, because I don’t usually unwrap the entire bar at once, but they really are getting smaller!

After that, I told myself to quit obsessing, because I was going to do what I had planned to do whether I saw my nutritionist or not.  And for the most part, I did.  It involved this:

Quinoa, steamed broccoli and cauliflower.  Obviously in vast quantities, because this is me we’re talking about; and obviously with copious amounts of garlic salt.  I actually may have been a bit overzealous there!

Random tidbit: my brother ate my tofu again.  And in other news, pigs were spotted flying in Denmark.  (Don’t ask me why I chose Denmark, it’s just the first thing that popped into my head.)

These were on a sale at a supermarket near my house, and my mom was going shopping today, so I asked her to kindly pick them up for me:

I have this sneaking suspicion that the veggie chips and the veggie straws are actually the exact same thing in different shapes.  :p  I tried the straws first.  Just because they look more interesting!

I liked them — I mean, what’s not to like?  Crunch, salt, we’re good to go.  They weren’t overly greasy either, like these things can be sometimes.

Random outtakes from my crazy office: my co-worker somehow managed to get a virus on her computer.  Then she decided to “borrow” mine, because we’re the only people who have the program she needs.  Which left me with nothing to do, because now I’m out a computer.  So I just went home.  :p  And I hope she doesn’t provide me with a computer virus, too.  That would be most unwelcome.


So, I have somewhat of an ethical question. Yesterday I mentioned the lazy professor… basically, his lecture style consists of printing out a lecture from an instructional website, reading the pages to us, and then handing us a quiz on said pages. The quiz questions come from the website too. Hence, the URL of the website was on the bottom of the page, because he was either too stupid or too lazy to remove it. Now I have access to the quizzes that I know we’re going to be having. My question is this: would you consider it “cheating” to go over those questions beforehand? I don’t think it is… I mean, it’s not like I’m printing out the answers and taking them to class with me, right?  And he was very open about his sources, too, so isn’t it kind of like he expects us to be able to access this stuff??

On the topic of school — I really need to finish reading some more incomprehensible articles and then post my thoughts… quite frankly, at the moment, the thought of doing that exhausts me.  It’s becoming a proven fact with me that the older I get, the dumber I get!  I don’t know how I am going to manage to do this…

At least I have my new fuzzy socks to keep my toes warm.

I have a pair of red socks with Tweety on them and heart-shaped “anti-skid” thingies on the soles, but they’ve been so well-loved (thanks to my very cold room) that they’re becoming sort of pointless.  I finally found these — who would have guessed that such socks were so hard to track down?!  Non-frozen toes are always a good thing.

In the TMI category, my stomach has been frustrating / paining / annoying me all day.  At least, I think that’s what it is… it just doesn’t feel quite right.  Or pleasant.  (Gosh, I make the worst medical patient, don’t I?!)

Have a great weekend!

18 responses to “Serial Cerealizer

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    your brother ate your tofu? blood would be shed if anyone ate mine, lol. i was like that about cereal after school too, amazing how much sugar i used to consume yet i didn’t end up climbing the walls. i generally stay away from go lean crunch for the same reason, it was a big player in the early days of my ED. as a kid i loved honey comb, cocoa puffs, basically anything!

  2. SORRY about your tummy. i had some heartburn issues this morning. NOT MUSTARD RELATED, OF COURSE.
    anyhoo- i feel u on the shredded wheat. totally in my ED days. multigrain cheerios. SO NOT worth spending money on. WHAT ABOUT POPS?! and APPLE JACKS?! and QUAKER OAT MEAL SQUARES!?

    =D

    cereal lovers UNITE!

  3. Hope you feel better~

    I loved this post devoted to cereal. I am a cereal fiend. Nice to know someone else shares my passion :)

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i dont know if it is cheating- i mean, he is lazy and i think you are just taking advantage of your resources, personally :) hahha but idk!! and LOVE cereal omgg… what a great little cereal story haha.. go lean was an eating disorder cereal for me too but i like it in yogurt messes? idk. i want to try the kashi strawberry fields!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. I was SO disappointed in Trix a couple of years ago when they stopped making their cereal in the little fruit-shaped pieces and made them just puffs, same size/shape as Cocoa Puffs. Now the surface to volume ratio is all wrong and they are too much air and not enough artificially colored sugar for my liking. :(

    I am a huge cereal fiend too, I like to mix different types in one bowl. Have you ever seen one of those Cereality cafes?

  6. I do not think that is cheating. It is not like you had to have some ultra secret log-in to see them. And, that is similar to what one of my professors do and my feeling is that if he doesn’t bother to make changes, I might as well use my resources! Like Cliff Notes for graduate school :)

    I also have stayed away from the Kashi GoLean line…too “diet” for me…do love the strawberry fields one! Amazing! And, honey nut Chex :)

  7. Aaah cereal. I’d live in that grocery store aisle if I could. ;)
    As for the ethical issue with the notes. Maybe you could consider this: You could bring the mistake (?) to your professor’s attention and see what his opinion and/or response is. If upon reading that you think you wouldn’t want to tell him because he’d probably take the quizzes down or change them, then you sort of know that it may not be the right thing to do. … Does that make ANY sense whatsoever? haha
    Those earrings are beautiful, such a pretty shade of blue!

    Rachael*

  8. I’ve got the same socks in pink;) Comfy!

    And I love cereals, all bran with fruits and raisins is my favorite at the moment!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  9. I am becoming well acquainted with incomprehensible academia as well :P I wish I could just download textbooks into my brain, it’d be a lot easier. I don’t know what to advise you on the ethical question! There probably isn’t a purely right answer. Is there anyone in your class you could conspire with? I would probably see what everyone else is doing before I decided.
    I hope you get some proper sleep tonight! Bodies are annoying sometimes <3

  10. I used to be obsessed with cereals too…although as I am from the UK the only one on there I recognize is Shredded Wheat, aka. sawdust :P Those Cheerios certainly do look pretty measly in terms of the oat clusters. They must be more expensive to produce than the Os…

    Congrats for having the Larabar ~ I agree that that flavour is quite greasy and rich but it’s still my second favourite after Choc. Coconut Chew :)

    I wouldn’t consider it cheating with regard to the tests but the fact that you’re asking for advice indicates that you have some moral qualms about it deep down, and I don’t think you’d feel right or comfortable in yourself if you did look at the quizzes beforehand. IMO, you’re bright enough that you don’t need to do that anyway. I agree with what has already been said in that perhaps you could mention it to the professor if he’s not too inapproachable? That way would be the most honest and probably best for everyone maybe?

    I am sorry if my last post was upsetting – I certainly didn’t mean it to be! Huge apologies if it was insensitive and/or triggering. The last thing I would want is to cause you any additional stress or pain and if there’s anything at all I could do to make it up to you…well, I’d do it in a snap.
    <3

    ~Jess~

  11. Hm, is he European? That’s how they all do it in France… they print out about 20 pages of notes and read them for hours. So boring!

  12. Ohhhh girl I’m a complete fiend for cereal; have been all my life. Of course, back in the day it was all about the Lucky Charms and the Fruit Loops. Now it’s about the Kashi and the granola, but the principle is the same, right?

    About the quiz… it kind of does seem like cheating in a way. If you’re not feeling 100% sure that it’s not cheating, then it probably is to a certain degree. I don’t know how high cheating ranks up there on the ethical scale, but it’s probably best not to get into bad habits.

    Love your earrings :)

  13. I love those veggies straws! Although, if I eat too many, my mouth feels sore and cut up inside! Probably because I am a bad chewer. I plan to write a post on that soon.

    I love your cereal history! Some of my childhood faves were definitely on the list!

  14. I’ve been eating a lot of good old fashioned plain Cheerios lately. :) And I’d still be a Lucky Charms fan if it weren’t for the fact that gelatin is in them! yuck

  15. Pingback: Seeing Stars « Blue Eyed Heart

  16. Pingback: So Much To Do, So Little Time!!!! « Blue Eyed Heart

  17. Pingback: Bit Better « Blue Eyed Heart

  18. Pingback: Felled By Citrus |

Leave a Reply

