Lazylazy

Someone is feeling extraordinarily lazy right now.  Not naming any names, or anything…

Actually, I have a random question.  Do you think it’s better to force yourself to get out and do things when you just want to crawl into bed??  I guess that’s not really a fair question, since it would probably depend on why you want to crawl into bed!  Let me put it this way: I went to bed pretty early yesterday, and I only woke up twice during the night, so I should not realistically be “tired.”  And the outing in question was to the pool.  I like to swim.  It’s just the initial steps I need to take to start moving to get there that are so difficult.  I’m not sure whether I ought to attribute that to depression or the fact that I’m generally a lazy individual, but it is getting kind of frustrating to always have to be pushing myself to just do something.


My alarm rang at 5.10 this morning.  There was a faint blaring sound coming from somewhere in the house at the same time… naturally, I had to figure out what it was!  It turned out to be the alarm from the radio downstairs in the kitchen.  My dad apparently pressed something, but didn’t know what it was; evidently, he set the alarm.  (Let me just say that I find this radio to be extremely annoying: I never, ever use it, but for some reason I’m the only one in this house who can manage to work it beyond turning it on / off!)

Yesterday, I wanted to get some things in Whole Foods, but the weather deterred me; I hate carrying paper bags in the rain.  Actually, I hate carrying any bags in the rain, since I usually bring my own bag anyway… I’m all for being green and everything, but I really don’t like those paper bags.  Anyway.  I bought Lightlife steak strips, kamut flakes, Peanut Butter Pows, and Truvia. But what I really wanted was Almond Dream… and of course, they didn’t have the unsweetened variety.  Oh, well.  (You notice the excessive cereal-buying… I am working on my “Ode to Cereal” post, but you can understand why it’s taking a while!  ;))

I would have gone to another Whole Foods during my lunch break, but it was meet-the-friend day!  You know how some people feel like they need to have interesting / pretty eats to post on their blog?  Well, I think I’m feeling that kind of “pressure” from my friend now, because she thinks I always have such fabulous lunches!  Hmm.

For today’s “interesting lunch,” I used Taylor’s curry recipe as a basis to make this:

I have said this over and over again, but I hate coconut.  Still, when I found a can of coconut milk with a kosher symbol, I pounced on it, because I had never seen that before!  This seemed like as good a thing to do with it as any… I changed some of the measurements, and I added some cubed tofu.  It looks really pretty, if I do say so myself.  :p  And without the liquid, it doesn’t even taste very much like coconut.  In fact, I really liked it!  I froze the other half of the can (note to self: shake the can before opening it!), so I can repeat this recipe… and eat it hot, the way it probably should be eaten.  Accompanied by naan?  😉

Mr. J, in case it is not obvious by now, makes life far more complex than it needs to be.  For various reasons which I will not mention here, I ended up having to leave the office early today (no complaints!) to go on an “errand.”  This was especially welcome because the stupid air vent is open again, which means I’m freezing my butt off all day.  The aforementioned errand didn’t take as long as expected, so I was able to go to that other Whole Foods and buy my almond milk.  Yay!

Speaking of Whole Foods… I like heat / spice, but this salsa just kills me.  I wanted to get a more “interesting” variety, but Whole Foods’ selection is so huge that I cannot possibly choose just one type!  I was leaning towards the raspberry chipotle, but I think that’s just because I like the name.  Any salsa suggestions?!

Let’s pretend for a moment that it’s summer again.

Almond milk blended with frozen strawberries and raspberries… I really, really, really need a new blender.  Gah.

Someone at the pool asked me if I just went to Florida.  I think my two-toned legs had something to do with that.  How embarrassing.

This post is sadly devoid of visual stimulation.  Apologies… it matches my current brain activity.  I don’t know why I am so tired!!  I am afraid this might justify another call to my endocrinologist, and I really, really don’t want to increase my dosage… I may as well just pop OTC diet pills, it apparently does the same thing!  Ugh.

Anyway, “Art Therapy Archives.”

I have no idea what this is supposed to be, actually.  I don’t think I ever knew.  I don’t remember the name, but I do recall that it mentioned tentacles and bubbles.  Psychoanalyze that.

Class tomorrow… ahhhhhh!!  (To clarify, that was absolutely not a sigh of relief.)

Have a happy Hump Day!

8 responses to “Lazylazy

  1. curry twins! i HAD CURRY TODAY TOO! no coconut milk coz i hate that in curry.

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    cool art! kinda funny that we get “peer pressure” over the creativity/looks of our eats sometimes. i hate carrying paper bags in the rain too! they are rip-prone enough, add water to the mix and you’re doomed! i’m sad for you, no coconut lovin! but that curry sounds delicious

  3. I think when feeling depressed, it’s better to force yourself out, even just for a trip to the library or park or something. But when you’re really tired, I think it is ok to crawl into bed for a little nap. It’s one of those cues our body gives us when it needs just a little rest.

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  4. I know the feeling of constantly feeling the need to force yourself to do something ~ it’s exactly the same with me and some runs. I know I love it once I’m out there but being simultaneously hyper and exhausted makes it so hard to take the initial steps to get going. It doesn’t mean that you’re lazy though! You honestly do not come across as being indolent or slothful in any respect. If anything you’re the opposite: you work too darn hard most of the time! You’re battling with depression, thyroid issues and you’re still underweight – of course your body’s feeling tired.

    That curry looks so good ~ I wish I had a tummy that could handle all those veggies and spice 😦 Can you view Taylor’s blog? I keep trying to read it but it comes up as password protected…

    Yay for getting hold of your almond milk!

    In terms of my polenta, I’ll warn you in advance that it’s probably an acquired taste. However, if you want to give it a go I just measure out a serving (which is supposed to be 40g but obviously I eat more than that :P) and add 5-6 times the amount of liquid in ml to the amount of polenta, depending on how thick you want it (so for 40g polenta it would be 200-250ml rice milk or water if you prefer). Then I add the two in a pan and cook as you would stovetop oats, adding any sweet spices/ savoury seasoning before heating. You need to whisk it quite a lot to make sure that it thickens evenly. I presume you’ve got fine cornmeal, which is the one I have? The coarser grain one is really pretty horrible…I had to throw a packet of that variety out before I discovered fine polenta.

    Happy hump day 😉

    ~Jess~
    xxoxox

  5. i’m like that too, i really have to push myself to motivate me for things that i like doing. i’ve noticed it’s much worse in winter, so maybe some seasonal affective disorder stuff is to blame. i wouldn’t worry about lazing in bed now and again, though. just make sure it doesn’t stop you allll the time!

    your curry looks good! glad you experimented with the coconut milk. i still can’t decide whether or not i like it.

  6. I’m with Jess on this one – you’ve got a lot going on, you’re allowed to be tired. Probably a good idea to check with your endocrinologist though, since low thyroid is associated with depression as well as tiredness and you REALLY don’t need any more hassle on that front. Your lunch looks really pretty! I’ve never used coconut milk, I am going to have to find some to play with 🙂

  7. I am always pushing myself to do something, and don’t let myself relax. I am trying to work on that! I want to stay in bed MORE. 😉

  8. Pingback: Allergies |

Leave a Reply

