Snow Snow Snow…

Like my artsy-fartsy picture?  ;)  (Seriously … I cannot wait until I finish graduate school so that I will have the time / money to take a photography course!!)

Winter hasn’t actually even begun yet, though you wouldn’t know it.  I’m not quite sure how much snow we got here… I’m guessing it was at least a foot.  But as neither snow nor rain nor sleet will keep this crazy individual from the gym, I bundled up and headed out.  I was going to take a picture of that, but maneuvering my arms was too difficult!  Even though it was kind of nasty outside, I was a little excited because I would get to take pictures of the snow while it was still white.

Does walking through snow count as a workout?  I don’t know… what I do know is that the girl who was supposed to open the gym never showed up.  I don’t understand why she found it so impossible to show up for work — there were a dozen members waiting, and the class instructor was there… I left after half an hour, and I am glad that I did, because when I called the gym a couple of hours later just to satisfy my curiousity, there was no answer.  Nice.  Not.

I chose to wear wellies, figuring slightly cold feet were preferable to soaking wet feet.  That works fine, if you don’t step into a snowdrift that then sends a chunk of snow down your boot.  Thankfully, that didn’t happen until my final trek, when I was almost home.

There were so many treks because I bought a newspaper on my way home.  Having decided that walking through snow doesn’t count as a workout, I did a (very!!) brief video from exercisetv.tv, went to the supermarket for my mom … and then I went to separate the sections of the paper.  Obviously I was not pleased to find that the section with the crossword puzzle was missing.  So I suited up again and went back to the store where I had bought it, and they told me that they hadn’t received that section.  Me = not happy.  I returned it and went to find another one.  The first store I tried didn’t have it either, so I walked for five or ten minutes to get to the next store, which didn’t have that paper at all.  I finally found it at the fourth store… and I only went about nine blocks out of my way!

The real kicker is that as I started doing the puzzle, I thought, This seems really familiar.  Then my mom, who was reading the main section of the paper, told me that “due to a production error,” last week’s puzzle had printed… and this week’s puzzle was on page 51 in the main section.  Meaning I would have had the puzzle even if I hadn’t gone on that long trek.

On the topic of treks… the gym I go to on Sundays is about an hour’s walk from where I live.  I prefer to walk there, since I hate in-gym cardio; this way I can just do my strength training at the gym and leave.  But I have a sneaking suspicion that it isn’t entirely “normal” to do this even when there is a foot of snow on the ground…

However, these helped keep my legs warm:

Hello, 1980s!  :p  I wanted black, but of course there were none.  This was especially welcome due to the fact that my pants are actually boys’ thermals… for some reason, it is impossibly difficult to find womens’ thermal pants that aren’t pink or white!  But because they’re boys’, they’re too short, and there’s a gap between where the pants end and my socks begin.  Problem solved.  ;)

And for all that…

All done!  :D

Jessica shared some recipes with me after I asked for ideas re: what to do with chestnuts… I had a few left, and so I used her recipe for chestnut sofrito and made a few changes to come up with this:

It was wonderful — and it smelled great, too.  I love it when the whole house is filled with a delicious smell, and cinnamon definitely qualifies.  ;)

In other exciting news, I gave myself (and then my mom) a manicure, and my toes are freezing because I don’t have the sense to put on socks.  And I’m really, really, really, really, really, really, really sad that the weekend is over.  Should be lots of black ice tomorrow, too — that should be fun.  On the plus side, though, I don’t have to go to class!!  I’m still not used to having so much time to do… well, I don’t know.  I’m having some difficulty with the concept of not having something like the end of the semester as a goal!  I certainly don’t miss the stress, though.

As an aside, how freaky is this??  Is it just me, or are there a greater number of young celebrities dying these days?!

Have a happy Monday!

13 responses to “Snow Snow Snow…

  1. so cute you and your momma did manicures!! :) so much SNOW! there is no snow here!

  2. You could get enough of a workout just walking in this snow, no gym needed! ;) What part of NYC are you in btw?

  3. see. we are totally crossword crazies. i would walk all over town/cal the newspaper if i didnt get my damn crossword. STILL WORKING ON MINE.
    I KNOW IT”S SOOO STRANGE about that/dying!

    walking in the snow- sounds like fun!

  4. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    Jeez that crossword gave you quite a hassle! I love crosswords, i just bought a HUGE NYT “Supersized BOok of Sunday Crosswords” by Will Shortz…it’ll take me years to get through it! Walking in the snow DEFINITELY counts as a workout. Gorgeous pics, you don’t need photography classes! And bummer about the PB2, i can understand what you mean about it being sedimenty :). I guess i didn’t expect it to be anything close to the real deal so i was pleasantly surprised. maybe it’s an acquired taste?

  5. I know that running or walking in the sand (that’s my equivalent of snow lol) is considered more difficult that doing so on ordinary hard surfaces. Maybe it’s the same with snow? You could always just tell yourself that!
    I heard about Brittany Murphy today as well. So incredibly sad. Am I the only one who immediately thought eating disorder upon learning the circumstances of her death?
    Agh I can so relate to the blessing/curse of free time! I guess it could be filled with crossword puzzles… ;)

    Rachael*

  6. I am pretty sure that you can count walking in the snow as exercise, especially if it was for a whole hour!

    I cannot believe the girl never showed up to open the gym. That would have ruined my day! I am happy it didn’t upset you much.

  7. Hey. The socks are cute. Your photography skills are beautifully. Truthfully I am not sure how people photo things so beautifully.
    As for walking…I hope it is a workout. In my “former” life I was a highly fit and competitive and accomplished athlete. Health has lead me to a 2 year and counting way-lay of zero exercise – except an occasional short slow walk. Be thankful for all you can do. Have a nice first day of winter.

  8. laurasworthlesswords

    Lol thats quite funny about your crossword, at least you got a walk about from it. I love it when you finish crosswords such a nice satisfying feeling.

    I was really shocked to hear about Brittany Murphy, so sad, she was so young.

    I love your socks to, very cool :-)

  9. I am so happy that you liked the sofrito :) I’m always anxious when I suggest recipes because I have very strange tastes and most people don’t understand my palate at all. Your modified version looks a lot prettier than mine!

    I could have strangled that girl on your behalf! It’s pathetic that she can’t be bothered to turn up for a job she’s PAID to do when others with only their fitness as an incentive can make it there. Just can’t get the staff nowadays.

    That’s quite the saga with your crossword puzzle. I’m utterly useless at them so I admire your ability to complete them so consistently.

    Please be careful walking around in the snow/black ice! I’m sure you are anyway but I keep slip sliding around and it’s so easy to fall over.

    Your socks=utter toe-warming brilliance.

    I also love that photo ~ I think you’re a natural and would do very well if you did decide to take a photography course.
    <3

    xoxo

  10. Exercise TV is great. Especially during these types of snow storms. Much easier to workout at home rather then trek outside. I love doing Incredible Abs in my living room. http://www.exercisetv.tv/workout-videos/body-sculpting/incredible-abs-2-2735

  11. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    that dish looks amazing!! and your snow pictures are beautiful :) walking in the snow is difficult!!

    xoxo
    shelley

  12. Pingback: RIP « Blue Eyed Heart

  13. Pingback: Unexpected Day Off « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

