Party On

This morning I slept in until 6.00, and then did a fifteen-minute yoga DVD in an attempt to somewhat assuage my guilt over not working out today. It was followed by (a very uninspired!) 25 minutes on the recumbent bike, which I did while catching up on some blogs.

English muffin with sugar-free raspberry preserves and apple butter spread

Last night, I suddenly realized that the endocrinologist was going to give me a physical. As in, he will weigh me. I did a fair bit of freaking out about that. All for naught, since apparently I have maintained my weight down to the pound since the last time I’ve seen him. I have mixed feelings about this; on one hand, I’m relieved that I haven’t blown up to epic proportions, no matter what I may think, and it also proves that the medication is working, because prior to my taking it, I would have gained like crazy on this amount of calories. On the other hand, I haven’t gained any weight. While I don’t think that I actually need to gain, it’s sort of an integral component of this whole “moving forward in life” thing, and I’m disgusted with myself that I haven’t even managed to do that.

I did, however, “pass” my physical. Whatever that means. I just think it’s kind of odd to tell me, “Good job!” for that, but okay… and I am also really going to need to get a new GP now. Back when I first wanted to find out why I was so tired all the time, I went to my doctor and he ordered a blood test… the results showed I had a slightly underactive thyroid, and he said that no doctor in his right mind would treat it. I told this to the endocrinologist, and he was very mad. He said that was rude and ignorant and arrogant and some other adjective I forget, and that he’d be talking with my doctor about this.

Oops.

Anyway, the lab in the hospital building doesn’t accept my insurance. Of course. So I trekked to a lab that does, where they drove me nuts that I couldn’t get my blood drawn because it called for fasting glucose… I did it anyway and left the doctor a message that I did. He called me back and said it’s fine, that’s not really what he was looking at, and if my blood glucose is insanely high, we’ll know why. So much for my being furious with myself for eating breakfast, huh?!

Work. Party.  I will spare you all the insane details that accompany each photo.  I will just say, re: the chocolate coins… epic fail on my part.  Oh, well.  I did pretty well on the surreptitious photography, though, if I do say so myself.  😉

romaine, steamed yellow squash, chopped microwaved All Whites (s&p), steamed sweet potato

For those of you who thought the stats on the blueberries were insane, check this out…

Okay, no HFCS… should be better then, right?  Wrong.

!!!!!!!!!!!  This will obviously need to be consumed in segments.  To be fair, the bag of cherries is an ounce larger than the bag of blueberries.  But still.

vegetarian schnitzel, quinoa, broccoli, carrots, sugar snap peas and water chestnuts

I saw my nutritionist tonight — oh, joy — and I am a bit… disgruntled.  I operate on the premise that a calorie is a calorie is a calorie is a calorie, no matter its source.  She claims that she does, too, except she doesn’t count calories from vegetables!  This bothers me because I obviously eat a lot of them, and if I have an insane meal plan piled on top of that, I’m going to feel compelled to cut them out since, after all, they “don’t count.”  That displeases me.  I also find it a little odd to have someone else telling me whether I’m doing well or not.  Shouldn’t I know that??

At least I can eat walnuts now (though all that means to me is apple pie Larabars… I hate walnuts), and soy.  I would have cried if the doctor said that I should be staying away from soy, because I don’t do too great with large dosages of beans / legumes.  My body clearly does not appreciate it, and I think that contributed to my feeling like crap for the past few days.

Happy Thursday!!

10 responses to “Party On

  1. findinghappinessandhealth

    i cant believe 6 am is sleeping in! i dont even remember the last time i woke up that earlyy. i’m glad your physical went ok, just remember, you don’t want this disease to control your life 🙂 you are soo much more than the disease. but i looove the chanukah decorations at the aprty!! adorablee.. i need some more chanukah in my lifee. haha
    love the menorah picture 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  2. Happy start to Chanukah!

    You are just crazy sleeping in until 6…… 🙂

  3. yay for sleeping in! hahaha. i have yet to sleep in til 6! =D
    love the party! haaha. surreptiously taking photos. i’ve done that. hilarious.
    yay for passing da physical! =D

    FIREEEEEEEEEE~~~~

  4. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    Girl– you make me wish i was Jewish, not sure why! Maybe i’m longing for latkes or something. Whoa, what a bold statement for your doc to make! I’m glad you passed your physical with the endocrinologist, but I understand your trepidation. I’ve missed reading your blog, glad I’m back and can catch up!

  5. 6:00am sleep in, what time do you normally get up at?

  6. Hi dear-
    Found your blog– just wanted to say I think you are admirable and are goingto have a happy, healthy and successful life one day (the one you DESERVE).

    Hang in there and keep fighting the good fight! Can’t wait for your next post
    Happy Channukah 🙂
    bec xo

  7. girl howd yesterday go with you being nervous and all? i totally know how that feels! LOL 6am sleeping in!! 10am is early for me!! but there was a day when i couldnt sleep past 6am either!

  8. Uh, I went to bed yesterday at 6:30 am. Hahaha!

  9. Pingback: Jackpot « Blue Eyed Heart

  10. 6:00 or 5:30 am is my sleep-in time too. I normally get up at 4:00 or 4:30!

    I actually don’t really count veggies either. Carrots? Broccoli? Cauliflower? Yeah, the have calories, but I eat them steamed or raw, so I figure if I eating more of them then processed stuff, I am okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

