Cookie-ish Monster

I think my school is trying to send me some sort of subliminal message. Remember the sign I photographed last week?  Well, here’s more of the same.

Yeesh, okay, we get the point!!  We’re not allowed to eat.  FINE.  (I just want to point out that there is no cafeteria / student lounge in the building.  So essentially, they are telling us that we’re not allowed to eat.  Even though everyone does it anyway.)

Something oh-so-exciting happened last night after I posted:

I finished the Sunday crossword! That happens sometimes, but it usually takes me a few days. I rarely finish it on Sunday. Sorry to “brag,” but I just had to share that, because I’m oh-so-proud of myself. 😉

Romaine, tofu, broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots. This was actually a really good combination. Pity I didn’t get to enjoy it because of all the people on my head. First, the locksmith; and the door is right next to my desk. Then Mr. J came along and just stood there staring for at least twenty or thirty seconds. (Heavens, man, didn’t your mother teach you that it’s rude to look in someone else’s plate?!) Finally, when it was obvious he had nothing to say to me, I just gave him a death glare, and he kind of waved his hand in surrender and said, “Enjoy your lunch.” Yeah. Sure.

This is how I feel about cookies. And yet, after I wrote that post, I did buy Nana’s Cookie Bars. Some of them didn’t really look like cookies, so I managed to eat them without too much trouble. The ones that did resemble cookies were put aside until … well, I don’t know. But they “expire” at the end of December.

I admit that it’s been quite a while since I’ve had cookies of any kind, but this didn’t really remind me of a cookie.  It had a strong cocoa flavor, not very sweet; and it was dry and crumbly in a melt-in-your-mouth kind of way, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it was not at all what I was expecting.  I appear to have lived to tell the tale, because I have three boxes of such cookie bars.  Mega sigh.

These earrings are heavy.  And I wore them for sixteen hours straight, which is about fifteen hours longer than I should have.  I’m not that fond of the “stretched lobe” look.  You understand.

This should be shocking to nobody at this point, but it’s another Invasion.  This time, it’s my cousin with his wife and their three kids.  They are coming to town for two weeks.  In two days.  He called yesterday to ask if they could stay here.  Which was annoying in itself, because he barely speaks English.  And it’s not like they just want a bed; they expect full room and board, plus entertainment!  I’m sorry, but this is just not okay with me.  (Not that anyone asked!)  And then right after that, three of my nephews are probably moving in for a week when my brother and sister-in-law go to a wedding out of state.  Seriously… what is this, a hotel?!  (That was directed toward the cousins, not the nephews.  I might not be thrilled about the latter, but it’s not as … nervy.)  It would really be very nice to have some privacy in my own house.  Mega mega sigh.  As it turns out, it will be mid-January before I’m in my house with just the people who actually live here… first the Cousin Invasion, followed immediately by the Nephew Tornado, and then I’m going on my vacation.  (YAY!)

But I have good news!  I just saved hundreds on my car insurance by switching to Geico!

Sorry.  I’m a total dork, but every time I hear the phrase, “I have good news,” the Geico line automatically follows in my head.

Anyway, as I was saying.  One presentation is done, which means I have two left this semester.  Unless some more crop up, which, the way this semester has gone, is not entirely impossible!!  And I got back my killer paper that I was so sure I had bombed… and I guess I didn’t.  He gave me an A/A-.  I have no idea what that even means, but I was expecting something more like a B-, so I should have been thrilled.  Cue annoying little voice in my head: What?!  Why is there a MINUS there?!  See, you’re so stupid that you couldn’t even manage a solid A.  Seriously?  SHUT UP.  And that’s about the only conversation with which I am going to dignify that.

So while I was supposed to be paying attention in a mind-numbingly boring class, I instead pondered my “About Me” page.  Evidently you guys have far more “imagination” than I do!  😉  A couple of people suggested a Q&A, but to be honest, I really don’t think I’m all that interesting of a person; and I probably “talk” way more than I should on my blog, so what’s left to ask??  But if for some odd reason, there is something particular you’d like to know, feel free to ask away, and I’ll end up with a Q&A sort of by default.  😉

Countdown is at forty-one days.  I can’t wait to get out of here!  Have a wonderful Tuesday.

P.S. Don’t forget to enter my giveaway… I’ll be choosing the winner tomorrow night!

18 responses to “Cookie-ish Monster

  1. PROPS FOR FINISHING THE CROSSWORD! i’m still stuck on 2 clues for mine. EPIC FAIL!

    earrings are gorgeous. i like amythyst purple color. too bad i have no pierced ears. =D

    omg. we need to stage an intervention on those mooching family members. uhh your house is being fumigated. end of story. go to a motel six. the light is still on

  2. #1: STOP bringing yourself down!!! You ARE interesting, so don’t ever say you’re not!

    #2: Boy oh boy. A couple more hours of wearing those earrings, and you might have Buddha earlobes! 😉

    #3: Question= What was you dream job as a child?

  3. I don’t know if anyone has suggested it, but you could include in the “about me” the meaning (if there is any) behind your blog name.. I’ve always been curious;)

  4. i LOVE reading your blog!! you are so interesting!!
    i LOVE those earrings..and your beautiful curly hair! im jelous! ive always wanted curly hair!
    sorry about the invasion..so frustrating!

  5. cuute earrings… & cheer up! you are so worth everything & happiness 🙂
    loove tofu & broccoli.. yummm

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. I’m not a big fan of Nana’s cookies either, cocoa sweetened with apple juice just doesn’t do it for me! Go you for finishing the crossword 😉 I always get bored and give up with big ones like that. Congrats on the mark on your paper too, I’m glad you did so much better than you thought!

  7. Ahhh the invasion of family! You want to hate them but you can’t. Enjoy your Tuesday and keep rocking the jewelry. You should open up your own boutique.

  8. you can’t eat at school?!? what? that seems so strange. is it like, a lab building or something?

    WOOHOO on the crossword.

    Sorry about the total family deluge–I hope life at home doesn’t get too stressful!

  9. Congrats on finishing the crossword puzzle, that’s really exciting!

  10. Cookies are AWESOME! And I’m sure that with time, you will allow yourself to enjoy them more and more. 🙂

  11. I had no doubt at all that you’d get a great mark for that paper. It’s so annoying that once the initial relief has passed that irritating little negative voice has to squirm in and berate you for getting a minus…cut yourself some slack and realise that if you weren’t trying to hold down a job and overcome all of the other obstacles in your life then you would have undoubtedly got an A ~ you are trying to be Superwoman in a situation that would have anyone else crumbling under the pressure and struggling to turn in a paper at all, let alone achieving at the level you do.

    Bleh, I hate Nanas cookies. It’s unfortunate that you have so many of them! They always taste so artificial to me…like soggy cardboard in texture too. Not that I’ve eaten soggy cardboard.

    I rarely finish crosswords…I wish I had both your attention span and your intelligence.

    I would like to reinforce what others have already pointed out: you ARE interesting and I would read whatever you decided to post on your About Me page because you are an engaging and dynamic person, not only in what you write but in the way you write it. If you’re stuck you could always try one of those online surveys as a starting point, but I’d just let your unique voice shine through the same way you do in your posts.

    xoxox

  12. Pingback: I Hate Winter. « Blue Eyed Heart

  13. Pingback: Aftermath « Blue Eyed Heart

  14. Pingback: Flavor of the Month « Blue Eyed Heart

  15. Pingback: South Pole « Blue Eyed Heart

  16. Pingback: Out, Damn Spot! « Blue Eyed Heart

  17. Pingback: Escaping Winter « Blue Eyed Heart

  18. Pingback: Yet Another Insurance Rant! « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

