Post #200: Giveaway

A pink GloFish has now vanished, in addition to the yellow one.  This is truly bizarre.  I can’t figure out what’s happening to them… they’re just disappearing!  I knew we shouldn’t have gotten such small fish.  I’m sort of surprised that they lasted as long as they did.

It’s really, really sad that the long weekend is over.  Like, really sad.  And I truly do have a presentation tomorrow, for which, naturally, I am not prepared.  (Hello to the person who found my blog via searching for “presentation tomorrow and unprepared.”  I’m sorry I couldn’t help you out; I’m in the same boat!)  But I did learn a lesson of the day: a good hair day can make everything seem a little brighter.  Disobedient errant curl notwithstanding.

At this rate, I may actually finish all the hommus before the expiration dates!  It took me a week to get through this one, so I should be okay until mid-January.

I bought this a few weeks ago, and, whoops, it “expires” tomorrow.

Isn’t that cute?  It “breaks” in half when you open the wrapping and you end up with two bowls.  It comes in a hummus variety, too, not just salsa.

I was semi-tempted to shake a jar of colored sprinkles over this… I hate it when I’m faced with such a monochromatic plate!  It helps a bit if it tastes good, but still, I like to have some color.  In case you’re wondering, the yellow glob is sweet cream style corn, which was actually the first time I’d ever tried creamed corn at all.  The blob on the top right is brown rice, and the slab on the top left is a vegetarian chicken patty.  Brown / yellow … some color, please?!  Please?!?!

What’s a “milestone” post without a major Verbal Vomit?!  I guess that’s why I was lucky enough that a situation cropped up today which provided me with fodder for one.  To make a very long story semi-short, my mom was going to go to this supermarket and asked me if I wanted to go.  Two points:  One, I am a punctual person.  My mom is not.  So when she says she is going somewhere at X time, just tack on another half hour.  Two, I cannot stand driving with my mom.  She is forever stoppingstartingstoppingstarting and it makes me feel nauseated.  Not to mention that it takes forever to get anywhere that way.  On top of all that, I do still have this crazy illogical fear of eating late at night, so I hate it when I end up having to do that because I was busy being catapulted around in the car.

My mom came home twenty minutes after she had said she was going to leave.  She asked me if I wanted to go.  I said only if I could drive.  She said, “No, I am going to drive.”  So I said that I didn’t want to go, and she said, “What, are you punishing me?”  I said, “No, I just don’t want to go.”

The conversation should have ended here, and it would have, if my mom and I had a normal, civil relationship.  Apparently we don’t, because she insisted on knowing why I wanted to drive.  I thought it was rude to tell her that driving with her makes me sick to my stomach, so I just said that we’d get there faster that way.  Which is also true… as in, twenty minutes vs. forty.

This is where she completely blew up at me.  She began yelling and ranting and raving that the only reason I wanted to drive was because then we’d get home five minutes faster, and how on earth did I expect to ever get better if I wasn’t going to even try, and that she should call my therapist, or that actually, come to think of it, I should just stop going to my therapist since I’m wasting my money, and I belong in a hospital so that I can get my mind fixed.  (Right.  Because we all see how well that worked out.)

I know better than to argue with my mom … there is no reasoning with her.  So I just shut up until she eventually tired herself out and left, but the one thought running through my mind during her tirade was Give.  Me.  Something.  Sharp.  NOW!!  Laziness was a good thing here, because getting something sharp would have required me to stand up, and I just didn’t feel like it.  I called my sister and ranted at her instead.  Yay for “healthy coping mechanisms.”

That was, I believe, a sufficient spurt of verbal vomit for a milestone post.  I was thinking that to “honor the occasion”, it’s high time I re-did my “About Me” page… but I have no idea what I’m supposed to put there.  I’m notoriously bad at being self-descriptive.  So I’m going to take the easy way out and ask you all what I should do!

The giveaway:

Primal Strips: your choice of Thai Peanut, Texas BBQ, Hickory Smoked, Mesquite Lime, or Teriyaki.

NuGo Free in Dark Chocolate Crunch; NuGo Dark in Chocolate Chocolate Chip.

NuGo 10: your choice of Apple Cinnamon or Lemon.

…And, of course, since this is me, a pair of earrings must be involved somewhere.  Apple earrings, this time!  😉

I may or may not also toss in something more.  But I can’t tell you about that, because it wouldn’t be a surprise if I did.  :p

How to enter:

1. Leave a comment telling me what on earth I’m supposed to put in my “About Me” page.  Or not.

2. Link back and leave a comment letting me know you did that.

3. Okay, this isn’t a way to gain an entry, but I’m glad that I managed to overcome my stupidity and figure out how to use random.org, so I will not have to employ the extremely scientific method I used in my Post #100 giveaway.  I thought that deserved its own bullet on the list.  :p

I’ll be choosing the winner on Tuesday (12/01/09) at 10.00 PM EST.

… And now it’s off to start a new work week.  Sob.

Have a great Monday!

18 responses to “Post #200: Giveaway

  1. girl i am so sorry about that arguement with your mom!
    but that pretzel and hummus thing is SO adorable.
    umm you should totally put that YOURE AWESOME on your about me page!

  2. In your About Me section you could include some of your favorite things. Like entertainment wise and random things about your life. Unique things that have happened to you and or funny stories….

  3. I want to hear more about what makes you tick! I can’t imagine what it’s like overcoming an ED, I want to know how you got to the point of finding your health!

  4. sorry about your mom. just know that here in socal, another chick has to deal with that stupid momz too!

    on your about me page: times of how fast you finish
    sunday
    monday
    tuesday
    wed
    thur, frd, sat crosswords. and if you had help. so us crossword junkies can COMPETE>

    oh yeah, i need help with my about me. sparse. but it gets to the point. i.e. my job. my loves. my shit.

  5. i LOVE the chocolate nugos..& im so sorry about your mom, that isr eally hard and i hate fighting with mine.

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. fruitsveggieslife

    You should write about how great you are! And perhaps a list of your interests, your favorite things, and all that good stuff. 🙂

    Happy 200th! That’s a huge accomplishment!

  7. Congrats on the 200th post! You have the most honest voice out there in the blogworld. Keep it the same!

  8. Don’t enter me, I just wanted to say congrats for 200 posts 😀 and good luck with your presentation!

  9. Wow great giveaway, I love those ear rings. Maybe you could write a little background info about yourself and then maybe do a Q & A and we can all submit a question asking something about yourself. Or even your interest as I have done on my Interests page.

    CONGRATS on the 200th post.

  10. laurasworthlesswords

    Ohh sorry to hear about the argument with your mum, sometimes its easiest just to bite your tongue and say nothing.
    Congrats on your 200th post :-), Im not entering, I live to far away, I`m useless at describing myself so I struggled with that page to.
    In it Id stick a little about your past, your current position and then maybe just some fun facts about yourself, fav tv show, music, recipes etc?

  11. I am so sorry about the argument you had with your mom. I tend to get in serious arguments with her too so I can relate to what you are feeling. Such a nasty feeling to fight with a loved one!
    I congratulate you on dealing with your emotions in a healthy way! Hoorah! 😀

    Also, congratulations on your 200th post! That is huge! Perhaps you start off by talking about where you are from, give some background info about your ED, and what you want this blog to be based around, and then you could even do a Q&A? Find out what the people want to know!
    Also, a video about me post would be so fun! If you are willing to do that, you could talk about basically the same things I suggested and include fun facts. I like Laura’s idea about fav tv shows, music, and what not.
    Fun facts are… well, fun 🙂

    Take care, beautiful
    <3Karina

  12. i think your about me should include the most random things you can think of about yourself. such as: the most random injury youve sustained, the most hideous food combination youve created (and either enjoyed or not enjoyed).

    also, i wanna know more about your swimming if you wanna share. also, have you always lived in nyc? do you wanna stay in nyc?

    ps ive never tried primal strips, where can you get them? WFs? a local health foods store?

  13. congrats on 200 posts! I think you should include some of your favorite music on your about me!

  14. mom fights=the worst.

    i actually have many things that i am curious about you (i hope that doesn’t sound too creepy!)…
    i would like to know:
    more about your writing, outside the blogosphere of course
    how you got into diving (and fish/ your aquarium!)
    if you think you will always live in nyc
    where you get all your earrings 🙂

  15. ohmygosh…I cannot stand people who drive jerkily/stop and start!! Just thinking about it makes me angry!

    In your “about me” I’d like to hear more about the role of religion in your life- it seems pretty important to your family and I’d like to learn more about it. Also, what are you going to school for, what do you typically do at your job? Maybe you could just fill out some of those fun surveys- it’s a good way to procrastinate and then people would learn “fun facts” about you…

    The apple earrings are ADORABLE!!!!!

    Mary

  16. Pingback: Some Hump « Blue Eyed Heart

  17. Pingback: Escaping Winter « Blue Eyed Heart

  18. Pingback: Monday Not Funday + Giveaway |

Leave a Reply

