I feel prugly

You know that song from West Side Story… the one whose lyrics go, I feel pretty, / Oh, so pretty, / I feel pretty and witty and bright?  I don’t; I had to Google that, because in my head, it’s all mixed up.  Anyway, more appropriate lyrics at this moment would be I feel ugly, / Oh, so ugly, / I feel ugly and bland and dumb.  Or something to that effect.

To condense a whole lot of whining into one neat package, I didn’t wind up doing my presentation today, because my professor is apparently an idiot and screwed up the schedule.  I, however, am an idiot as well… we got our grades for the project proposal presentation (alliteration much?) we did last week, and we got a 9/10.  Which is admittedly not a bad grade, except that the point is all in my sections.  I’m past caring very much, speaking for myself; but it sucks for my group members, so now I’m going to have to re-do it.  Sigh.  Why do I have to be so stupid??  And I might be paranoid — I probably am paranoid — but I can’t help thinking that they’re talking about that fact behind my back.  Not to mention the fact that I don’t even want to think about getting back my grade for my paper in my other class, because I’m pretty sure it sucks.  In retrospect.

Moving on.

A Honeycrisp apple that is not the size of my head… you can bet I pounced on it!  The first bite of this was so incredibly juicy and sweet… the first bite of an apple is always the best, and every time I bite into one, I think of Beezus and Ramona.  Anyone ever read that? … I loved those books when I was a kid… I still do, actually!  What books did you love when you were younger?

Romaine, roasted acorn squash, roasted okra, and tofu.  Some observations: acorn squash is better without the skin, which I find upsetting because I hate to peel things, especially when they’re not smooth.  Also, the okra was in my freezer and I just had to finish it, but I don’t think I’ll be buying it again.  I have no objections to the taste, but, um, it’s got fuzz on it, which creeps me out.

I tried the last variety of the NuGo10 bar, which was the cranberry flavor… and I absolutely loved it. It has the perfect balance of tartness and sweetness, and the texture is soft and just slightly chewy.  I think this may even top my favorite Larabars!

Baby carrots, to help me finish up the tower of hommus!  I hate to crunch at work.  Even though it shouldn’t bother me at all, because everyone there is apparently hard of hearing.

…And now comes the verbal vomit!  After the class reinforcing, if not my stupidity, my technical retardation, I consumed not one, but two PBJ mini pitas.  And a kid’s cacao bar.  Yet for some inexplicably crazy reason, I somehow made the executive decision that I had not eaten enough calories today and opted to go out and buy soy crisps.  In particular, Glenny’s multigrain soy crisps, which I always used to be able to buy at Duane Reade. Apparently, now that they’ve got their own store brand of soy crisps, they no longer carry Glenny’s. So off I hiked to find them. And I never did… I was getting all aggravated and ready to forego it altogether, but instead I vastly overpaid for these

…and hated myself more with every bite.  Lucky, then, that I had to all but inhale the bag, since by the time I was finished making a whole federal case out of nothing, I was practically late for my next class.  Obviously, I’m not about to eat in class.  Let’s pretend I’m not insane, and blame it on this:

It was also raining — just the kind of drizzly damp mist that causes my hair to erupt into a halo of frizz.  And to prove that I do actually hear compliments when I get them, one of my classmates chose today of all days to ask me what gel I use, because she has “always loved [my] curls.”  Huh.  I guess you get what you pay for.

Speaking of which… since I’m such a multi-millionaire these days, and I apparently have a compulsive shopping problem, I bought earrings today.  A dozen pairs of earrings.  That would be because it was 12/$12… and even though they’re barely existent, I do have my limits, so I got a couple of pairs for my mom as well.  I probably would have been better off getting them for my sister, as she would have been more appreciative and not said something along the lines of, “Oh, so I am an excuse to meet a ‘quota’? … How little did you pay for them?”  Blah.  Blah.  Blah.

This is what a dozen pairs of earrings looks like.  I think I have a problem.  Do you think I have a problem?!  Why am I even asking?  I know I have a problem.

But about getting what you pay for?  Take a look.

😦

I don’t know how I didn’t notice that.  I checked all of them!!  Apparently not very well.  I think I’m just going to cut off the other three, so that they’ll look the same.  Grrr.

Having not slept well last night — to the tune of not drifting off until at least 1.00 AM, then waking up multiple times until finally giving in and getting up before 5.00 — I think bed is probably a brilliant idea at this point.  Especially after my commute home… I can’t decide which is worse, the frigid subway cars in the summer, or the stifling cars in the winter!!  I was thisclose to passing out… when I step out into a gust of cold air and breathe a sigh of relief, we know that something is wrong.  Maybe I’m naive, but is it really so difficult to regulate the temperature on the subway??

Okay.  I’ll shut up now.  Really.

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

11 responses to “I feel prugly

  1. You are not ugly, and you are certainly not an idiot.

    And you better believe I remember Beezus and Ramona.

  2. dude. you aren’t ugly. you’re GORGEOUS! =D

    ramona quimby! i read that! and harriet the spy. omg.

    dude. no one ever asks me about my hair. =( the only question/statement i got was : hey, check out the bed head (thanks D)

    hahhaha OXOXOXOOXOX

  3. omg so many good eats in this post!! love soy crisps & nugo. i loved soo many books as a child!

    have a great week

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. My favourite books were anything by Enid Blyton 🙂
    OK.
    1. You are not ugly
    2. You are not stupid
    3. Acorn squash is so great that I actually dreamed about it last night (I probably shouldn’t confess to that, it makes me sound like even more of a sad case!)
    4. Okra creeps me out too
    5. This might be a little bit rude of me, but your mum should learn how to say thank you
    and thank you for battling MSN to keep me company yesterday 😉

  5. lol i LOVE your posts!! dont think you need to shutup!!
    never had soycrisps..weird huh?
    and as a child.. i loved amelia badelia (spelling??) books
    that sucks about those earrings..they are still cute tho!

  6. You shouldn’t feel ugly, dumb or whatever…because you’re NOT!

    You’re smart, sweet and beautiful: inside and outside:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  7. Everyone has prugly days. But that doesn’t make us prugly. We’re our own worst critics.
    You are NOT ugly, stupid, a complainer, (insert favorite put-down here). As Julia said, you’re beautiful on the inside and out, and people see that in you.
    You’re so much more than you think you are, and I wish you could see that.
    But it’s like telling a blind person to look at something, or asking a deaf person to listen to something.

    But we’re ganging up on you, so majority rules 🙂

    Love, Eleanor.

    P.S. Thank you for your wise words on my post, they really meant a lot.
    xo

  8. Pingback: Cookie-ish Monster « Blue Eyed Heart

  9. Pingback: Some Hump « Blue Eyed Heart

  10. Pingback: Craptastic Rants « Blue Eyed Heart

  11. Pingback: Bubble, Bubble, Toil and Trouble « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

