Analysis

Dream analysis, anyone? For some background information, I’ve wanted to get a second piercing in my left ear since I was around thirteen. I assumed it was just “teenage rebellion.” At this point, I think it’s pretty safe to assume that isn’t the case; I just want one! My parents would have a whole herd of cows if I did that. (Is “herd” the right word to use here?!) A couple of nights ago, I had a long convoluted dream, the gist of which was that I did actually get a second piercing. (When I told my mom about it, she said, “So you decided to starve yourself instead.” Huh? What on earth has that got to do with anything??) Analyze your heart out!

This morning when I got to the gym, I found a homeless man sprawled out in the niche in front of the door. Since it wasn’t yet opening time, and they wouldn’t let me into the actual gym anyway, I figured I’d save myself the trouble of making him move and just hung around outside, since the weather was actually pretty nice. Eventually some other people showed up and then a police officer walked by, so we let him do the dirty work. I don’t think he was too excited about it, either!

One point for me: I didn’t weigh myself today! Take that.

After the gym, I spent far too much time scouring every single store in a mall for boots. I did not find any. I’m considering the following options:

  • Hiring a cobbler to make me my own pair of custom boots
  • Moving somewhere warm so that I don’t need boots
  • Walking through the snow in my bare feet
  • Just. Keep. Looking.

Which do you think is my best bet?? I’m starting to get a little… desperate here.

IMG_0067

Equal amounts oat bran and pumpkin, double that amount of boiled water, mixed with Splenda and microwaved for 1.5 minutes, then topped with copious amounts of cinnamon. I really don’t like canned pumpkin; but I do in oats or oat bran, apparently. I love the color, too!

IMG_0072
Sugar-free apple pie filling warmed in the microwave and topped with a crumbled (stale) graham cracker. Graham crackers are like Nature Valley bars to me; I actually like them better when they’re stale.

IMG_0074

Soba noodles and tofu with yellow squash, zucchini, broccoli, mushrooms, onions and peppers cooked in a balsamic reduction. (Ha… that sounds so fancy.) Believe me when I say this was enormous.

Okay, fine, don’t believe me. Here’s the photographic evidence:

IMG_0076

Yikes. I’m not even going to say it. Because I know it’s mostly vegetables. But… seriously!

It’s still Cousin Central… I don’t actually know when they’re leaving. Some on Monday, some on Tuesday, I think. Most of my food is still safe. What I don’t understand is this: they are here for a reason, yes? Presumably the reason is not to hang around in my house… actually, I know it’s not. So why on earth are they always doing that??

While I was meant to be preparing for my presentations tomorrow — emphasis on the presentations, as I’ve totally despaired of the paper being any better than its current dismal state — my sister called me because my niece is having a grammar test tomorrow. One thing about me: I can, hopefully, use proper English. I enjoy English. However, this does not mean that I know or care about every part of speech or what it is called! I fail to understand the relevance of indirect pronouns to proper usage of the English language. My sister wants to know what we did before Google. Um… people actually knew things back then. Or we were just stupid.

In any case, I didn’t adequately prepare for my presentations at all. I am possibly going to do a practice run with my mom and / or dad later… every time I do that, I want to crack up. Whereas when I do it in front of the class, I want to pass out. Give me my Klonopin!

I did text my friend back last night, but that was it… she never replied. I think she expects me to call her. Which I don’t actually think is a very good idea… well, it might be for her. Not so much for me.

The usual “Sunday Night Blues” are creeping in, so I think I’m going to go find something to use to distract myself! Hope you all have a great start to your week!

11 responses to “Analysis

  1. wow your creations look AWESOME!!

    fight those sunday night blues!! im sure you have little things to look foward to this week 🙂 .. take a hot bath or watch a funny tv show online (i am enjoying Cougar Town on abc.com at the moment) haha

  2. Oh the Sunday night blues. I know it all too well, kinda feeling it myself right now. As for the boots, take a little break and keep looking! They’re out there waiting for you 🙂

  3. cheer up ! yay for not weighing yourself 🙂 hope you find some boots soon

    xo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. Strange dream… don’t know what that means, but get the piercing if you want it! I got mine when I was 11, but hardly ever wear earrings anymore. They’re probably closed up!

    Hope you get some time to yourself 🙂

  5. stale graham crackers?! really!?
    good job not weighing! i haven’t weighed myself in like 2 years. coz if i do i’d totally relapse fully.

  6. Haha, what a funny subject for a dream! I was always more interested in the scientific rather than analytical side of psychology, so I would have to say it was due to random firings of neurons 😛
    Well done for not weighing yourself 🙂 I hope your presentations go well, just try and imagine how relieved you’ll feel when they’re over with rather than how anxious you’ll be before and during.

  7. I think the dream is about making superficial changes in your life but not looking at the deeper things that you might need to change. For example, starving yourself to lose weight rather than think about what you need to keep yourself healthy and nourished (both physically and mentailly) or getting an extra ear piercing which is a superficial change to your appearance (“ear” – is there something you should be listening or paying attention to?)

  8. Good job on not weighing yourself, love! 🙂

    I used to love trying to figure out my dreams. My mom actually bought me a dream analyzing book once 😛

    xoxo

  9. Get rid of the scale! You don’t need it!

  10. Dreams are bizarre things…mine are always either totally psychotic and disturbed or re-imaginings of mundane, boring events in my life. I think yours is a hybrid of the two! Perhaps starvation equates to another form of rebellion and asserting your identity? Being in such a large family (with all those nieces/cousins) means that it’s very easy to feel lost or insignificant, even if it’s on a subconscious level. You can’t assert power or independence in the way that you would like by getting the piercing even though at your age almost anyone else would be able to, so the negative feelings stemming from being cloistered and controlled are projected onto starving yourself, which is equally rebellious but something you can do and which your parents have no control over. Just call me Jessica Freud. Or maybe not.

    Hmm, people ask me random questions relating to grammar too…as if because I’m a postgrad English student I should know anything and everything about not only the language but also the nuances of every writer that ever lived.

    I’m keeping everything crossed for you with the presentation ~ just know that if you don’t do well no-one else will either, because I’ll be darned if there’s anyone in that class even half as bright as you.

    xoxo

  11. Pingback: I can’t think of a title for this! « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

