Whack-A-Mole

I just wanted to clarify this, because I think I may have sent out the wrong message about it in my last post.  When I said that I was annoyed because my mom had bought the “wrong” thing — it isn’t because I am a completely ungrateful bitch.  I am fully aware of the fact that it was very thoughtful of her to do what she did.  Which is why I chose to whine about it on my blog as opposed to complaining about it to her face!  (I only asked her if she had the receipt because it really did seem silly that she overpaid so much for a simple notebook.  What can I say, I have these infrequent frugal moments.  Particularly when they involve someone else spending money on me.)

I slept for twelve hours on Friday night.  No, that isn’t a typo.  My dad had to come drag me out of bed.  And I am pretty sure that I could have easily slept for another twelve hours!  This is really getting to be kind of ridiculous.  I generally have a relatively high tolerance for pain; it’s just when said pain constantly interferes with my usual functioning so as to be uncomfortable that I have issues dealing with it.  Hence, my wrist is getting on my nerves because it causes my work productivity to suffer.  (Not that they can blame me … it is a work-related injury!)  Same with the tiredness… that isn’t painful, it’s more uncomfortable.  Pain, I can deal with okay.  Discomfort, not so much.

My sister and two of my nieces came over to my house on Saturday night to pick something up… I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but my oldest niece is just triggering to me.  (Explaining why, all over again, involves more typing than I can deal with at present!)  Maybe it was just a combination of that and the (very irritating!) total exhaustion I’m experiencing, but when I saw her, I just felt… defeated.  I can’t even really explain it.

Sunday morning, reaching for my bodywash in the shower, I realized I couldn’t see / feel my hand.  Missing spots in vision = incoming migraine… not good.  I’ve always felt grateful that I get aura, so that I can stave off the worst of the headache (even though apparently people who do get aura are more susceptible to ischemic stroke later in life… pshhh).  I took two Excedrin Migraine and I thought it was taken care of, so I went off to Target… where I was in the middle of trying on a shirt, which I couldn’t buy because the spots in my vision came back and I couldn’t tell what it looked like.  Any half-sane person would go home at this point, but no, not me … I continued on to the gym.  Mid-workout I realized that I was exhibiting the behavior of a truly crazy individual — I mean, who tries to power through a migraine for a workout?!  So I went home and crawled back into bed with an ice pack and the screwdriver digging a hole in my skull behind my right eyebrow.

It was, I believe, the worst migraine I have ever had in my life.  I was literally praying for my own speedy death, if that’s what it would take to get this to stop.  (The problem with Excedrin Migraine, you see, is the amount of caffeine it contains… which renders sleep all but impossible.)

While it turned out to be pretty much a waste of a perfectly good day off work, I am going out on a limb here and counting my blessings… namely, that it didn’t happen on a workday; and that if it had to happen on a Sunday, at least it was today and not next Sunday.  That would make for a pretty crappy start to a vacation, wouldn’t you say?!

Being that I am emetophobic to an almost pathalogical degree, eating when I am feeling even the slightest bit nauseated terrifies me.  I know I shouldn’t be taking “drugs” on an empty stomach, but that’s what happened anyway.  All of that going through my system without the company of food probably contributed to my feeling even more nauseated and shaky… so even though I about crapped my pants at the thought, I determined that food = essential.  Hence…

IMG_0124

Lots of “finishing” going on here… the spinach and beets are left over from my wrap the other day.  I steamed the spinach in a microwave steamer and sprinkled it with salt and cayenne pepper; and I sprinkled the beets with salt and black pepper.  (To answer Kailey’s question… beets taste… good! Ha, I know that’s not so helpful, but … in texture they’re kind of like a very firm tuber (errr, probably because that’s what they are), and they’re sweet… not as sweet as a sweet potato, but sweet nonetheless. Try it — the only way to find out for sure!) I used half a package of tofu to prepare for work, but I won’t need it tomorrow since I’m meeting my mom for lunch, so I grilled up the other half after marinating it in some Asian dressing. And I’ve seen variations of the baked sweet potato with peanut butter on both Jessica’s and Katie’s blogs, and decided to finally give it a try! I wrapped it in foil, baked it in the oven for about an hour, then sliced it open and scored the insides of the halves before spreading it with the peanut butter, re-wrapping it, and returning it to the oven. I don’t know that I’d do this with a sweet potato on a regular basis, since I like the natural flavor too much, but it was a nice change.  Um, yeah, and since my stomach didn’t rebel, I proceeded to eat way too much in an attempt to make up for the fact that I hadn’t really eaten all day, so my stomach isn’t very happy with me now, but at least everything is staying in its proper place in the digestive system.  Not going to complain about that, then.

Speaking of sweet potatoes — I think I may have actually determined the difference between those and yams… and I’m pretty sure that I’ve never had a real yam.  “Sweet potatoes” are often sold as “yams” here, but they’re not even related to each other.  Who knew?…

My mom also sponsored a little gift for me, which was sweet of her… though I definitely would rather not have a need for it!!  This is the fourth wrist brace I’ve been through in two years.  *sigh*  But I think it’s the best so far.

IMG_0121

Wow, that looks like some serious crap there.

Katie tagged me with this award!

honest_award

“This award is bestowed on a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant.  This award is about bloggers who post from their heart, who often in times put their heart on display as they write from the depths of their soul.
There are three rules that need to be followed on accepting this award:
1. Brag about it!
2. Select seven blogs you find brilliant and link back to them.
3. List ten honest things about yourself.”

So, um, I guess this is me bragging about it… actually, that’s why I named this post “Whack-A-Mole”: because of what Katie said!  I feel like a whack-a-mole sometimes.  Okay, most of the time.

There are so many bloggers to whom I could pass on this award, but I think that most (if not all!) of them have already gotten it!!  Still… here are seven bloggers whom I find inspirational, and who are just beautiful wonderful people!

1)Jessica
2) Sophia
3) Jaime
4) Keri
5) Ellie
6) Ruthie
7) Jen

As for listing ten honest things about myself… hmm.  I really don’t think I’m that exciting that I have ten as-yet-undisclosed things to share!!  Let’s see…

1. When I was little, I wanted to get married at seventeen.  (Can you say thank goodness that little girls’ dreams don’t always come true?!)

2. In the third grade, I decided that it was unfair that I didn’t have a middle name, and I bestowed one upon myself.  I used it on all of my papers and tests, and my teacher really thought that was my name… until the parent-teacher conference ruined it.  My brother still teases me about it.

3. I have a green belt in karate.  I also have a lot of regret that I stopped when I did, because I could have been a third-degree black belt by now.

4. I failed a math test in the fifth grade (50%, long division) and have been absolutely hopeless at anything mathematical ever since.

5. The word “try” depresses me because it seems to go hand in hand with implied failure.

6. I have over twenty-five nieces and nephews, and I do have a favorite.  (Not that I broadcast that, of course…)

7. I am drawn to macabre art and literature, and have been known to freak out several professors with my own pathetic attempts to create such things!

8. When I was seven, I was gashed in the palm with a pencil.  When the wound healed, I had (and still have) a line written under my skin.  I was convinced I was going to die of lead poisoning.  Clearly, that did not happen.

9. I threw my sister’s eraser collection out the window into a downpour when I was three.  She claims to still be upset about it.  (But she sat on my Barbie a few years later and snapped her leg clean off!  I say that levels the playing field…)

10. The first time I realized that I liked language, and that that made me different from the rest of my family, was when I was eight and my nephew was crawling over a cardboard box… I said he was “mischievous,” and everyone looked at me strangely.

…like I said, I’m not a very exicting individual.  😉

I did stop off at Blockbuster today and rent a movie that I intended to watch, but, well, I was rather… indisposed.  I’m off to ponder whether to give that a shot now.  Hopefully tomorrow dawns with me all healed in every respect, because I don’t like feeling like I’m falling apart and patched together at the fraying seams…

Have a lovely Monday!

15 responses to “Whack-A-Mole

  1. About the migraines, I don’t actually get any pain..I sometimes get this weird aura, like a spot missing in my vision, then it gets bigger, like spiky lights..I dont know if that makes any sense. It lasts for about 20 minutes. It’s so weird. there is no pain whatsoever. I know you aren’t a doctor, but is that the onset of a migraine? or should I go see a doctor? I get this about once a month.

    I’m sorry you had to suffer through that migraine. I haven’t actually had a painful migraine in a few years. they suck big time 😦

    Enjoy your movie! 🙂 xoxoxo

  2. I beg to differ, you are a very exciting individual. I’m sorry about your migraine, hopefully it will be gone soon. I don’t have any quick answers for you on how to remedy it but positive thoughts are sent out to you.

  3. thank you so much for the award! 🙂 That means so much to me, especially on a day like today. I would leave a long and detailed comment like I usually do but I am so emotionally drained that I dont have it in my right now. Im SO sorry! All I do have to say is that I really hope you are feeling better and Im just so sad to hear that you were feeling so miserable. Take things easy and get the rest you need

  4. So sorry you had such a bad migraine. I know how terrible they are… I don’t know if you remember, but just a week or two ago I blogged about a TERRIBLE migraine that I had… it was literally one of the worst headaches of my life! I don’t know where they come from… maybe stress? Now my stomach seems to be having issues instead!

  5. Ack, sorry about the migraine. Powering through them is probably not the best idea! Exercise can be good pain relief for some things because of the whole endorphin business, but migraines are worsened by dehydration so probably best to skip the gym next time!
    I am confused about the difference between sweet potatoes and yams too. I knew they weren’t the same thing, but they look kind of similar. Yams aren’t really sold in the UK so there’s no way to do a comparison. It’s a conundrum 😛
    I hope you’re feeling better today!!

  6. I sure hope you get feeling better! Luckily, I’ve never been cursed with any type of migraine… but my dad gets them quite frequently, so I have some idea as to the what they can do in terms of leaving you incapacitated. Ick!

    Hopefully that wrist-thing helps with THAT pain/discomfort.

    I think the entire world is confused about sweet potatoes and yams… like what are those white potatoes called that are sweet? I thought THOSE were sweet potatoes and the orange inside ones were yams… but then I read somewhere that the orange ones are usually sweet potatoes and then some really foreign root veggie is a yam and they are really rare or something… WAY confused.

    Do you eat canned yams? or fresh? What is the best way to eat them? Warm, cold, canned, fresh, salad, dish? haha, you don’t hve to answer! (:
    xo,
    Keri
    http://hopskipleap.wordpress.com
    http://operationbreakingglass.wordpress.com

    p.s thanks for the award!

  7. adventuresofrecovergirl

    I’m sorry about the wrist/migrane. I feel ya on being “uncomfortable” as opposed to being in pain. Pain you can muster through, comfort is a whole different story.

    I’m completely confused and lost from the whole sweet potato/yam debate. I think I’ll stay in my “ignorance is bliss” zone, seeing as I’ve still yet to master the cooking realm. I’m just happy I haven’t burned down my house yet 😛

    Thanks for the award and I hope you have a fantastic Monday!
    ❤ Jenn

  8. ew. migraines are the worst, i get the aura too – which does help give me the heads up (haha, pun intended) so i can take meds. pushing through and going to the gym is JUST the kind of insane behavior that i would have done too…until kyle slapped some sense into me (metaphorically, hes no chris brown). glad you listened up, even if it was a bit late 🙂

    congrats on the award.

  9. GIRL!!!!! im SO SO SO SORRY you havent been feeling well!! im not too familiar with migraines– but my mum gets them some times and she says they are awful– i hope you feel better REALLY SOON!! oooo no i just feel terrible 😦 im so glad you listened to your body and gave it rest once you realized that it was not a good idea to work out– i know it can be hard sometimes when we want to push ourselves– but you did yourself a major favor!!!

    ughh triggering people (especially family members) are hard to be around– i hope that you are able to realize that YOU are doing what you need to do to be HEALTHY– do NOT let that stupid ED voice try to ‘charm’ you! being HEALTHY is one of the MOST important things in the world- and ED will never give that to you (or anyone!!).

    thank you so much for the award 🙂 ! i cant wait to do it– definitely in my next post!! i love that you LOVE language– i think that is so great– i wish i knew more vocabulary and that i were better with words/grammar– i’m convinced that using the internet has abolished that for me– hahah! well– i hope not 🙂

    have a great day xoxoxoxoxo

  10. Aww, so sorry you weren’t sold on the sweet potato/peanut butter combination…at least the beets made up for it.

    Oh, I can sympathise so much with the migraine issue: I’m glad you had the sense not to push through and try to keep working out (I’m astounded you even made it to the gym!) because I’ve done the same thing with a migraine nowhere near as developed as yours was at that point and it made it ten times worse. I get an aura too (spots in front of the eyes…cliché, but true), so I suppose we’re lucky in the respect that we at least get some kind of warning. Don’t think of it as a waste of time: you need to take care of yourself and with all that you’re going through your health comes way before any work-related issues.

    It must be so hard to live with such a constant stream of pain, and having triggering family members around on top of that….well, I commend you for holding it together as well as you do.

    Thank you so much for the award! You would have been top of my list, but I saw Katie had already given you one, richly deserved might I add : ) We share so many of the things on your list…numbers 3, 5, 7 and 10 to be exact (except I gave up Judo and obviously the situation in number 10 wasn’t exactly the same, but still…)

    I can’t tell you how I much I appreciate your straight-talking and no-nonsense approach. Comments mean so much more when you know the commenter isn’t just babying you, and I respect you so much that I am truly trying to acknowledge and learn from everything you say.

    Get well soon

    *hugs*

  11. aww I am so sorry to hear about your migraine! those are always the worst.
    that is so cool you have a green belt in karate!

  12. I’ve never really had a migraine before, but that must really freaking suck. I’m so sorry. I don’t know any remedies I can share, but I hope they go away soon.

    And thanks for the award! I totally DISAGREE that you are not an exciting individual. And green belt in karate! I never knew that!

  13. Ugh! I feel so bad for your migraine. I just dealt with a two-day doozy, and still kind of ache. Not fun. (And I powered through a grocery run–so trying to workout isn’t that crazy!)
    I know what you mean about the Excedrin. I just want to sleep it away (if I can!), but the caffeine doesn’t really help that… (I try to take 1 Excedrin and then the same amount of Tylenol that is in the other pill. Less caffeine, equal pain killer.)

  14. Also, PS, I like all those fun facts! Especially that you threw your sister’s eraser collection out the window. (Eraser collection?) How many siblings do you have to have so many nieces and nephews?

  15. Pingback: Oopsie. « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

