Party Sunday

Yep… as it turns out, I wound up going to two parties, not just one.  I was barely at either of them for long enough to say I legitimately went, but hey, it’s the thought that counts, I suppose!  I thought I was going to be late to the kid’s party, because, well, I’m a timely person.  I think it is extremely rude and disrespectful of others and their time to show up late.  Are you the type of person who is always early, late, or exactly on time?

I got there before my “best friend” did.  (She WAS my best friend when I was younger.  Hence the quotation marks.)  Whoops.  When she finally did get there, she was running around in circles trying to make sure everything was ready.  But she did take the time to tell me that she was “so embarrassed,” and when I asked why (because isn’t that what you’re supposed to do?), she said that she went shopping on Friday since she had nothing to wear to this party, and then when she got home she decided that the outfit she’d bought made her look… and she stared at me meaningfully.  Now, this could be filled in with “fat” or “pregnant,” and I know for a fact that she is not pregnant.  So she is asking me if she looks fat.  I was flabberghasted.  (Funny word!!)  She is the ONLY one of my friends who has any idea about my ED, and she asks ME whether she looks fat?!  Why couldn’t she ask any one of our other friends?!  Or a relative, for heavens’ sake… why ME???

Anyway, next party.  I wasn’t even supposed to go to this, but hooray for spontaneity… though we got there so late, between traffic and the rain, that we were only there for a few minutes!!  (“We” being my parents and me.)  So this is where we went…

101
My great aunt’s 101st birthday party!!  It’s mind-boggling, really; she is more than four times my age.

After we got back from that party, the rain had all but stopped, so I decided to go to the supermarket and stock up on tofu.  I used to buy it on Amazon, but I recently realized that it’s actually cheaper in this particular supermarket.  So I dropped off my dad at work and headed out.  I hadn’t even driven three blocks before I saw one of my sisters running down the street like a madwoman, so of course I stopped and asked her where on earth she was going; she was thrilled to see me (well, to see the car!) and asked if I could drive her to the museum, because she had gone there with the kids and realized that their ID cards were at home, so she left the kids there (not child abandonment, my oldest niece is seventeen!  ;)) and ran home to get the ID cards.  So I drove her there, which was totally in the opposite direction, and then headed to the supermarket.  Now, I don’t know if this is because it is Sunday or because the police just like to be obnoxious, but there were a whole bunch of streets that were blocked off for no good discernible reason.  Result?  T R A F F I C.  I am sure you can imagine that I am not the world’s most patient person; sitting in traffic and watching the light switch from green to red and back again multiple times while I am sitting in one place pretty much makes my blood boil.  I tried telling myself that in the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter that I was sitting in traffic for half an hour on this particular day.  I tried counting to ten, over and over and over.  I tried breeeeeathing.  Obviously, I made it there and back, but it was such an aggravating experience… I vastly prefer driving in the middle of the night when there aren’t many other cars around!  How do you deal with traffic frustrations?

Maybe this helped make up for it a bit… remember the spaghetti squash I had hanging around on my counter?  I thought I probably ought to DO something with it before it went bad… originally I was planning to mix it with this, but wouldn’t you know, the store didn’t have any… so I bought some portobella mushroom caps on a whim, since I haven’t had them in quite a while.  The result of my experiment (sorry about the crappy picture!):

IMG_0071

Three reasons why this will definitely be repeated:

  •  I had forgotten how much I love grilled portobella mushrooms
  • Pretty much anything with Sonny & Joe’s sauteed eggplant is incredible
  • I accidentally undercooked the squash a bit, so the strands were a little crunchy. Next time I will do it that way on purpose, because it is so much better!

One of my albino cory catfish was huddling in the top of the tank near the heater, in what I call the Graveyard because so many fish seem to go there to die.  This didn’t bode well, and I didn’t like that, so I did yet another water change.  Then I tested the ammonia and pH levels, which were as close to perfect as they’ve ever been, and so I don’t know what’s wrong with him / her / it… which obviously calls for medication.  I’m prescription-happy!  I just hope he / she / it doesn’t die, because I really can’t deal with even more fish corpses right now.  Hmph.

Ah, yes, I also must share another reason why I am an idiot.  Or, okay, maybe I’M not an idiot, but I certainly do a lot of idiotic things!  To summarize, I hate birthdays — my own most of all.  They’re just so anticlimactic.  Still, it’s sort of a tradition for me to go to a baseball game on or around my birthday.  When I was in high school I went with my friends, but last year I went with my dad, and I’m going with him again this year.  So I’m looking for tickets, and I found some on eBay, and I bid on them, because I didn’t realize that there are nine DAYS left to the auction, not nine HOURS.  It’s not that big of a deal, I guess — if I’m outbid, I’ll just get different ones; if I’m not outbid, great, I have tickets.  It’s just annoying to overlook something so obvious.  (Cue Dad:  “How did you do a thing like that?”  RAWWR.)

Tomorrow it’s back to work… I’m tempted to throw a tantrum, but not to shock you, or anything, I am too tired!  So here’s a little fact for you, which is probably not true at all.  Snapple “Real Fact” #246: The “silk” of a gold spider is stronger than steel threads of the same diameter.

 Have a glorious start to your week!

13 responses to “Party Sunday

  1. I am always a bit early. Mom taught me to be early rather than late. I can’t help it, but I really do see chronic lateness as a sign of rudeness.

    And God Bless your Great Aunt! 101… amazing!!

  2. 2 birthday parties in a day, how fun! And 101 years…now thats the way to do it! 🙂 That is simply amazing and it reminds me why health is soooo important! I want to be around so I can meet all the members of my future family plus all the other cool people in life.

    Ughh traffic is so annoying…I usually call a friend or listen to some great music to take my mind off it

  3. themilkfreeway

    I am always early too. I used to always be late when I was a kid and reliant on my parents to transport me because my dad is incapable of being on time for anything, and I think that has given me the impetuous to make sure that I’m never late again! Mind you, it does suck turning up to parties before they have gotten started.
    I deal with traffic frustrations according to my mood. Good mood, not going anywhere important = sing along to the radio, people watch and try to let go of the problem. Bad mood or on a deadline = get very pissed off and swear quite a lot 😛 so yeah, you’re not alone in finding that stressful!
    I hope work is OK today 🙂

  4. 2 parties in one day sounds like a lot of fun! I am usually always the early bird. I just hate being late!

    wow 101 – thats a nice, long life !

  5. Hi there! Thanks for checking out my blog.

    101 – that’s fantastic!! 🙂 I’m a punctual person & I hate to drive so I try to avoid it at all costs!! Fortunately the hubs is all about the driving… guess we’re a match made in heaven.

    Spaghetti squash looks delicious!!

  6. I’m always scrambling frantically to get out of the door in the belief that I’m going to be late, then end up arriving ridiculously early. I suppose it’s the fear of walking into a room full of people who are already ‘settled’, or being denied access to the appointment/exercise class/other random event that I’m rushing to and then having to either wait ten centuries for another one or find an alternative…I don’t deal well with uncertainty and changes of plan so I try to anticipate such situations and avert them in advance ; )

    Such a shame you can’t find Tentation apples where you are…I wish I could send you some but I don’t know what state they’d be in once they got there…plus I think it’s illegal lol. I found some Jazz today, and nearly knocked an old lady into a pile of melons as I snatched them as quickly as I could…hehe.

    I go INSANE in traffic…seriously, I develop a nervous twitch. Not only am I impatient but sitting wrecks my back and the position car seats force you into is horribly uncomfortable. I wish I had some tips but generally I just start drumming the dashboard very loudly, turning the radio up to full volume and swearing quite audibly…luckily it’s masked by the radio. It’s one of the few situations in life where I swear like a squaddie.

    I’m sending prayers for your fish, but remember that they’re fragile little creatures and whatever happens, it’s no reflection on you. Yeesh, you have a lot to deal with considering the combination of your insensitive friend and overly critical Dad!

    If you ever find your story I would LOVE to read it! I hope that doesn’t sound creepy but as I did my degree in English & Creative Writing I love to read short stories, particularly by people who are obviously highly proficient at expressing themselves. It also sounds like my kind of tale, i.e dark and suspenseful.

    Hope work wasn’t too terrible

    *hugs*

  7. I’m always nearly-on time. Usually a few minutes early, but I’ve learned from my dad how to estimate time, at least somewhat well…

    I’ve noticed that when people find out about me having an eating disorder, they immediately start talking about weight, food, body image, etc. I think it’s because it makes them nervous. Eating disorders are not very welly elaborated in the media or even in some books I’ve read. I feel like we’re either portrayed as emaciated, vampire-esque anathemas, or preppy do-gooders with an I’m-too-good-for-you-attitude. Both of which are so far from the truth. But this is what the common person knows about people suffering from an eating disorder. And come on, how intimidating does that sound?

    I wouldn’t take the comment from your friend as an insult. She was probably just nervous and had a spout of word-vomit. I hope you had a nice time at the party regardless.

    Traffic is horrible! I have grown to hate even looking at my car, because everywhere I travel is stuffed full with cars. I don’t even really know how I ever get anywhere.
    I always just blast my music and sing or bring a book along and read in between lights.

    That spaghetti squash looks incredible! It’s been one of my favorite meals since I was little. I never thought of adding ‘bellas to it. What a creative idea!

    I hope your week goes well! :]

    -Edoe

  8. adventuresofrecovergirl

    I’m absurdly early. Ok, I’m the typical 5-10 minutes early but in college “on time” seems to be 10-15 minutes late. Even when I arrive on time for normal people I’m early. Sheesh.

    And I’m the same way in traffic! I FREAKING HATE IT WITH A BURNING PASSION. It’s exactly the reason I hit the road at 4:30 am with an hour of sleep to head back from my parents house. I knew I’d hit traffic on the first leg, so I’m sure my mom didn’t have the time to hear my “I [BLANKING] HATE TRAFFIC” rant for the 800th time 😛 At least my potty mouth gets a workout though hehe.

    I seriously must find that sauteed eggplant because it sounds/looks amazing!!!

    Have a fabulous day surviving work 🙂
    ❤ Jenn

  9. Oops, I just checked my e-mail! Thanks for sending me your story ~ can’t wait to read it!

  10. woah! Two parties in one night?! You party animal you! haha. I am totally the type of person who is ALWAYS running late, and I always get in such a frazzle if I feel like I am rushed!

  11. I hate traffic, and unfortunately have to deal with congested condition on my drive to and from work! ICK! I try and make sure to be prepared with things to keep me entertained… including good music or books on tape… (;

    Too bad most stores or things you want to do aren’t open in the middle of the night!

    Hope your fishy is alright! and your spaghetti squash meal looks incredible… how do you make grilled mushrooms? I’ve never had them, do you marinate them or do anything with them other than just toss them on the grill?

    Have a great monday girl! You deserve it!
    XO!

  12. Pingback: Discomfited « Blue Eyed Heart

  13. Pingback: Gameless « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

