Skewered!

It is well past my self-imposed bedtime, so I guess this will be really quick and boring!!

For starters, I finally got around to planting today…

IMG_0032

I’m going to attempt to grow lettuce.  On my roof.  We’ll see how that works out!!

I also got into a lovely fight with my mom, but that’s nothing out of the ordinary, I guess, so it doesn’t bear repeating, really.

About the barbecue… I never really do this, but I changed at least three times before leaving.  It’s just a stupid barbecue, and I don’t need to get all dressed up for it, and I wouldn’t even have changed at all but for the fact that planting can get kind of … dirty.  Every single thing I put on had something wrong with it!  The shirt I was originally planning to wear, and nearly did wear, was “too low-cut.”  Not because I’m so modest, because I’m not; but because my mom has helped me develop an extreme paranoia about my collarbone.  Maybe she did that on purpose, come to think of it, because if I’m self-conscious about it, I’ll be all… chaste.  Anyway.  It was kind of nice, actually, to just chill out for a bit.  It happened to work out that there were four single people and four married people, and we had to make sure that two married people didn’t wind up sitting next to each other, because then all we’d be talking about would be babies!  ;p

We saw a lovely sunset, too.

IMG_0005

As for the food situation… well.

IMG_0007

For all of that talk about veggie burgers, she didn’t even buy any.  It was all meat, meat, meat, meat, and for a change, some more meat!  Let’s just say I’m glad that I chose to eat a small dinner earlier.  But I felt like I “should” at least try to eat there anyway, so …

IMG_0009

A perfectly innocuous veggie kabob, which became not so innocuous once she started telling me what was in the marinade.  (I’m okay if I don’t know about it, which I realize makes no logical sense whatsoever, but I am almost deathly afraid of oil.  I didn’t exactly appreciate her telling me what was in there… but I probably would have looked completely crazy if I dropped it like it was on fire.  I mean, it’s just vegetables.  It won’t kill me.  And clearly, it didn’t.)  Just for the record, I will state that this veggie kabob cost me ten bucks.  :p  I’m such a sucker. 

She also bought alcohol… beer, which I hate; and one of my favorite drinks… but I was too much of a wuss to manage to touch any of it. Which is probably not an altogether bad thing, considering that I do need to get up for work tomorrow. Sob.

In any case… like I said, it was sort of nice to hang out with people who are not my family or co-workers!  It’s just a pity that I’m such an old lady that I’m already thinking that it’s time to go to bed when the clock strikes ten… and thinking about it is just making me feel older, so I guess I will just stop doing that and go to bed instead.

Have a great start to your week!!  Back to work… sigh…

12 responses to “Skewered!

  1. Sorry the BBQ was nothing to write home about! And no veggie burgers after she said there would be?! I’d be pissed… I don’t like alcohol either, so you’re not alone! I don’t get what the fuss is about with it! I’d rather have a nice fruit juice any day! lol

    And you’re not old… I’m 20 and I don’t like to stay out at night either!

    Lovely sunset!

  2. Ahh bummer that the BBQ wasn’t as great as you had hoped it to bed. If only those veggie burgers had been there! 🙂 haha Atleast you kept a smile on and did your best to have a good time. Sometimes its more important to just try and that you did!

  3. Darn, sorry about the bad BBQ and the fight with your mom…And haha, glad the veggie kabob didn’t kill you. neither will a bit of oil!

    p.s. I NEVER get ppl who love alcohol!

  4. rediscoveringlauren

    the sunset is beautiful 🙂
    i get what you mean about being ok with it when you dont know whats in it, i can feel like that at times too!
    have a nice nights sleep hun!
    xxx

  5. adventuresofrecovergirl

    Seriously sunsets make me soooo happy 🙂

    I’m glad you relaxed at the BBQ, even if the veggie burgers didn’t make a showing and heck a little oil never killed anyone, promise. I hope you enjoyed that veggie kabob 🙂

    I hope you had a restful rest of the night and have a good day at work today 🙂
    ❤ Jenn

  6. I’m glad you went to the BBQ and I think you handled it well… Good call eating before you went and SO cool that you tried to eat there too. Are you vegetarian by the way?.. Or do you avoid meat for ED reasons? (I thought it was just fish you *didn’t* eat). I should know this stuff!

    Hope you have an a-okay Monday!

  7. themilkfreeway

    Haha, I’m an old lady too 😛 I am usually in bed by 11. A few months ago I found it hard to stay up past 9! I’m glad you had an OK time even if all there was for you to have were some scary and expensive veggies! You are more polite than me, I would have refused to split the cost, lol.
    I hope you’ve had a good Monday! Well, as good as Mondays can be…

  8. Woohoo BBQ! I rhymed! (:

    Totally can commiserate with the early to bed issue… it’s not a bad thing though when my body wakes up so early anyways! urg!

    I still have seeds to plant, but I don’t go by any stores that would be selling dirt to plant them in! AHH! I want to grow some lettuce and herbs too! What all are you growing?

    Check out my giveaway!
    http://www.hopskipleap.wordpress.com

    xo,
    Keri

  9. I hope that lettuce turns out all right. Be sure to lettuce know how it goes! (ahahahahahahaha!)

  10. good luck with the lettuce plant!! Im sure it will taste amazing once its done!
    lovely sunset

  11. lilveggiepatch

    Sorry about the lack of veggie options. So frustrating!

    I want to start a roof garden (or any garden, really) so badly! Can’t wait to see how yours turns out.

  12. planting sounds fun!!! 🙂 hehe!

    so glad you went to the bbq and had a nice time (what a beautiful sunset!) and so glad that you had something there– that is sooo awesome girl you should be really proud of yourself. and oil is not to be feared– especially when just a SMIDGE is on some veggies– i promise!

    have a wonderful night xoxox

Leave a Reply

