“The only food that does not spoil is honey.”

Snapple “Real Fact” #840.  I was actually going to use a clever title for this post — oh, something akin to the fact that this day was not fast AT ALL — but I just opened a diet Snapple and couldn’t resist including that fact!  I wonder whether honey jars have “best by” dates… I’m too lazy to go downstairs to the kitchen and check.  Hmm.

Wow. I totally overslept today, which never happens; I should have just taken that as a sign from Above that I was meant to be fasting!! But nope… I actually spoke with my nutritionist last night, and she totally reamed me out for even considering it. If I want to think about it for three weeks from today, then I can ask my rabbi, but oh my goodness, you would have thought the sky was falling last night.  Geesh.  Seriously — the world will not come to an end!Anyway, as I was saying… I wake up early enough every day that if I “oversleep” a bit, it won’t make a difference.  But I still get into the habit of doing certain things at a certain time, and so I felt all hurried and rushed anyway.  For starters, I was apparently sleeping on my arm, so it felt like a dead weight when I woke up, and I didn’t realize that the clasp of one of my bracelets had gotten caught in the fabric of my pillowcase.  Not only is my pillowcase sort of ruined now, but look at this… 

 how sad is that?!
how sad is that?!

Actually, I shouldn’t complain about the bracelet.  This is the second one I’ve had like it; the first one vanished into the depths of the pool, never to be seen again.  Anyway,

I didn’t get a chance to “beautify” properly this morning, which, trust me, constitutes a major problem!  All that notwithstanding, I still made it to the subway station just two minutes later than I usually do… and I had to wait over ten minutes for a train, so I really didn’t have to drive myself crazy the way I did.  Oh, and of course the subway service leaves much to be desired… don’t even ask.  (AND with all that, I still made it to the gym a bit before 7.00 — so explain to me why the people who work there can’t seem to manage it on a regular basis?!)

 

I left the gym around the same time I always do, which meant that I felt a little more “aligned” … it’s crazy that having my schedule thrown off makes me feel so chaotic.  Especially when said schedule was arranged to allow for some unforeseen circumstances, such as happened today.  Sometimes I really wish I could just have some sort of personality overhaul and become more laid-back and easygoing, instead of being so high-strung all the time.  I guess it does count for something that I managed not to have a completely crappy day despite its inauspicious beginnings!  (You would think, too, that since I slept later, I’d be less tired than usual.  Nope.  No such luck!)

I saw my therapist today.  As a little background note, last summer, my nutritionist and I had the same arrangement where I would get weighed at my doctor’s office, and she would speak to them to find out what was going on.  But, remembering that it took a couple of weeks for everything to get settled, I just knew she wouldn’t have a chance to call him quite so soon, which is why I peeked.  I know it’s stupid, because it shouldn’t matter to me.  But what’s done is done; and even if I may have semi-accepted it, I guess I haven’t accepted it enough, because I cringe with embarrassment at the thought of … well, I’m not quite sure whether it’s gaining or the actual number that I find so mortifying.  Either way, I refused to face the humiliation of telling her what it said, because she would have to call him anyway.  My defective eyes, and all.  But my therapist decided that if I am so ashamed of it, I have to share it, because “we’re only as sick as our secrets.”  So it took the better part of an hour, but I finally did tell my therapist… and you know what, I don’t feel any better for it.  How odd.  (Inflect heavy dose of sarcasm here.)  I have an assignment for next week, too.  Do I want to recover?  What does recovery look like to me?  Sometimes I think she just likes having me writing essays!  Heh.

The barbecue with my friends wasn’t tonight; it isn’t for another week and a half.  Nothing ever happens easily around here… it’s always got to be complex and confusing!  It was the first date that we could manage on which everyone was available at the same time.  Is it any wonder we don’t get together more often?!

Some pictures, of course… (One of the only things I’d change on WordPress would be to make it possible to type up a post here while media is uploading.  But I suppose you could theoretically write it in Word, or something.)

First, Sophia, here’s “the other eye” for you!  (In case the name of my blog doesn’t give it away, or the multitude of weird and freakish photos of my own eye, I will state for the record that I have some sort of strange eye obsession!)

pardon the lack of makeup... like I said, not enough time to beautify this morning... :[ Yes, Elise, I absolutely do love babydoll tops… what on earth gave that one away??  😉
IMG_0002
a perfect match!

a perfect match!

This is another reason why to pick out your clothes the night before… if I hadn’t done that, I probably would never have gotten out of the house this morning!  As it is, I changed my skirt twice.  :p
 
Since I apparently have no hunger signals, I generally just have to eat by the clock.  This was supposed to happen around 10.00 or 10.30, but it didn’t actually come to pass until nearly noon.  Oopsie!  (Very angry to be eating today, in general.  Rawwr!)  
NuGo Dark chocolate chocolate chip bar 

NuGo Dark chocolate chocolate chip bar

In accepting Ellie’s “challenge” to me, this also happened today:
 
tortellini!

tortellini!

 To be honest, I wasn’t totally enamored of it.  That might have something to do with the fact that it was sun-dried tomato tortellini — the only kind I could find without cheese — and I abhor tomatoes!  Ah, well.  To finish up the spinach (because I only used a small amount of it in my wrap yesterday), I “stir-fried” it with a bit of garlic, soy sauce and brown rice vinegar.  First time I ever had “wilted spinach,” which, if you ask me, is a nasty name!  The tortellini package said “sauce and serve,” and, obedient thing that I am, I dumped some pasta sauce over the whole mess.

My culinary adventures apparently were not over…

corn muffin top

corn muffin top

I was so excited to finally find these, you have no idea.  (Of course, it took me way longer than it should have taken to decide to get corn tops, because, well, you know, I worried about hurting the wild blueberry / chocolate chip / chocolate chocolate chip’s feelings!)  It was odd, though.  Not necessarily in a bad way, just not really what I expected.  I also find it very strange that there is no corn or cornmeal listed in the ingredients… just “natural flavors.”  If they’re so “natural,” why can’t they just NAME them?!
 
In other exciting news, my alfalfa seeds finally arrived today!  They’re already sitting in my jar… I am quite eager to see whether they will actually sprout.  This is me, cultivating my green thumb.  Ha.
 
Have a beautiful Friday — the end of the workday tomorrow means I can stop itching for two and a half whole days!  Whoo!

9 responses to ““The only food that does not spoil is honey.”

  1. whenever the product flashes “NATURAL INGREDIENT” in my face but don’t name them, I get suspicious..but oh well. As long as it tastes good!
    lol, thanks for the other eye. Now I know they’re BOTH beautiful!
    And hey, those are some great questions your therapist asked you! I hope you get some good thinking about it, and hopefully it will also help you?

  2. adventuresofrecovergirl

    So pretty sure my therapist has asked me the same two questions word-for-word at least a zillion times. I wish I had some insanely insightful answer, but I usually shrug and say “I don’t know”

    I’m such a wealth of insight, legit 😛

    Yay for Fridays and no itching (or work!) I’m currently itching as well due to killer mosquitos (I’m considering carrying around a raid bottle for self-defense).

    ❤ Jenn

  3. I did not know that fact!

    Eating signals come with time… I lost mine for a while too, then I went through a long period of binge eating, because my body could never register fullness. My body seems to be back to “normal” for the most part. It will come with time, hang in there!

  4. I think your therapist’s assignment sounds like a good one for you chica…

    I HATE waking up late- even if I have nothing in particular I need to do, it throws my whole day off. Gah. And waking up with a dead arm is no fun- I did that yesterday and ended up dropping my bottle of vitamins ALL over the floor.

    Glad you tried the tortellini- I don’t mind sundried tomatoes but hated sundried tomato tortellini. Pumpkin os good though if you can find that!

  5. I know it’s the last thing you want to hear but I think that you’re therapists suggestion is a really great one. Sometimes you just really need to think about what you want in life and whether the things that you think you want are actually what you want (does that make sense). I think that while you often struggle with the ability to actually accept the NEED to really get healthy, you know somewhere that you want to be happy and live a worthwhile life again, where going to the gym isnt a must and feeling anxious about the little things doesn’t exist anymore. Wouldn’t you agree?!

    Anyway, so sorry that you had such an ick morning with waking up late! It can totally throw part of your day off! Hopefully tomorrow will be a better one!

  6. themilkfreeway

    Honey does have best before dates over here – I threw some out a while ago because it was months out, but apparently I needn’t have bothered 😛
    Can you mend your bracelet? I have a load of fastenings and wires I use for mine, I’m always breaking things. I hope it survives!
    TGIF 🙂

  7. tortellini!! YUM 😀
    thats really interesting about honey…i wonder if its true! I noticed my molasses doesn’t have an expiration date either.

  8. Pingback: Worker Bee « Blue Eyed Heart

  9. Pingback: Something’s Wrong « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

