Wednesday’s Wisdom

(First of all, I have to apologize for the absolutely ridiculous title, but I have to keep with the alliterative theme of this week, don’t I?!  ;))

Every night before I go to sleep, I have to figure out what I am going to wear the next day.  This is partly due to the fact that if I don’t, I will spend all morning putting things on, deciding they don’t look / feel right, and taking them off, and on and on and on, until it’s just too late to do anything else at all!  I guess it’s somewhat “healthier” to think about that than mentally tabulate calories, so.  Do you pick out your clothes the night before you wear them?

I went rooting around in my closet last night and found this shirt that I haven’t worn in forever… for practical reasons, really.  I bought it a few years back because I thought it was cute, but if I wear a bag, the beading will get ripped off!  Since I wore a sweatshirt today, I figured that it wouldn’t matter.  That’s also why I didn’t bother ironing it, if you must know.  I don’t generally parade about in wrinkled clothes!  ;p

IMG_0004

IMG_0003

In chronological order, some food photos!

IMG_0001

This is overnight oat bran / oatmeal (hi, Emma!)… I combined 1/4 cup each oat bran and old-fashioned oats with Splenda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and 1 1/2 cups of water, hoping that the increased liquid would prevent it from congealing too badly!  It still didn’t look very appealing, so I gave it a good stirring…

IMG_0002

that’s more like it.

IMG_0010

Musselman’s Lite Cinnamon applesauce… I thought it would be hard to beat the mixed berry, but I do love cinnamon (uh, duh?) … and this didn’t disappoint!

And finally, a special little treat for all of you!

banana with peanut butter and chocolate syrup

banana with peanut butter and chocolate syrup

While I’m posting pictures anyway, I was playing around with my camera settings today and realized I love love love the digital macro setting.  Primarily because of how close you can get to your subject!  So, pardon the extreme vanity of these photos, but I guess I present my newly-shorn eyebrows.  ;)

IMG_0006

IMG_0007

IMG_0008

IMG_0009

Now for some boring textual posting… I had a pretty busy day on the phone.  (Have I ever mentioned that I hate talking on the phone? … Well, I am now: I hate talking on the phone!)  First I called my insurance company to find out how many outpatient mental health visits I have… according to the person with whom I spoke, whose name I didn’t get because I am an idiot, I have another ten coming to me… and after that, if it’s billed as a biologically based condition, I have an unlimited amount.  Which would be enormously helpful, but I’m wondering why I never heard of this before!

Then I called the urologist’s office to find out if I could have an earlier appointment.  Yes, I am taking off work to go to a doctor’s appointment.  Whee, fun!  I did get the earlier appointment in the end, but I’m already exhausted, because we’re all leaving the house tomorrow between 4.30 and 5.00 AM (and my mom is driving me crazy that I should “dress appropriately” — I am 24 years old, I think I can determine for myself what is appropriate for what occasion!), and at that point it will just be silly to go back to sleep when I get home… though I suppose I should be grateful that I don’t have to work after that!!  (Speaking of work, I heard the greatest news ever today — Mr. J’s wife is going out of town for a couple of weeks in July.  Meaning he has to stay home to “babysit.”  For two weeks!!!)

Next phone call was to the oral surgeon to find out when I can stop eating like an old toothless person.  The girl asked me how I feel, and I said that I feel just fine but I don’t want to find out the hard way that I’ve done something stupid!  She told me I can eat whatever I want to, I should just chew on the other side.  Really.  (I took a flashlight and examined what’s going on there… can I just say, EW?!  Bordering on TMI, but — it’s not completely sewn up, because I guess he only stitched the part where he had to cut it out since it was impacted.  Otherwise there’s a hole.  Gross.)

Finally, I had to call my doctor’s office.  Well, he isn’t my doctor “officially,” since according to my insurance company he is a pediatrician, which isn’t actually true, but whatever.  Last summer I got weighed in his office when my nutritionist was away for the summer, and since I refuse to do IOP, I have to do that again.  We decided on Monday evenings, since that’s what we did last year… and I realize this is totally irrational, but now I usually see my nutritionist on Wednesdays, and it’s making me acutely uncomfortable that I’m going to be weighed on a different day of the week… which is closer to the weekend so I might not weigh as much, which would make me end up heavier in the long run.  See, I can recognize that this is illogical and crazy and stupid and all that, but apparently I still think it.

After I got home I went on a Supermarket Spree of sorts… primarily because the first one didn’t have what I was looking for.  Neither did the second.  Or the third!!  (The second one, though, had Puffins on sale.  I know I said I’m not buying any more cereal until I make a dent inwhat I already have, but it was so inexpensive!  Apparently because the “best by” date was in February.  In case you’re wondering, no, I did not buy it.  ;p)

This is neither here nor there, but I guess inspired by my … ennui.  It’s like I get into this downtrodden mood and it can take days for me to snap out of it, and it’s not fun for me or anyone else.  Like my “best friend” told me — “Nobody likes to be around someone who is depressed!”  Sometimes I wish I could be a cheerful, chipper, happy-go-lucky person all the time, but I need to accept that that isn’t who I am, and there are people who will dislike me for it.  It would just help a lot if I weren’t one of those people, too.

Have a happy Thursday — the weekend is in sight!

6 responses to “Wednesday’s Wisdom

  1. Wow, that shirt is really cute… very bohemian (?), and p.s I really love your curly hair!

    I’ve NEVER been a phone person… I don’t know why, but I just feel like I don’t have that much to say. I’d love to be able to know how to talk to someone on the phone for hours, but I just never have…

    That banana looks amazing! You know what I’ve done in the past? Spread it with the peanut butter and chocolate and then stick it in the freezer! O my! So good once the chocolate has hardened up and the banana is nice and cool. It works really well with that turtle shell chocolate stuff!

    It’s hard to get out of our mental thought processes, but stay strong and do what you are doing now (ignoring them and pushing them away)… eventually when we are all healthy and not having to worry so much about making our bodies healthy again, hopefully we won’t be so concerned and overwhelmed with ED ideas and thoughts!

    Have a great night!
    Keri

  2. I’m not a phone person either, I hate talking on the phone. It shows, because I end up saying the stupidest things! I’m glad you got the insurance sorted out though, that must be a relief :)
    I would’ve been freaked out by the gap between nutritionist and doctor if I’d been in that position when I started recovering too, but I don’t think it would bother me now. After gaining a bit the illogical ED thoughts become a lot less powerful and it’s easier to see that they are just products of the illness.
    Your eyebrows look great! I never thought I’d say that to someone…

  3. that peanut butter banana combo with the choc sauce looks major yummm worthy!
    Oh and you have the most gorgeous colored eyes!

  4. Thanks for the shout out. :) I’m glad you enjoyed them!

    The eyebrows look great… I should probably go take care of mine….

    I know ED says some pretty irrational things, but just stay strong – I know you can beat it!

  5. You have absolutely gorgeous eyes! They are my favorite part of people’s bodies and I think their best features.

  6. That banana snack looks AMAZING and your eyes are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

