Sun??

Don’t be too shocked, now, but this morning dawned all wet and rainy and gross… yet again. Of course, this called for some oatmeal…

Lemon blueberry oatmeal, to be exact. I seem to come up with somewhat odd combinations.

Fridays are always i-n-t-e-r-m-i-n-a-b-l-e in terms of the workday… it just seems to go on and on and on forever!! But when I finally left today, I was greeted by this strange, unfamiliar yellow thing in a sky that was an unrecognizable color:

You have to understand that for all intents and purposes, I work in a cave. There are no windows in my office. So I really had no idea that the sun had decided to come out… it was actually quite hot, but I wasn’t about to complain about that! I’d rather squint because I forgot my sunglasses than need the umbrella I had with me. I don’t think we’re done with the rain yet for today, though… grrrrr!

Now this is more “season appropriate”!

Puffed kamut, Fiber One, vanilla yogurt, and blackberries… but as I started to mix it up I realized that I had forgotten a most essential ingredient…

CINNAMON!! The nerve of me.

I wanted to try putting up a video post, so this is just a completely random video of the exciting goings-on in my kitchen… I was actually expecting the smoke alarm to go off, because it nearly always does when I do this, but it didn’t. Sorry it’s sideways; I’m an idiot and can’t figure out how to rotate it. Next time I will just hold the camera horizontally!

As for this restaurant business… we were going to go on Sunday, but apparently my brother has another engagement, so it’s been pushed off to Monday. It’s silly of me to stress out over this now, I know… but of course, I am sort of doing that anyway!! I am going to be the one to choose the restaurant, as always. I suppose the logic behind this is that they want me to choose a place where I am going to eat, so I can understand that. But really… why can’t someone else choose it if I reserve the right to veto power??

In any case, I am probably going to go with the same restaurant I chose the last couple of times… it’s a health food restaurant, so there are things on the menu with which I am theoretically comfortable. However, life does not exist in theory! And while I was going through the menu (which I ought to know by heart by now, though I guess I have a somewhat … selective memory), I got to wondering why it is that I have such an aversion to ordering “finger food” … or even having it at home. That’s partly why I don’t really like sandwiches / wraps; for some reason, I much prefer eating with a knife and fork. Is this incredibly odd??

Ending posts is always weird… I feel like I just cut off in the middle of nowhere. It’s the literary equivalent of a vehicular short stop. Very eloquent. (NOT.) Anyway, there are magazines and books waiting for me this weekend, and dork that I am, I am very much looking forward to it! Hope you all have a great weekend…

3 responses to “Sun??

  1. Just let them choose the restaurant, and promise them you'll eat whatever. You've got to start challenging yourself with different foods, too, or you'll be stuck like this forever. Take this opportunity to amaze them.
    I just came back from a meal in a restaurant which I didn't even know until the last minute, and it went fine.
    You'll be fine, too, and this will just be yet another hurdle you would have brokem through.
    good luck on Monday! Enjoy it as much as you can!

  2. Learning To Relove :)

    You should try to really challenge yourself and let them pick the restaurant….it might be good for you and will remind you that you WILL be in those situations more often and with very different people. Just do your best to relax and take it for what it is…a nice night out with the family!
    p.s so glad the weather turned around for you! Hopefully it turns out to be a perfect weekend with the sun shining!

  3. Rose 'n' Coffee

    I agree with the comments above, it would be a great challenge to allow them to pick the restaurant and think how great you'll feel afterwards and how happy your family will feel too. I know how hard and scary it can be, I've always hated eating out and it took me a long time to feel comfortable with it. I really hope this helps.

    Love Rose.

Leave a Reply

