Memorial Day

Before I start blathering and forget to mention this: If you are using WordPress, I can’t comment on your blog!! I noticed this on Stef’s, Sophia’s, and Debbie’s blogs. Heaven only knows how many others I thought I commented on and they just didn’t show up! I’m not trying to ignore anyone, but WordPress just hates me.

I believe I got a grand total of one and a half hours of sleep last night. I could have cried, I wanted to sleep so badly… but taking double the maximum recommended dose of Excedrin Migraine, plus two bottles of diet Snapple iced tea in a couple of hours, apparently just adds up to WAY too much caffeine. Around 4.00 AM I finally took a Benadryl in the hopes that it would knock me out. Which it did. An hour later. The worst part of this is that it will really hit me tomorrow; sleep deprivation seems to affect me with twenty-four-hour time lag. Ugh. I don’t want to go back to work. :(

I may be sort of approaching a resolution to the Great Cottage Cheese Quandary! While I still don’t think I’d say I like cottage cheese, this was definitely more bearable than eating it straight-up. First off, I had my nifty little gadget.

It was actually a bit annoying to use: check out the “notice” in #3! Crazy.

Anyway, I “pureed” the cottage cheese with lemon juice (which I think was totally unnecessary!), cinnamon and Splenda. The pureeing got rid of that vomity texture; and the Splenda got rid of some of the acridity, I guess it is! It’s odd, because I generally love salt. But I digress. I spread it on whole wheat toast, and topped it with some of the raspberries I bought yesterday. And even more Splenda, because it just needed to be sweeter!!

I guess in lieu of the retail therapy which I did not have yesterday, I and my residual migraine (RAWWWR!) bought a skirt today…


I paid eight dollars for this… how awesome is that?! And it’s stretch denim, which I like so much more. Seriously, I don’t know how many jean skirts I need, but DEFINITELY not as many as I have!! Oh, well.

After that purchase, I went to Target… the haul:

I’d like to state for the record that the Mega Bloks truck in the back is NOT MINE. :p It’s a birthday present for one of my nephews. (The almonds aren’t for me, either… those are for my dad. Cholesterol-lowering properties.) And since Kashi was on sale, I think I went a little nuts. Here’s the thing, though… most of the Kashi cereals scare the crap out of me, because they’re higher-calorie than the cereals I would normally eat. But logic actually managed to pervade for once in my life, and I realized that if I can manage to eat half a cup of granola and not cause the world to implode, then it certainly won’t cause the end of civilization if I have the same caloric amount in a cup of cereal. Considering that fears are irrational things in general, this doesn’t completely settle me, but I guess it’s better than nothing.

On this general topic, I’ve sort of managed to ignore the fact that it is coming, but I think it’s time for me to face reality. Shavuos is coming, and it is coming SOON. Like, on Thursday night. I’m not so bothered by the cheesecake aspect of things, because I don’t like cheesecake — I never did. Because my mom is still feeling sort of out of it, none of my siblings are coming over, so I don’t have to be anxious about that part either. I think I’m just so pre-programmed to panic at the approach of a holiday that it happens semi-automatically. Actually, I DO have a specific “grievance.” Because it’s summertime (well, almost!) and sunset is later, we don’t get around to eating at night until well after 9.00. Eating late terrifies me. It doesn’t matter how many times people try to explain that it doesn’t matter WHEN you eat, really… it still scares me to death and I don’t know why, and every single Friday night in summer I have a mini heart attack because of it. This is one thing that is just not going to go away, and I need to learn to live / deal with it… but how can I do that when the people around me, who know how I feel about it, just tell me that I should “get over it” and learn that “life is not always going to work out the way you’d like” and other such platitudes? I know that. It doesn’t help me feel any better!

I did go to my sister’s house (because she has a full-size dairy oven, and we don’t) to bake a blueberry swirl cheesecake for Shavuos. Supposedly, blueberries help lower cholesterol, so my dad is big on them. (My fault, as I’m the one who told him that!) So I made blueberry pie filling from scratch, since I had some frozen blueberries to use up before they totally solidified into one huge chunk, and swirled it into the cheesecake batter. It actually turned out sort of pretty! I can’t wait to cut into it and see what the inside looks like. If it’s not marbleized, I will be very aggrieved. :p

Have I mentioned that I REALLY don’t want to go back to work tomorrow?! (Rhetorical question.) I’ve been neglectful of noting my feelings, so I will say now that I feel apprehensive about heading back to work. I don’t really know why, except for the possibility that I am going to be falling on my face with exhaustion. And as much as I am a bitch in general, I can get really cranky and snappish when I’m sleep-deprived. Oh, dear.

15 responses to “Memorial Day

  1. itsawrapteacher

    Cute skirt and I’m jealous of your Kashi loot. Yummers!

  2. The Kashi loot looks great!

    I hope Shavout treats you well, and that work isn’t to bad.

    Love,
    Emma

  3. Hey hey darlin…I have absolutely ZERO time to read through your whole post right now, but for some reason your comments keep going to my spam box…I get them outta there every time though, so no worries ;)

  4. moretolifethanlettuce

    So I found out where your comments disappeared to!! They were in the spam folder in wordpress! Strange! I approved all of them, so now they show up! It’s weird that it always happens to you!

    WOW that blueberry cheesecake is gorgeous! Eating late stresses me out so badly too, but I know you can handle it! I’m sorry about your migraine, but at least you got some good shopping done! Nice find!

  5. thenoviceberker

    The same goes for me. I always fish them out of my spam comment box on WordPress. I’m not sure how you might fix that issue though! :(

    I could use a mini food processor. :D

  6. dont lie, you know you LOVE to play with toy trucks :p

    I love kashi mighty bites, that is one of my fave cereals of all time.

    THe cottage cheese idea is genius! I will have to try that out for sure!

  7. am right there with you on the sleep (or lack of). Hope your migraine is better today…

    we all know the truck is for you, it’s okay. No judgement here :P The cottage cheese looks great (and yes, lots of sweetener needed!) It’s also good with pumpkin!

    I hear you on the Shabbas/summer/eating late thing. Stressful, but it’s NOT a big deal- am betting you stay up later those nights too? It all evens out and really makes no difference!

  8. Wow, that cheesecake looks wonderful. I really hope your migraine is better today, getting 90 minutes sleep is rubbish! Poor you. I hope your first day back at work goes ok too.

  9. hey girl!
    that cheesecake looks amazing!!

    and LOVE your grocery haul!!

    dont worry about eating late– (remember what i told you about my fear of eating early? haha)– it’s all in our heads– you got this!!!!!

    xoxox

  10. Pingback: White Friday « Blue Eyed Heart

  11. Pingback: Happy December and Giveaway Winner « Blue Eyed Heart

  12. Pingback: Randomness « Blue Eyed Heart

  13. Pingback: Peanuts « Blue Eyed Heart

  14. Pingback: Peanut Butter Prownies |

  15. Pingback: Finishing Crusade |

Leave a Reply

