Hello from Barbados!

Apparently, I have some sort of Internet addiction! I asked before I came here if there was WiFi available, and I was told there was… as it turns out, there isn’t. But they did give me a cable so I have a connection… which is good, because there is nothing on TV here. (I actually never watch TV anyway, but still.)

Anyway, it is hot here. And I am loving it!! I seem to have sustained a sunburn already, despite wearing sunscreen. Whoops.

Now for the nuts and bolts of why I came down here!

Aren’t they beautiful?! (I am probably just crazy for finding oxygen tanks that weigh far too much to be toting around “beautiful,” but hey, it’s been far too long!) I did two shore dives today, and I can’t wait to get those pictures back. (Though inevitably, photos taken underwater never live up to my expectations because there’s no light down there and everything just looks blue, which makes people look at me very strangely when I try to explain that the underwater world is actually alive with color!!) Tomorrow I’m supposed to do two boat dives, and after that, I hopefully get my C-card — which is a long time coming!!

Today I did something that I have never done before … I wore a bikini. In public. (No, I’ve never worn a bikini in public before; I’ve never worn one at all! This is the only one I’ve ever owned, and I bought it a few years ago but never actually wore it.) The world didn’t implode.

There was this disgusting slug-like thing in my shower today — at first I didn’t realize what it was and I touched it, which really grossed me out!! I’m not a squeamish shriek-at-the-sight-of-a-bug type, but that was just really disgusting. Guess that’s what I get for opting not to pay for a five-star. ;p

Oh, and obviously, my luggage made it here. I wound up consolidating it into one — no need to worry about it being overweight, thanks to this nifty little device.

Hope everyone’s week started off well!

7 responses to “Hello from Barbados!

  1. Oooh that’s so cool! I had no idea you were into diving!

    Yayyyy for bikinis 😉 You hot thang you!

  2. Diving?!?! That’s so awesome! Yay for vaca!

    And woot woot for the bikini 😀 Enjoy your night!

  3. Barbados…

    Enjoy yourself there. How neat!

    And I applaud you wearing that bikini out.. its great to be able to accept our bodies enough to flaunt ’em, isnt it?

    Loveyababe.

    -E

    (P.S. Sorry I’ve been so absent from the blogging world)

  4. BARBADOS!!! I totally didn’t realize your trip was SO SOON! That is beyond awesome! So gorgeous, take lots and lots of pics to share with us! Scuba diving? NICE! I didn’t know that was a hobby of yours, fun! I’m so proud of you for wearing a bikini, that’s great! Ew bugs in the shower…I would’ve squealed too

  5. wooo Barbados! Enjoy! (despite internet/TV/slugs!) Take lots of pictures and have a great time!

  6. I’m so glad you and your luggage got there all in one piece! I hope you have a good time 🙂

  7. Enjoy Barbados! I have already wanted to go there. Have a wonderful time. Good for you wearing the bikini.

Leave a Reply

