Packin’ it in!

This is just so typical of me… it’s finally getting to be a bit warmer outside, and I decide to try a new hot cereal for breakfast! In a nod to the season, I did top it with some fresh blueberries. 😉

I actually quite liked it! Of course I forgot to add the salt that the box calls for in the preparation (I tend to follow directions the first time I use a new product!), so I just dumped in some Splenda instead. But I can see that this would work equally well sweet or savory, unlike oatmeal or oat bran, which I can’t imagine as anything but sweet! The texture was kind of like a less “gritty” oat bran, if that makes any sense at all!

In other food-related news, I tried one of the Keribars today. It was a strawberry chocolate chip bar, since that box was on the top of the pile, and we all know how I suck at making decisions!

My opinion? … It wasn’t what I was expecting at all, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s just that hearing “strawberry chocolate chip,” for some reason, conjures up images of something decadently chocolate-coated, a la a chocolate-covered strawberry! This wasn’t that. But there were identifiable pieces of strawberries in it:

The texture reminds me of something else, but I can’t quite place my finger on it. It’s a little bit like a Larabar, only chewier / stickier… but there is some crunch in it from the flax seeds. And since I am so terrible at explaining this, if you really want to know, you’ll just have to go out there and try it for yourself. 😉

And, feast your eyes. (Ignore the suitcases in the background, I’ll get to that in a minute!)

Remember my insane fear of things with words such as “cookie” in their names? … Well, while foraging through what I’ve come to call my larder, which is actually a bedroom in my basement, I realized that the expiration date on these is May 31. I don’t think it will kill me if I eat it after that, but considering that I have a plethora of boxes in a variety of flavors (what was I thinking?! … clearly, I wasn’t at all), I figured I ought to get a move on it.

Yes, I was actually on the phone with my nutritionist at the time, and no, I’m not any less afraid of it than I was. But. I did eat it. On a Friday. Which is pretty major, to me, because even though I’m thrilled to death that the workweek is finally over, I always seem to struggle going into the weekend — I don’t know if it’s a change from routine, or what, because the weekend itself is part of a routine, so that doesn’t make any sense.

A-N-Y-W-A-Y! Moving on to more important things in life!! … I am totally earning myself a vacation here, because Mr. J was driving me absolutely batty today!! So, re: those suitcases (which are crazy colors because I like being able to identify my luggage on the baggage carousel, instead of scrabbling over all the black ones like a madwoman with everyone else)… I hate packing, as I’ve said! And I love vacations, but preparing for them is extremely stressful and I am always too busy freaking out the night before I leave to really focus very much! Hence, I have to do the bulk of my packing now. I actually have one suitcase all packed up and ready to go, and with the exception of a towel, there is nothing in there but food. Which makes me cringe. Wouldn’t it be “funny” if the airline lost that suitcase?!

Oh, and for all of you who think that my insurance sucks… I fully agree, but it’s not as though I’m on some sort of subsidized insurance plan. Not that that would be an excuse for it to be crappy, but still. I pay through the nose for this private, supposedly “good” insurance company, and this is what I get. Adding a dental write-in is not an option on my plan, apparently. And I can’t get dental insurance through my job until the winter, but I wanted to have the extraction in June. So I guess I’m just going to be out a couple of thousand dollars. Honestly, the way I spend money, I should certainly feel like a rich person, don’t you think?! But, as Henry Ford said…

“Money is like an arm or leg: use it or lose it.”

Have a great weekend!

9 responses to “Packin’ it in!

  1. Haha – I also do the whole suitcases-in-crazy-colors thing…hey, it works!

  2. Well… you showed us the ‘cookie bars’. How were they? 🙂

    I don’t have crazy colored suitcases… just crazy tags!

    Love,
    Emma

  3. lilveggiepatch

    I did the same thing with a hot breakfast this morning!

    Thanks for the bar reviews… those Keribars (weird flavors and all) look so yummy!

  4. Ooh, nana’s cookies…they do some really good gluten free stuff 🙂 well done for that, especially on a Friday!
    What sort of crazy colours are your suitcases?! I think you need to put some photos up :p good luck packing!

  5. cookie bar review please! I LOVE Keribars- I was surprised how natural they tasted (strawberry choc chip = sounded kind of…like it could taste fake/chemically). The apple PB one is really good too!

    Hope your weekend is going smoothly… not long till vacaaaaaaaaation!

  6. I’m so proud of you for trying those cookie bars, despite your fear of “cookie” anything! That whole wheat cereal sounds interesting…I eat hot things when it’s hot too!

  7. gosh, I do hope they don’t lose your suitcase! let’s not think of the negative, shall we? touch wood!
    have a great weekend!

  8. Have a great weekend girl, have fun on your vaca!

  9. A strawberry chocolate chip bar sounds interesting, but it’s too bad it didn’t live up to your expectations. Oh well! Good job facing the “cookie”-ish fear foods. 🙂

Leave a Reply

