Work ‘n More…

After reading Ellie’s post a couple of days ago, I came across this quote:

“You can change who you are without rejecting who you were.”
~psychiatrist Dr. Gordon Livingston

I just thought it was very appropriate and opportune, so I wanted to share it. Having had an ED does not have to define you for the rest of your life. Yes, it is undeniably always going to be a part of your past, but that doesn’t mean it needs to be a part of your future.

Moving along from that extremely uncharacteristic little sidebar, today I came in to work to no less than seven emails from Mr. J. Each one was more inane than the one before it. Now, I suppose that as far as bosses go, J isn’t too bad. But he still has the ability to make me want to pull every hair out of my head with a tweezers. My therapist actually has this theory that he comprises every negative characteristic of all the people I know, which means I get to focus a lot of my frustration on him. Which makes some sense, I guess, but the guy is simply extremely annoying!!

The most mind-boggling email was this one:

Please remind me where you are on this fine Monday afternoon.

As I am sarcastic by nature, it took every ounce of self-control I possess not to fire back a scathing email in which I excoriate him his stupidity — I’ve been leaving early on Mondays to go to class every week for the past year! Now he wakes up?! I mean, I know he can’t keep track of his own life and needs me to do it for him (um… you have a wife, do I really need to know about your doctor’s appointments? It’s not like I’m your secretary), but seriously. I sent back a very succint message telling him that I go to class on Mondays. To which I received the following response:

Have we discussed this?

Um. Yes. Like, before I registered last fall!! I told him that we had. And he replied: Okay, great! Why didn’t I say that we had also discussed my cutting my hours in half but keeping the same pay?! Geez.

Since I’m already ranting about work, I may as well just squash it all in here… due to my own paranoia this may not make much sense! But let’s say there are three “levels” at my office, A, B, and C. A is at the bottom of the totem pole, and that’s where I started off. Then someone got fired, and someone else dropped off the face of the earth (read: wound up in the loony bin… no, I am not kidding; this place makes you crazy, if you weren’t nuts to begin with), and I was promoted to B by default. Then one of our C people accepted a position elsewhere, and because of the economy the company is not really eager to hire new people, so I got promoted to C by default as well. Technically I’m more of a B-and-three-quarters, because I don’t have my masters yet, but whatever. It’s just a formality that means I get paid less. Anyway. This is a problem because my boss has been expecting me to do the same things I did when I was at level B plus everything at level C, which is actually sort of impossible. I am actually quite proud of myself because I finally said something about it today… I asked him exactly what was in my job description, because it seems like I’m being asked to do things which are no longer supposed to be my responsiblity. He was all, I see your point, we can pass a lot of that on to [co-worker]… and then he decided that that would be inconvenient for HIM, because she’s part-time so she wouldn’t be there at his every beck and call. Well. Okay. If you want me to do the work of two people, I want the pay of two people! I don’t think this is an unreasonable demand… though the last time something like that happened (after those people were fired / admitted to the psych ward) and I said that, he gave me chocolates instead. Which were enjoyed immensely by my brother and parents, I have to say.

Okay, work-related rant over for the time being!!

I got my eyebrows threaded yesterday… it seems to hurt more every time I do it!! But at least they look semi-decent now, which is always nice. :p

I made it through all of ten minutes in the pool today before the Bobbing Ladies showed up. Now they’re Floating Ladies too, which means they’re apt to knock into anyone and everyone since they can’t see where they’re going. Oh, and I don’t really have a swimsuit, because the one performance suit I finally bought was starting to wear thin and I only bought it a few months ago, so I complained to the company, and supposedly they are facilitating an exchange. In the interim, I have to wear other suits. But as it turns out, swimsuits are often made to look pretty, not for swimming! Like the one I wore tonight, which I initially bought because I thought something along the lines of Ooooh, shiny!!

(Nope, it doesn’t photograph well.) I can’t wait until the replacement suit arrives… and if it doesn’t fit, I officially give up and am just going to go into an actual store. Gasp!!

Oh, so I finally told the (rejected!) dive shop that I wouldn’t be using them, and I just told them the truth about why… he said he understood, how sweet. :p

I am feeling exhausted (total shocker there), and also impatient because I wish all of my grades would get in!! I will catch up with everyone’s blogs, but that will probably be tomorrow, because hey, a girl needs her beauty sleep. πŸ˜‰

5 responses to “Work ‘n More…

  1. Cool suit! SHINY DISCO BALLS lol. If you’re in need of a DURABLE high quality suit to swim laps in, you’ve got to buy polyester suits! This is the kind I wear: http://lane4swim.stores.yahoo.net/fempolsplast.html I bought two of these suits my junior year of high school and wore them twice daily for 3 years and they’re still not stretched out at all! Awesome. Thanks so much for the site with the jewelry rack btw!

  2. Love that quote!

  3. Mermaid bathing suit- hollah!!!!! sorry, couldn’t resist! Glad you cleared things up with the diving shop- told you it would be NO BIG DEAL!

    Sucks about work- if you are doing the work of 2 people you should get paid for the two positions you are filling! πŸ˜› Glad you were able to communicate with him despite his beyond stupid emails…seriously, it’s been an entire school year and he has JUST noticed?.. Lol.

    Thanks for the shout-out- agree 100% and love the quote. The past is the past- might shape the future in some aspects but doesn’t need to become the future.

  4. Wow, I obviously feel ya on the mildly retarded boss. I can see how that can get incredibly frustrating dealing with someone like that.

    And the suit– love it! I was distracted by it's shiny-ness for a bit πŸ˜›

    Have a great day ❀

  5. what an irritating boss. I feel for you. Though it was nice to get a box of chocolates.
    ooh! shiny cool suit! I can see you “blinding” everyone at the pool in it!

Leave a Reply

