Registration and Woes

Ever since we got back, I haven’t felt quite “right.” It’s hard to put a finger on it — I can’t seem to decide whether I feel dizzy or nauseated or just plain tired or jet-lagged, but it’s really getting annoying. I’m not someone who gets sick. Like, ever. (Knock on wood…) If I do, I prefer to have it be of the “you have X, take Y medication for five days and you’re all cured” variety of illness. But this is the polar opposite of that, especially since I’m not sick. I just feel… off. Kind of like a residual migraine. Thankfully, I don’t get migraines nearly as often as I used to, but every time I do get one I spend a couple of weeks in terror of the next one!

Thinking that it is lack of sleep which is making me feel so crappy should inspire me to get to bed at a decent hour, but Thursday night (12:01 AM Friday, actually) was registration for the fall semester, and I was afraid that if I didn’t do it at 12:01 exactly, I’d get shut out of my choice classes. (I would think I’m being paranoid, but someone told me she logged on at 12:17 last registration and the class she wanted was already full!!) So I battled my way through writing up my assignment for Monday, which I think is pretty awful, but I was so exhausted that I could barely see straight so I couldn’t muster the energy to care too much just then. I ended up going to bed at 11:00 and setting my alarm for 11:45… and I did get into the classes I needed, so that worked out, at least!

Friday was an interminably long day because of how exhausted I was… everything seems to drag out forever when I’m sleep-deprived like that. And I couldn’t even go to sleep as soon as I came home, because I had to cook a kabocha squash. To make a long story short, my brother, for some reason, wants to turn orange, but apparently he isn’t eating enough carrots for that to happen. My nutritionist told me that when she was younger she used to eat a kabocha squash every day and she did turn orange, so I told my brother about it, and as he’s never tasted it before, he asked me to buy one. So.

Then I had to contend with this bar mitzvah kiddush today… infuriating on so many levels. First of all, maybe I’m a bit overly sensitive about this subject, but around here I think women are perceived as baby-making machines who can, if they so choose, do something fairly typical like teaching or being a secretary, but only until they begin to procreate. As I am — gasp! — not married, it is often (erroneously!!) assumed that I am doing one of the two. This ignorant woman asked me if I was teaching… if you knew me, which she seems to think she does, you would understand why this is such a ridiculous question altogether. I told her I wasn’t, and she asked what I do, so I told her where I work. To which she replied, “Oh, you’re a secretary?” Um. NO. Why is it so inconceivable that maybe, just maybe, a female has a brain or a desire to use one?! This same woman also told me that she heard that my brother is in medical school. She is a little confused, since it is me who is in school, and he hasn’t taken the MCAT yet. But I guess I’m just supposed to be sitting at a desk answering phones, so the very notion of my being in school is just too difficult for her to grasp.

On another front, the kiddush was located in, to put it euphemistically, very tight quarters. I was trying to get through a narrow aisle between two tables, and there were chairs on both sides of me, back-to-back. Two of my nieces were sitting in these chairs, and a third niece (the one whom I find madly triggering) was in another chair next to them. I said something, I don’t remember what exactly, asking them to scoot in a little so I could get through, and the third niece said — I am quoting verbatim here, not reading into the statement at all — “You’re too fat.” Maybe that’s her idea of a joke, and I’m sorry if I’m being oversensitive here, but I don’t find that at all funny!! If she was a little kid, I’d be more easily able to brush it aside, maybe. But she isn’t a kid — she’s eighteen!! And she has her own crazy hang-ups. I met my sister in the supermarket tonight, where they had come because this niece couldn’t eat since they didn’t have the “right” kind of pasta sauce… you’d think that someone who clearly has issues of her own would be just a little more sensitive to such things, but I guess I’m being stupid and presumptuous to think that way. I have what most people would consider an off-brand sense of humor too. I know that. That’s why, even though my sense of humor is one of the few things about myself I actually like, I will rein it in if I don’t know someone well enough to use it. Apparently tact is not in my genes, though.

Funny how I can’t stop thinking about this stupid comment, but if it were a compliment, it would have flown out of my head before it even had time to get in.

3 responses to “Registration and Woes

  1. lilveggiepatch

    Oi, I got so irritated just reading your post, so you must be losing your mind! That woman is infuriating! The fact that she’s a woman herself makes me even angrier. Anywho, hope you feel better soon… if it’s jet lag/time zon related, melatonin can help get your body clock back on track… ask your doc!

  2. I can’t believe she said that to you. Try to forget about it, I know that’s hard but try to shut out the negative feelings that the comment is bringing you. I hope you feel better soon!
    Much Love,
    Lex

  3. I can’t believe she said that to you. Try to forget about it, I know that’s hard but try to shut out the negative feelings that the comment is bringing you. I hope you feel better soon!
    Much Love,
    Lex

Leave a Reply

