I’m leaving on a jet plane…

Once upon a time, I signed up for dictionary.com’s Word of the Day. This was in the hopes that I’d actually get to expand my vocabulary, but as it turns out, most of the time the words are so commonplace that I already know what they mean. Once in a while, though, I get a word I don’t know but that is so opportune it’s almost painfully funny. Like today:

Word of the Day for Monday, March 16, 2009
cormorant \KOR-mur-unt; -muh-rant\, noun:
2. A gluttonous, greedy, or rapacious person.


Talk about irony.

My flight is leaving in a few hours. I went to Whole Foods this morning and stocked up on a bunch of bars which I am taking with me, though I still can’t quite figure out why. I’m good at Step A — buy food — but not so great at Step B — eat said food! However. I guess I can just look at this as a kind of “backup,” a semi-safe option of sorts. I am actually pretty pissed off… it’s been a few years since I was in Israel, and a few years before that since I was in Israel and able to enjoy it on a “culinary level.” But since I am such a crazy person who has this pressing need to complicate everything and make everyone’s lives miserable (paraphrasing what I’ve been told, here), I guess I won’t be doing that this time either. Sucks.

I still don’t know whether the hotel has free WiFi, or a gym / pool… it’s dumb for me to stress over it, since it is what it is regardless of whether I worry about it, but I wish I knew!!

As “tempting” as it is to take schoolwork along with me, I refuse to do it. I will have a week to work on it when I get back… there is absolutely no reason to drag it halfway across the world with me. (My powers of self-persuasion aren’t that fabulous, but hey, I’m trying here.)

I really should keep this in mind …

A vacation is what you take when you can no longer take what you’ve been taking.
~Earl Wilson

Why can’t I look at this as a new beginning, instead of a horrible end? … oh yes. The last time I went somewhere with my parents, it didn’t turn out too well. But that was then. This is now.
2 responses to “I’m leaving on a jet plane…

  1. I didn’t realise you were going so soon (and yes, I know you are American but I refuse to Americanise my spelling on that account 😛 )

    HAVE FUN. Forget school, work, etc. It”s just a short trip (in the grand scheme of things). Spending it worrying about how much oil is on your grilled chicken or the size/shape of your apples is just…blah. Dull. Enjoy as much as you can- despite the uncertainty, disruption to usual routine, unfamiliar foods, etc. Go with the flow, don’t overcompensate with food and lose weight (you know as well as I do that it takes a surprisingly large amount of food to make any significant weight gain). Just have fun. Or else. 😛

    (and stay away from airplane food- bars aren’t ideal, but I’d pick them over cooked/frozen/”reheated and held at moderate temperature for 9 hours” fish any day.

  2. Oooo, I'm also signed up to the word of the day from dictionary.com! I was also surprised at how many of the 'hard' words I kept on receiving. Yesterday they got me good. Are you still signed up? tergiversation… I feel no shame by admitting I've never heard that word. Google Chrome underlined it and says it's not a word!! It's words like these that remind why I haven't unsubscribed. You might just see some of those ridiculous words on my blog someday.

Leave a Reply

