Jamaica, C25K, & Other Random Stuff

Wow, it’s been a while.  I guess I just haven’t been motivated to blog.  There’s only so much whining even I can do… and, believe it or not, it does happen upon occasion that not everything sucks.  But I’m paranoid about actually saying so, since it seems that every time I acknowledge a good thing, it gets snatched away from me.

Brief recap of what’s been going on in my oh-so-exciting life: I went to Jamaica, got certified as an Advanced Open Water diver, finished C25K.  In a nutshell.

This is the view with which I had to contend on the vacation which served to get me away from my cousin-crammed house:

I could live with that every day, no problem.  On my last morning there, I woke up early to get photos of the sunrise.  I was cranky at first, because it wasn’t cooperating, but after I hung around for an hour (sure, I’ll lounge around on the beach for an hour, difficult as that may be), it did pay off.

It was beautiful.  And I might have been slightly less cranky if A) I weren’t about to leave for home, and B) I weren’t so tired!  Diving all day, every day, for three days in a row is strangely exhausting.

Not to mention mentally draining, because for the first time ever, I had massive problems equalizing my ears.  I guess the cold and congestion with which my mom gifted me last month hadn’t gone away completely… but thank goodness, even though it took longer than usual, I did eventually get down there.  Being able to clear my ears was especially important, because I needed a deep dive for my certification (I actually wound up doing two), and if I couldn’t clear my ears at twenty feet… yeah, that’s a problem.


100+ feet, ears still intact.  Phew.  That was close.

I ran home.

Ha, ha, ha.  I actually thought it was highly amusing, but that’s just me.  (Speed = 501 MPH, in case you can’t figure out what you’re seeing there.)  Actually, the fact that I even had a Garmin with me was exciting enough, because it means I was able to run on my vacation!  And get lost.  And encounter goats.  And wonder what possessed me to think I like running in the heat… though I think it’s the abrupt temperature changes that get to me, not the heat itself.

I finished C25K, and my race calendar is filling up.  I am determined to not do too much, too soon — it’s going to take me three months to get from where I am now to running 20 miles a week.  But I forfeited it this year, and I am not letting my own stupidity get between me and the Jerusalem Marathon in 2013.

That was the first time since before my fractures that I ran over four miles.  Those are raindrops, but they may as well have been tears of joy — I am that thrilled.

I’m also terrified that I’m going to fall apart at any given moment without provocation, but that’s another story for another day.

Oh, and I bought a crock pot.  Finally.  I’ve been wanting one for years.


I made oatmeal in it.

Actually, I made oatmeal it in several times, but this is just the only one that actually looks at all appealing — I can’t seem to get the ratio of liquid measurements : cooking time down.

I also finally bit the bullet and switched the pedals on my bike.


I’m terrified that I am going to fall over and break a leg.  See above: fear of falling apart without provocation.

Aaaaand I feel like shutting up now.

Leave a Reply

