The Whole Enchilada

Hurricanes are boring.

Tropical storms are even more boring.  Particularly when the entire city shuts down because a certain mayor might be a little paranoid after the way he handled (or, um, didn’t handle) the massive snowstorms this past winter.

Knowing I wouldn’t be able to do much this morning, I didn’t bother going to bed early.  I had a banana that was so overripe, it was practically black… but I didn’t want to make a loaf of banana bread or an entire batch of muffins.  Nothing better to do during a hurricane than bake, right?

I have no idea what to call this… it’s not exactly a muffin!  It was really dense, but I like it that way.

It included a (very large!) mashed banana, 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, 2 T soy flour, 2 t brown sugar, 1/3 T chia seeds gelled in <1/4 cup water, cinnamon, and banana extract.  Shoved in the oven and hoped it wouldn’t be disastrous!  And it wasn’t.

However, I stayed in bed much later than I normally would have — not much reason to get up when there’s wind and driving rain lashing against the house, is there?  I did put out a bucket for a leak in the ceiling around 4.00 AM, but that doesn’t count as “getting up.”  As a result, I didn’t eat this until around 10.00 … which is when the rain finally let up.  I had a small window of time before the crazy winds were due to arrive, so I decided to use it to get in my weekend long run.

Just in case the splits don’t give it away, this was tough!  There is a reason why I like to run first thing in the morning: I can’t stomach food beforehand.  And even though my mom told me I’d be the only crazy person in the park, that wasn’t the case at all — people came out with their children and their cameras to photograph all the fallen trees.  Funny choice for a Sunday morning outing with the kids, but hey, whatever floats your boat… (Oh, yes, there was a lot of floating potential.  Let’s just say my new running shoes no longer look so new and shiny!)

After dragging my aching self to several stores in an attempt to buy a full newspaper, I brilliantly opened one to read that the section I was after (the one with the crossword, which is obviously the most important one!) had apparently been included with yesterday’s paper.  Drat.

Came home, dug out this freebie left over from the tri:

I hated plain coconut water, but I love this stuff.  Too bad it’s so expensive!

Right now, it’s just windy.  I’m not in a low-lying area, so I didn’t have to evacuate… and even though I did see some uprooted trees and downed power lines during my run, my priority did not lie with photographing them.  Near my house, for the most part, there’s just a lot of this:

But my office is located in an evacuation zone.  And there likely isn’t going to be any mass transit running tomorrow… so I might get the day off.  That would be awesome.  Especially because my knee is not going to be happy if I have to bike there…

Oh, the post title… “the whole enchilada” is not generally a phrase I use!!  But it’s fitting here.  I finished off the package of sourdough wraps

Sourdough wrap with mustard with horseradish, “steamed” kale, shredded carrots, and falafel; sugar snap peas on the side.  I intended to add some cucumber to the wrap too, but I completely forgot about it until I stumbled across them in the refrigerator the next day.  Oops.

But that has nothing to do with enchiladas.  However, this does.

This idea just popped into my head because I have that “ground beef” in the refrigerator, and I also have a reluctance to freeze things for fear of never seeing them again.  So I cut the last wrap in half (just so it would fit in the dish) and rolled it up with some of the “beef” inside, topped it with pasta sauce and nutritional yeast, and baked it for about twenty minutes.  And I absolutely loved it.

However, I exhibited admirable self control and did not buy more of the sourdough wraps today.  Considering I still have the rye wraps, and all.

I’ve been intending to clean my room for weeks… but I just never seem to get around to it.  Maybe I’ll finally do that if I don’t have to go to work tomorrow.  Because its state is getting to be a bit frightful.  Just like my hair… I really need a haircut!!

And this has absolutely nothing to do with anything else, but I arrived very late to the party and finally read Sarah’s Key last week.  I fully admit that I only got it because I thought my mom would be interested in it, but when a book is around, I need to read it.  And it gets two thumbs up from me.

Have a great Monday!

“A rainy day is the perfect time for a walk in the woods.” 
~Rachel Carson

7 responses to “The Whole Enchilada

  1. The phrase “the whole enchilada” makes me laugh :P I don’t know why. Immaturity? Seems likely. I hope you get the day off work!

  2. ahaha…i think you’ve invaded my brain or vice versa…our days are freakishly similar. Except you were way more productive than I, what with that run and all ;)
    Stayed up late so I would sleep later? Yep. Stayed up until 4am…woke up at 9:30 and lounged in bed ’til 10. Check.
    Still waiting for the brunt of the storm here…but the town I work is getting seriously slammed. It’s scary, since it’s so close and we haven’t even gotten to the worst of it yet. I’m shocked to still have power, but I know that will be changing shortly when the wind picks up. Like it is as I type ;)
    Should have cleaned my room…and also desperately need a haircut.
    Oh, and the falafel is in the oven for dinner. Lol.

    Anyways…I’m glad you made it through the storm pretty well, it looks like! I kept thinking about you when I heard about the evacuations. Glad you didn’t need to go anywhere :) And to say you ran in Hurricane Irene is pretty epic, you know :P

  3. I’m glad to hear that you’re okay! I’m so far removed from Irene, but watching all the coverage that it’s been getting on TV has made me worry about everyone over on the East coast. I really hope that it’s over soon and that it doesn’t leave too much devastation in its wake.

    You’ve convinced me that I really need to pick up Sarah’s Key. I’ve been seeing it absolutely everywhere lately, and I told myself that I wouldn’t buy more books until after I move, but that’s not likely to happen anymore… the world’s just been sending me too many signs that it needs to be mine.

  4. chocolate zico = uber-nom! it tastes like chocolate soy-milk.
    and happy irene was less destructive than expected. hooray :)

  5. I’m glad that you find hurricanes boring. If hurricanes are exciting then something bad has happened! Your banana bakey thingy looks rather delicious actually. Mind if I add some jam?

    xxx

  6. hey it’s katherine again! re-vamped my blog title / name to http://www.cuckoforcoconuts.blogspot.com.

    but i wanted to let you know i got your comment even though it got lost in the translation of switching blog URLs! thank you you are too sweet ! xo

  7. I’ve been dying to read then watch Sarah Keys (always book first). Did you enjoy it?

    PS if you want access to my blog I can add you on the list..I just made it private for now… to personal for me to put all over the internet these days, you know?
    xx

Leave a Reply

