Greenery

As I see it, there’s really only one thing to do when someone eats my cereal… and that is to open another box!  (And, naturally, subsequently hide said box.)

I.  Loved.  This.  Probably not the “healthiest” choice, but you know what… I don’t care.  They’re so cute, too — each piece looks like a tiny cinnamon roll.


This is pretty similar to chocolate Cheerios, but it doesn’t have such a deep chocolate flavor.  It sounds odd to say, then, that it’s also a lot less sweet, but that’s the way it is.  I liked it, but I’m not sure whether I liked it more than the chocolate Cheerios.

Sort of related to the topic of chocolate… look at this, and tell me it isn’t a little frightening.

I mean, I knew it would be green, but still!  Given how much I disliked hemp milk, it seems odd for me to purchase something like this… but I reasoned that since I quite liked hemp milk ice cream, maybe it wasn’t such a crazy thing to do.  And if I’m going to try it, may as well buy it while it’s on sale.

(Jess, I blame you.)

Oh, right, I was talking about chocolate.  Yeah, this also smelled pretty green, and it was rather frightening, so I decided to “disguise” it a bit … I used it much as I would my soy powder, combining it with special dark cocoa powder, chocolate PB2, baking powder, applesauce, and an egg white, and making a protein cake.

It had a more gritty texture than soy powder, and it also apparently doesn’t require quite as much liquid.  There was still a faint “green” taste, but I think it’s something you just have to get used to… it’s not, I am going to vomit if I don’t get this out of my mouth right now, more like, hmmm… this is kind of… weird.

Anyway, that was that.  More exciting endeavors included finally getting my average bike cadence out of the 70s.

Of course, this might have happened a long time ago if I wouldn’t include my ride to and from the park in the same workout, because having to ride in traffic slows me down a lot.  But whatever.  My co-worker is trying to convince me that the easiest way to up my cadence is to switch to clip-in pedals… but I just don’t know that I want to do that right now!

Last night, I went to the pool to find that it was closed for cleaning.  That kind of sucked, because I really do need to practice, and I can’t go to the swim workout tonight since I have PT.  (Whoop.)  I was considering going swimming this morning instead, but then I decided that would be too much of a pain, because I’d have to shower there, which means I’d have to carry around a bunch of extra crap with me… and I’d have to figure out what to do with my wet swimsuit and towel at work.  Not worth the hassle.  I went for a quick ride instead.

There goes the cadence again… but my average speed was above 13 MPH.  Guess beggars can’t be choosers…

I really do need to go swimming, though.

I came home to a beautiful bowl of strawberry chocolate overnight oats (which, unusual for me, actually were overnight oats):

Unsweetened soy yogurt, oats, Truvia, and strawberry extract… with chopped strawberries and chocolate syrup.  I used to be a total Quaker girl, and then I once found myself in Trader Joe’s and in need of oats, but Trader Joe’s does not sell Quaker oats.  And now I’m glad — because the oats I did buy (I forget the brand and am too lazy to go check) are awesome.  Maybe I’m crazy, but I feel like they make chewier overnight oats.  Yeah, the tub is half gone and I don’t think I’ve actually cooked any of it.

After a very long, very boring day at work (I seriously hate it when I have too much time to think — it’s depressing), I came home and made a pumpernickel pizza.


The problem with such things is that the edges get crispy, but the bottom (the part covered with sauce / vegetables) doesn’t.  It makes it rather difficult and messy to eat!!

…And now I think I will go and do some damage on Amazon.  Because I totally didn’t get a frightfully massive credit card bill yesterday, or anything.

Happy Thursday.

“You can tell more about a person by what he says about others than you can by what others say about him.”
~Leo Aikman

5 responses to “Greenery

  1. Ohhh that cinnamon bun cereal reminds me of one I used to love as a kid that I completely forgot about. Kelogg’s Cinnamon Mini Buns I think they were called? Haha it’s probably the same thing with a different name, but I loved them, and I’d be soooo happy if they were back :D

    The hemp protein I’m not too crazy about though. I tried it before, and the texture and greeny-ness just drove me insane. Out of all of them, I’d have to say that I love whey the most. Goes with everything and blends really nice.

  2. hehe; sorry for your most recent purchase :P except…looks like it didn’t turn out so bad, right?! the major selling point of hemp for me was the price, too. i’m cheap. yep.
    i’m glad you were able to replace your cereal – i can almost taste the cinnamon. maybe because it’s just about time for a bowl of cereal with cinnamon…
    (as for doing damage on amazon? i feel like i’ve been out. of. control. buying things lately. gotta put a lock down on my debit card or something :X get somethin’ good!!)

  3. Hemp protein is really iffy: it depends on the brand as to whether it’s overwhelmingly ‘grassy’ or not, at least for me. Nutiva’s hemp shakes are my favourite (not the plain Hemp Protein: that’s rather icky!) along with Vega Smoothie Infusions.

    Every time you say ‘Jess’ I get really confused thinking its me…then I remember there are more famous Jesses out there ;)

    xxx

  4. Aw, your cereal IS cute! Even I would try those. I used to love real cinnamon rolls. I should try to make a dairy free one sometime. I was a proper wuss about hemp protein – I tried it, hated it, it was expensive (not widely available in the UK, I suppose), so I never bothered trying other brands. I eat eggs and nuts like they are going out of fashion anyway so I’m sure that covers me for protein ;)

    I am an amazon fiend :/ I hope you didn’t do too much damage to your credit card!

  5. Cinnamon roll cereal sounds amazing!

    UGH….I buy 2 books a week from Amazon (no lie). It’s bad….

Leave a Reply

