Finishing Crusade

I finally got to see my dentist today.  Since my toothache went away along with my cold, I guess it really was the TMJ.  Which kind of sucks, because, well, I don’t want to have to deal with that!  I get to have a mouth guard.  Sex-ay.  Actually, the only reason I’m willing to deal with that is because I’m terrified of inheriting my mom’s dental genes.  I like my teeth just fine in my head, thank you very much.

Yesterday I mentioned some kitchen failures.  Since I have no shame, I will show you what I meant.

Not that you would know from looking at it, but that was meant to be a batch of bagels.  I’ve made bagels before — using this recipe — and they turned out fine.  I guess I just played around a little too much this time, because the dough was way too sticky for me to deal with it; and this was after it rose, so I wasn’t about to add more flour!  I felt bad tossing it all, so I just stuck the hunk in the oven, which was in use anyway, and waited to see what would happen.

It’s edible, at least.  It tastes a little weird — faintly bagel-y, but not really — but I would be surprised if it didn’t.  Next time, I am going to stick to the recipe!

The reason why the oven was already in use?  Well, I decided to speed along the “finish the coconut milk kefir before it expires” campaign by making banana oatmeal muffins.

They look fine, right?… Yeah, I thought so, too.  Until I tried to remove them from the pan.  Apparently, I was a bit overzealous in my eagerness to finish the kefir, and I added too much liquid.  This spent forever in the oven, and I still had to pry the somewhat wet muffins out of there.  I put them back in the oven for a while on a cookie sheet.  They still looked rather damp, but it was getting a bit ridiculous, so that was all the oven time they were going to see.

But they tasted amazing!  Ugly, yes; but that belies the flavor.  I’m not going to share the recipe, because I obviously have to get the measurements down, but seriously… I loved these.  (As ugly as that muffin is, the ones I left in the refrigerator at home are really ugly, since these lovely guests plopped a bunch of takeout containers right on top of them.  They were fragile in the first place; now they’re just squashed.  And in case you were wondering, the hair dryer has not yet been returned to me.)

Unfortunately, I can’t try this again right away … because, ignoring the fact that I still have some, I am, yet again, banana-less.  Actually, that’s not entirely true, since I made it my business to pick up a couple on my way home.  (It wasn’t on my way home, but it became on my way home.)  Because tonight is the night I was supposed to see my nutritionist + go to the supermarket, but all of this stupid snow is proving quite the hassle.  Apparently, if my dad takes the car to drive six blocks, finding parking is not a problem; but if my mom or I have an appointment that is not within walking distance, we need to cancel it because we won’t be able to find a space when we get back.  Men and their laziness really annoy me, you know that??

So I’m guessing that means I probably won’t be able to go swimming tomorrow.  Hmph.  That’s not as big a deal, I guess, as missing my appointment, because even though I hate to admit it, I think I really do need that accountability.  I have no idea what’s going on lately that’s screwing up my mind so much, and if I devote too much mental space to trying to figure it out, I am really going to go crazy.  So I’m just playing dumb and hoping it goes away soon, before anything drastic happens.  Especially since considering the snow situation, it might be weeks before I actually get to see her again.

At least I’ve been getting some pancake loving, though.

I did not do that on purpose.  My pancakes sometimes take on very strange shapes.

Speaking of pancakes, I’ve been using my mini food chopper to whip up the batter for these (mainly whey protein powder, egg whites, and mashed banana), but lately it hasn’t been cooperating. I think it’s nearing its end — I’ve had it for nearly two years, and it only cost about ten bucks, so I really can’t complain. I picked up a new one at Target the other day, but then I came home and read the reviews of it on Amazon, and at least 90% of them were negative, so I am going to return it. I think I’m going to just pay a little bit more and get this Cuisinart… as soon as the next random Bed, Bath & Beyond coupon shows up in my mailbox!

I’ve been making quite a bit of progress in my crusade against the expiring grains.  In fact, I (sadly) did not have enough barley to soak overnight in the last of my soy yogurt.

So I mixed in some buckwheat, too. It was nice to have a variety of textures!

On a sort of related note, does anyone know where I can get millet?? (Not just any millet — I want the Eden Organic millet, and I can’t find it anywhere; nor can I remember where I bought my last package.)

Four pitas down, two to go:

Topped with pasta sauce, red onion, baby peppers, baby bellas, and Daiya.  It is an eternal mystery how I can like Daiya when I absolutely abhor cheese.

There are some things that I seldom eat, even though I love them.  And then when I do eat them, I think, Why don’t I eat this more often?  Edamame in the pod is one of those things.

Sprinkled with freshly ground Himalayan pink salt crystals.  I love popping these out of the pod; it’s like the grown-up version of playing with your food!  My brother insists that you’re supposed to actually eat the pod.  Um… it has fuzz on it, so no thank you.

I hate to be the bearer of shocking news, but guess what?  We’re expecting more of this.

My feet can’t take it.  Seriously; I love my wellies, and all, but they’re only okay for a day or two.  After wearing them for weeks on end, I have blisters on the backs of my heels.  Like, legitimate need-to-apply-ointment-and-bandages blisters.  Not.  Fun.  I’m wondering what sort of boots I’m supposed to wear tomorrow…

And I’m also wondering why I’m so insensible that I am not taking advantage of this unexpected, albeit unwelcome, time at home to get some schoolwork done.

Question: Do you eat the edamame pod??

Happy Tuesday.

“Admit your errors before someone else exaggerates them.” 
~Andrew V. Mason

7 responses to “Finishing Crusade

  1. Mouth guards aren’t bad :P I still wear my retainer to bed every single night even though my orthodontist has told me just to wear it every 3rd night. I just can’t give the damn thing up! (Yes, I’m weird but I’m sure that’s why you love me.)

    I have to say those muffins look really good BECAUSE of the ugliness. I find ugly food to be a lot more appetising to me. I hate restaurants where you get something in front of you that looks all artsy fartsy. I don’t wanna eat that! I wanna eat something with character! I totally winged a batch of lemon muffins today and they are sooo good.

    I’ve never even tried edamame, to be honest! I know, I know but it’s not very well known here. If I went up to someone here and even asked for agave syrup they would probably think I was speaking another language or pass out from confusion (it happens). We are too far away from the happy-haps. We don’t even have chocolate PB here :(

    OOh I like that quote!! *steals it and runs away*

    xxx

  2. wait for it….wait for it…confession: i’ve never actually had edamame.
    I know, practically unheard of, right? I just never see it around here!
    I love the muffins, I am definitely a believer of the ugly food being the best food – though those are all cute and sprinkled with oats on top so I don’t think they’re all that bad looking!

  3. A certain man I know and love wears a mouth guard (which I affectionately refer to as “sexy mouth”… he hates it).

    I want to see your accent vlog! Can I have the password, if that’s okay?

  4. I used a mouth guard for a while, I didn’t think I’d be able to sleep with it in, but really it was fine. During a particularly stressed period last year, though, I actually bit through the damn thing, and haven’t replaced it yet. They do help, though, I hope you get some relief!

  5. I have never eaten edamame either! I know, it’s a shocking revellation :P I’m like the anti-blogger. Anyway, I’m glad your teeth have stopped hurting. I am jealous of your daiya, I really wish they would import the stuff over here. Also, I have lots of bananas, so shall I…I don’t know, teleport you a couple?! Blogger swaps would be so much easier if that were possible!
    x

  6. Aw man I can’t stand the snow. Its turned cold again here and I have the dread feeling the snow might return D:

    I heard a tip that if you spray your tootsies with anti perspirant before putting on new shoes/boots then it helps to stop blisters! No idea if it works but its worth a try!

    Hope that snow melts away soon!

  7. Pingback: F1 |

Leave a Reply

