BRRRRRR!!

At 2.30 AM, I woke up and randomly decided to check the weather.

Seriously??  I’ve had enough of this.

In my haste to get to sleep last night, I forgot to include the frozen review in my post.

That might be related to the fact that it doesn’t really need a review, per se; it’s basically raspberry coconut water sorbet on a stick!  Except that the bars had apparently melted and re-frozen, so the stick was pretty useless, and the texture was somewhat icy instead of creamy.  I thought that it would be an easy way to get the wonderful flavor of the sorbet without the hassle of washing out a scoop and bowls, but I guess not.  ;)

I also didn’t include this, because the post was just getting way too long:

My love affair with tofu is still going strong. I dry-fried cubed tofu, then tossed it with a quarter cup of Whole Foods’ chunky salsa and let it chill in the refrigerator for a couple of hours.  Alongside, to help make some progress on my inexplicable pasta stock, we have baby bellas and shredded carrots sautéed in a bit of peanut oil, garlic powder, and onion powder. At the very end, I added some baby spinach and the cooked shells, and stirred it over a very low flame until the spinach was just wilted. All of this, of course, was later covered with a healthy sprinkle of garlic salt.

About those shredded carrots… now that I have them, I can make some sense of this paper.

It seems to be in my handwriting.  (Well, duh — who else would list water as a replacement for oil?!)  But I have no idea what this is, and I am too lazy to grate my own carrots, because I don’t want to wash out the food processor… so I never got around to making this, which is probably the only way I’ll figure it out.

And, yes, even though I hate washing it, I did use my food processor yesterday, didn’t I?…

That turned into this:

Sprouted quinoa bread. I made it the same way as the sprouted wheat berry bread, but this is nowhere near as good.  For one thing, I think I soaked the quinoa for too long, so it’s a bit bitter.  Nothing some sugar-free raspberry jam can’t fix, though.

For another thing, the batter never really formed a dough that I could knead; I just had to pour it into the pans to bake.  It didn’t rise much after that, either.  It tastes okay, I guess, but I’m not rushing to repeat this one.

The security guard, by the way, was not at the desk when I arrived this morning.  I finally decided to speak up about it, because this is getting ridiculous.  Apparently, I opened a can of worms… aren’t workplace politics so much fun?

New bar:

Raw Revolution Lemon Dew

It was… interesting.  Sometimes lemon-flavored things are too tangy, even though I like lemon.  This wasn’t, but it had a pretty “green” taste.

And also … salad rut, anyone?

romaine, roasted cauliflower, roasted tofu, sugar snap peas

I like it, and all, but I feel myself getting stuck here.  Help?!

Speaking of getting stuck, what about this?…

You’re probably thinking, You’ve shown such a photo dozens of times!  Well, yes, except that you would be wrong.  That yellow stuff sprinkled on top is not nooch — it’s Parma!

I had been looking fruitlessly for a kosher, non-dairy parmesan cheese substitute, and I was so excited to find this online.  I contacted Shannon from Eat in the Raw and asked for a sample, before I drove myself nuts trying to find it here.  I totally did not expect a full-sized bottle!  Thank you, Shannon!  It was fantastic.  I couldn’t really say whether it actually resembles real parmesan cheese, since I don’t think I’ve ever had it… ;)  But it suits my purposes just fine.

And, of course, I had to celebrate National Peanut Butter Day.

Now I must venture out into this…

…because I have a whole bunch of things to do tonight.  None of which, unfortunately, include sleeping.  :(

Happy Tuesday.

“I hope you have not been leading a double life, pretending to be wicked and being really good all the time. That would be hypocrisy.”
~Oscar Wilde

6 responses to “BRRRRRR!!

  1. I cannot imagine what it would be like for it to be THAT cold…sheesh!

    I LOVE when bread and muffins don’t rise because they become so dense and delicious. Mmmm. Jam fixes everything. Muffins not sweet enough? Jam. Oats too bland? Jam. You are stuck in a room with a guitar and there’s nothing to do? Jam. See! It works :P

    Don’t get too chilly!!

    xxx

  2. Uhh, I WISH it was 10* here! It didn’t even make it to 5 during the DAY today. Grumble-whine-moan-grumble. Ugh. I choose to look on the bright side, though: a high of 20 tomorrow will be like beach weather. I’ll be out in shorts and a t-shirt!
    …or not.
    Anyways. Enough grumbling. Your pasta dish looks delicious, and the tofu has me really jealous :( I didn’t buy any this week, as tempeh was BOGO. I had to go the economical route ;)
    Bummer about the quinoa bread :( It’s true, though – anything can be saved with a bit of jam!

  3. I’m with the other Katy, non-rising baked goods rock. My favourite bread recipe is sweet potato and spring onion, and it’s pretty much a savoury cake rather than real bread! I must make it again actually, it’s really addictive. Yum.

    Your pasta looks lovely. I really like tofu too, but the company that makes the main brand in the UK changed it six months ago and now it’s a lot softer and more annoying to drain. Grrrrrr.

    I hope you got some sleep!
    x

  4. Your pasta is restaurant quality. The photo should be on the cover of a fancy-schmancy food magazine. The presentation is so delicate and refined…please cook for me! My meals look like splodges on a plate unfortunately.

    I am also in awe of your bread-making skills as I adore sprouted grain products but they are ludicrously expensive, at least in the UK. I also agree with Katie that the main brand of Tofu in the UK is now vile: there’s no such thing as ‘extra firm’ tofu any more it seems, only gelatinous mush.

    I will pray for sleep for you!

    Wrap up warm.

    xxx

  5. Pingback: My Face Hurts |

  6. Pingback: I’m Through. |

Leave a Reply

