National Spaghetti Day

Apparently, today was National Spaghetti Day.  I must be psychic, because I did not know that last night, when I started to prepare dinner for tonight.  And, okay, the recipe called for linguine, but I didn’t have any, so spaghetti it was.  Especially since I am trying to stop having quite so much food around, because it’s really getting on my nerves, I was not about to buy a box of linguine when I have a perfectly good box of spaghetti!

Ahem.  Where was I? … Oh, yes.  Apricot “chicken” with sugar snap peas.

Followed by a somewhat anemic-looking dipping plate.

Backing up to this morning, the English muffins are no more… I made a less painful version of the French toast by substituting cherries for the satsuma.

Because of the aforementioned “stop having so much extra food around” project, I am not buying more English muffins… at least not until I finish the two that are in the freezer.

My wrist is absolutely killing me; couple that with my inexplicably painful foot, and I was extremely glad to be going to the acupuncture clinic this morning so that I could be fixed!  Except that when I showed up, nobody was there.  Thank goodness I have my acupuncturist’s cell phone number!!  Apparently, he is now going to be there on Thursdays instead of Tuesdays, which he neglected to tell me since I missed my last appointments due to A) my vacation and B) the snow day.  Ah, well… at least I stopped off in Whole Foods on the way so that it wasn’t a totally wasted trip.

And by the way?  When I got back to work after this whole venture, close to 10.00 AM, my co-worker was just arriving.  I would love to know how he manages to get away with that, I really would.

That isn’t the co-worker whom I actually like, by the way.  He and I were getting a huge kick out of the word “ghoti” today.  I have no life, so I actually went through the hassle of figuring out that I have a ghoti pteighknch.  Constructing words like that is not as easy as you would think!!

Recycled photo.

I’m actually wondering why on earth I am awake right now.  I went to the pool to enjoy a lovely swim, came back to do some cooking, and then I should have gone to sleep… but I didn’t.  Partly because our basement resident (one of them has already left) came in, and we got to chatting.  He’s a photographer, among many other things, and he has a crapload of lenses here.  Lucky for him, he uses a Nikon, so I can’t steal any.  Hmph.

Okay, I’m going to bed.  You, however, can go watch this video, and if it doesn’t make you want to stick a fork in your head within twenty four hours, you are a special breed of person.

Happy Hump Day.

“For some, pleasure is a fever they can’t shake.  For others, it’s a disease they cannot seem to catch.” 
~Terri Guillemets

5 responses to “National Spaghetti Day

  1. ah weird, i was totally thinking about having spaghetti tomorrow haha.

    happy hump day to YOU lady

  2. I love that word Ghoti!!! How did you learn that one?! :P

    xxx

  3. The mystery is solved! Thank you for letting us in on it :P I hate not being able to work out puzzles!

  4. That’s so bizarre – I had spaghetti last night, too! haha. And I should add that’s a less frequent occasion because I prefer short, chunky pasta shapes to long skinny ones. But also denied myself buying another bag because then I would NEVER use up the spaghetti ;)
    Happy Wednesday! I hope your wrist feels better soon!

  5. Pingback: Forgettable |

Leave a Reply

