Peanut Butter Prownies

It is a well-documented fact that I really hate packing.  Which, coincidentally, is what I was planning to do on Thursday night, but bringing my bags into my room and piling my scuba gear on top of them was about as far as I got.  Oh, and I started charging batteries.  I’m telling you, it must have been so much simpler to travel before all these gadgets were around!!  (Then again, not everyone takes four cameras along when they go on vacation…)

I want to clear all my memory cards before I go, so pardon the extreme glut of photos in this post.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I am just not going to capture an aesthetically pleasing photo of those prownies I mentioned the other day.  If someone else wants to make them and get a good picture, thanks in advance.  ;)

Peanut Butter Prownies (basically another version of April’s protein cake)
1/2 scoop (15g) chocolate soy protein powder
2 T (15g) peanut flour
1 T unsweetened cocoa powder
2 packets Truvia
1/4 t baking powder
1 egg white
1/4 cup applesauce

Combine all the dry ingredients and mix with a fork until no clumps remain.  Add the egg white and applesauce, and stir until smooth.  (If it’s too thick and chunky, you can add a bit of water, but too much will just make the final product tough.)  Dump into a greased bowl and microwave for one and a half to two minutes.

They’re fudgy!  Um, the “prownies” stands for “protein brownies,” obviously.  But while we’re on the topic of peanut butter and chocolate, can I just say that this …

…which I’d been wanting to try forever?  Yeah, I finally found it.  And it cost three dollars.  Now, while it was good, for that price I’d expect it to completely bowl me over, and it didn’t do that.  So I’m going to try and replicate this, somehow…

And moving on to yet more chocolate!

That’s a bowl of chocolate pudding with steel cut oats, and some more pudding on top.  Like so:

I would have liked to have warm it up again — the pudding turned the oats cold — but I don’t have a dairy microwave.  Boo.

However, my (non-dairy) microwave saw some action.  Observe this vegetable lasagna which caught my eye in the supermarket freezer recently:

Two servings?  Really?

frozen

My, now doesn’t that look oh-so-appealing…

post-microwave

Chilling out… looks a little more appetizing.

plated

Surprisingly — maybe because of the inauspicious beginnings! — this was pretty good.  Albeit not as vegetable-heavy as I’d like, and a tad salty.  I don’t mind salt, but since I’m the type of person who likes to add salt to everything, I don’t want products to come with such a hefty dose of sodium!  (Case in point: I started to toss the vegetables with garlic salt, then changed my mind and switched to Mrs. Dash midway through.)

This was prettier in my mind than in real life, but since I photographed it, you shall have to suffer.

romaine, chickpeas, mini Tam Tams, baby peppers

It’s no secret that I love miniature anything, so when I saw that Tam Tams are now available in a mini version, I had to try it, even though I don’t recall ever being overly fond of the regular crackers!

I actually like them.  They make lovely croutons.  ;)

For some reason (maybe because I woke up before 4.00 AM today… waaah!), I decided to add some cashews to the batter for my protein pancakes, and apparently, my mini food chopper did not like this idea. I wanted to get cashew meal. Instead, I got little chunks, and a whining motor that refused to mix anything. So I wound up mixing by hand.

Vanilla whey powder, Truvia, baking powder, cinnamon, banana, egg white, and cashews.

I’m actually glad there were those pieces of cashew in there (which I’m sure you can’t really see, unless you look really closely).  They added a nice little crunch.

Not so nice: my handbag is now defunct.  I guess that’s a bit melodramatic!  I like it when my bag has both a shoulder strap and a crossbody strap, because it’s nice to have your hands free sometimes.  Well.  The crossbody strap broke beyond repair this morning.  Great timing, huh?!  I had to buy another one, which isn’t ideally what I’d purchase, given my extreme pickiness when it comes to bags… but I suppose I’m lucky that I got something even close to suitable.

And then on my way home, it took me far too long to buy these in Whole Foods.

This explains why, I’m sure:

I did not buy Brussels sprouts.  These don’t even remotely resemble Brussels sprouts.  Maybe I’m just nuts.

Oh, this was pretty “nutty,” in the way that things are described as tasting “nutty” when they don’t really taste like nuts at all!

Wheatena (shout out to Katie!) with blackberries and raspberries.  Despite its vile color, it was quite lovely.  Perfect for this time of year, when temperatures above the freezing mark are considered a heat wave.

On that note, anybody want to go for a little skate?

Can’t say I’m going to miss this.  Well, I could, but I’d be lying.  I’m hopefully going to have the opportunity to cozy up to my camera manual and this book, and I can’t wait.

But first I have to get through a mountain of magazines.  And, randomly, I’m annoyed that my grades haven’t come in yet.  Now, if you will excuse me, I have me some candles to light.

Have a great weekend.

“If some people didn’t tell you, you’d never know they’d been away on a vacation.” 
~Kin Hubbard
(which is why I’m not sure why I’m bothering to say that I am, indeed, hoping to have Internet access!)

11 responses to “Peanut Butter Prownies

  1. prownies and chocolate. excellent post my friend. excellent :)

    thanks so much for the help, btw.

    and man, cashews in the pancake??!?! eeps! sounds good! :D

  2. Oh what a great variation of the protein cake! Does it taste peanut-y?

    And I love adding nuts to protein pancakes- when I work the evening shift on the way home from work I have my bedtime snack which is a protein pancake stuffed with almonds!

  3. oh that looks sooo good! ive never made pb + brownie… why?! haha

    havea fantastic saturday!

  4. I’m annoyed that my grades aren’t out yet…all except one, which was worse than I expected. Boo.

    The wheatena…looks interesting. But most ugly food taste delicious, so I see no reason why it wouldn’t. ;-)

  5. I hope you have an amazing time on vacation!

  6. i make those protein cakes all the time! good idea to put protein flour in it! yum!

  7. Pingback: Banana Burglar |

  8. Pingback: Felled by Citrus |

  9. Pingback: Why the USPS Sucks: Take 9,518. |

  10. Pingback: Acupuncture = Awesome |

  11. Pingback: Pink Pancakes |

Leave a Reply

