Chocolate Camps

When it comes to chocolate, there are two types of people: those who like dark chocolate, and those who like milk chocolate.  In my house, we are evenly divided.  My mom and my brother like milk chocolate.  My dad and I like dark chocolate.  Or so my dad claims; he’s never had really dark chocolate.  So I set about educating him on the matter.  (He turned down my offer to spend an exorbitant amount of money on raw 100% cacao nibs.  Probably because I warned him that they’re incredibly, incredibly bitter.)

Anyway, last week I gave him a bar of 72% chocolate. Not terribly dark, but it was the best I could do, because all the others I’ve found with a reliable kosher symbol are also marked dairy.  (Yes, I know.  Ironic.)  He enthused that “this is real chocolate!”  But I kept searching… and then, this morning, I found this in Whole Foods.

I knew it wouldn’t become a regular purchase, regardless of how awesome it might turn out to be, because I’m really not interested in getting into the habit of spending that kind of money on chocolate.

Anyway, I am not a chocoholic by any means, but for some reason, chocolate screams FORBIDDEN!! at me, I guess because it’s generally viewed as a culinary “luxury.”  But… I did want to know how it tasted!!  So I tried a small piece.

Oh, my gosh.  I am in love.  (And for the record: I ate a bigger piece than that.  I don’t photograph everything that goes into my mouth.)

And this is next.  ;)  (I think 99% is meant to be used for baking, not eating straight out of the package.  But if I don’t tell that to my dad, he won’t know.  ;))

Are a “dark chocolate” person or a “milk chocolate” person?

Random interlude for a colorless salad…

romaine, roasted rutabaga, tempeh, mushrooms

I bought a box of mushrooms before Rosh Hashana, but never wound up using them for their intended purpose.  Since they weren’t in the greatest shape to begin with, I had to use them up right away.  Good thing I believe that there’s no such thing as too many mushrooms!  A) Why am I telling you this?  You don’t care.  B)  Since when am I turned off raw mushrooms?

Then I threw a temper tantrum this afternoon.

Okay, I didn’t really.  But I wanted to.  Because who wants to sit in class and stare out the window at this??

Trees!  Sunshine!  Why am I stuck inside?!  And I am telling you, I am allergic to that building.  It doesn’t matter what I do before, during, or after classes, I always end the day with a pounding headache.  I was, therefore, not in the most chipper of moods when I got home tonight.  But packages always make things better, and there were three of them waiting for me!  Including one from the very talented Jessica; which contained, in part, these fantastic paintings.

Aren’t they amazing?!  :D  Thank you, Jessica!

I was actually going to verbally vomit, but I think my brain has been replaced by a sack of overcooked noodles, so forming coherent sentences is a bit beyond me at the moment.  (Especially since “Today was a ‘fat’ day” does not, in my view, qualify as a coherent sentence.)  Tomorrow is another day… and the pool is still closed, I believe, so I will have spare time.  Yay.  Not.  Oh, and my nutritionist had a baby!  :)

Because it’s been a while… I bought these in Antigua.  That’s what I do, apparently — buy earrings everywhere I go.

Most of the time, though, they’re made in China.  ;)

Have a happy Tuesday.

“Confidence comes not from always being right but from not fearing to be wrong.” 
~Peter T. McIntyre

7 responses to “Chocolate Camps

  1. I think I’m a middle-of-the-roader on this issue, my favorite chocolate is about 67%. I’ll eat darker, but that’s my ideal. I buy the Endangered Species brand bars a lot, they have several really good 72% ones, and you can get as dark as 88%, although that one is a bit much for me. http://www.chocolatebar.com/ Not sure if they’re kosher, though…

  2. I am a dark chocolate fan all the way! Which is funny because as a kid I used to hate it…its just so much more rich, and even better for you! :D Sorry you have to be stuck in class, I start next Monday! Have you had Theo bars? Or Dagoba? Those are good, I dont know if you can have them, but if you can you should try! :)
    Maddi

  3. i love 55%-75% cocoa the best. im right in the middle between a dark chocolate and milk chocolate lover. i think its a mood thing too tho huh, sometimes u need dark with a nice tea..and sometimes u feel like mellowing out with a creamier and sweeter kind. fav dark chocolate would be cocoa camino dark mint and my fav “milk” is the Terra Nostra rice milk chocolate bar <3 <3

    hope ur week is as lovely as your chocolate XOXO

  4. My ED like the 70% or whatever cause it has less carbs, but the real eden like milk chocolate. My dad is belgian, so we’re both chocolate snobs. This one brand, Cote d’Or is AMAZING! some shops carry it so keep a lookout. My mom loved the caldbury fruit and nut. Normally I hate raisins but this bar is soooo good! its got raisins, almonds, and hazelnuts, and somehow that combo works.

  5. Dark, the darker the better. I wish I could find 100% chocolate in a bar form that wasn’t so hard that it threatens to chip your teeth, because I love the taste but not the texture. Have you tried that Bakers extra dark stuff that comes in squares and Heather Eats Almond Butter always features? I’ve been lusting after that for quite some time. Raw chocolate is my favourite though: the Vega Macasure stuff is to die for (but so is the price tag!)

    So happy that my parcel arrived…you didn’t have to post the pics and I’m so flattered that you did :) Thanks for the mention!

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

  6. Dark chocolate, definitely! I do occasionally get dairy free milk chocolate but 72% plain chocolate is my favourite. I think it’s a bit of an acquired taste, I never used to like it when I was a kid, but I love the stuff now. Those earrings are beautiful :) you have such good taste in earrings!

  7. Pingback: Allergies |

Leave a Reply

