Birthday Lunch!

Thank you so much for all the birthday wishes!  Because I’m a very, very lucky person (sarcastic), I get to do it all over again in two weeks.  Hooray!  Actually, my family celebrates Hebrew birthdays, so I’m probably pretty much covered on that end.  I have one brother who seriously forgets everything… but he always remembers my birthday.  My mom was shocked to hear that — I wasn’t, because, well, he never forgets!  Which is strange, but nice.  See, I’m not that difficult to please… it’s as simple as knowing that someone was thinking of me.  ;)

Remember the shirt I got last year for $1.99, thanks to a combination of a sale and a coupon? … It happened again!  I ended up with this (I liked the purple one, but not the butterflies!):

Pretty summery… unlike the weather today, which was dreary and gloomy and pretty damn depressing!  (My umbrella, though, is the exact same shade of turquoise as the flowers on the shirt… so hey, at least I matched?)  But the morning did start off wonderfully, as I experienced something life-changing.

I am not kidding.  I had never tasted fresh figs before, and at the risk of sounding ridiculous, I am going to say that this was an out-of-this-world explosion of perfect sweetness, and that I am pretty sure I have never tasted such an incredible fruit.

The Mebar in my last post:

It was pineapple.  And it was delicious.  ;)  Here’s another one:

It was much too soft, but the flavor was spot-on.  Any guesses?  :D

So, like I said, my mom came to take me out to lunch today.

I don’t even remember what was in here… romaine, mushrooms, sprouts, beets, chickpeas, broccoli, a few croutons, balsamic… is that it?  I don’t know.  It was pretty unremarkable, but I knew it would be, so I didn’t really care.  The star of the show, after all, was the frozen yogurt… which I was determined to enjoy this time without any guilt.

We actually ate the frozen yogurt before the salads, because they would have melted otherwise.  It therefore didn’t even occur to me to stress out over any of this until I was halfway through the salad, but honestly, I couldn’t be bothered.  It’s mostly vegetables.  Stupid to get stressed over that.

And besides, I had something else to stress about!  I had an acupuncture appointment today, which I was really anticipating because ever since my “incident” last month, even though my wrist / thumb has healed, I can’t put weight on my palm — as in, I can’t do a push-up.  Acupuncturist: I’m going to put a needle in here [indicating the soft part of my palm, right beneath the thumb].  Me: Okay?  Acupuncturist: It’s going to hurt.  Just thought I’d warn you.  Me: I’ll get over it.  And, actually, it didn’t really hurt.  Until an hour later, when I suddenly realized that the back of my hand still felt like it had a needle stuck in it.  Which, in case you were wondering, is a distinctly unpleasant sensation.

I wound up going back down to him, and he applied some sort of topical herbal remedy which smelled oddly like tea leaves and gave my hand a lovely yellow hue.  But it did help a little bit.  And hey, it’s less inconvenient to have the back of my hand hurt than my palm…

Saw this chalk mandala drawing… must be so depressing to watch all of your hard work being washed away by the persistent drizzle!!

As I am in desperate need of sleep, I am going to pretend that there is some sort of logical sequence to the random mishmash of statements in this post, and head straight for the shower. 

Have a lovely Friday!

“People change and forget to tell each other.”
~Lillian Hellman

8 responses to “Birthday Lunch!

  1. mango? haha i like this mebar guessing game, even if i suck at it!

  2. Lemon?! Idk……..I got the first one right! I think I’m just going by color.

  3. The inside of figs always kind of creeps me out… they actually kind of remind me of venus fly traps now that I think about it. In any case, I was really excited to try the fresh ones when I finally found them in the store, but I wasn’t that impressed. Mine were purple, though, and not green… so I don’t know if that makes a difference. I found that they kind of tasted like lettuce?

  4. Happy belated birthday! I’m sorry I’ve been away for awhile, and missed your actual birthday date. Or maybe I’m 2 weeks early…;-)

    I LOVE figs! I tried my first real fresh fig last summer and fell in love. Some can be pretty nasty though…gotta choose the right one!

  5. Happy birthday!

    I adore figs, they are so decadent fruit, and I can’t get enough of them. I just wish they were more available :/

  6. I love your new top! :)

  7. I’m not doing very well with these Mebars, am I? I’ll go for Tropical with this one (looks vaguely orangey?) But then again, it could be Cashew Cookie…argh!

    Beautiful new top! I wish I had your fashion sense, I truly do.

    Mmm, figgies. I love them…sadly my tum does not, as per usual.

    Think you handled the birthday lunch brilliantly, and I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your Fro-Yo :)

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxxx

  8. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace

    Hmm, my vote for lemon. I’m on a lemon kick lately. :)

Leave a Reply

