Review: PURE Bars

Blasphemous as this may be in the blog world, I’ve said before that I am not a big fan of Trader Joe’s. I am, however, a fan of PURE bars, which I could never find anywhere else.  I wanted to try the other flavors before buying anything in bulk online, so I contacted the company, and they graciously agreed to send me a sample pack.

I was very excited when the package arrived … PURE bars!

In alphabetical order, because I’m anal like that.  ;)

Apple cinnamon

I wasn’t hit with the aroma of cinnamon when I opened the package, so I thought I wouldn’t be able to taste it… but that wasn’t the case.  The flavor was phenomenal.  It was the texture that I wasn’t crazy over, because there were far too many nuts for my liking.  I did like the chewy bits of dried apple, though.

Cherry cashew

I originally reviewed this flavor here. I didn’t lovelove it, but it was the only flavor aside from the chocolate brownie that I could find, and it did grow on me a little bit.

Chocolate brownie

I originally reviewed this flavor here, and my opinion still stands: most awesome natural chocolate-flavored bar ever.

Cranberry orange

The scent test (what, you don’t take a whiff of a bar you’ve never tried before?!) provided me with a lovely citrus-y aroma.  And the taste was  much the same.  It was a bit too greasy, but other than that, I loved it; the perfect balance between sweet and tart.

Trail mix

This one was slightly disappointing.  I couldn’t really identify the aroma — something like a cross between raisins and sunflower seeds?  Which is weird, because I couldn’t really detect either of those in the taste or texture.  I was sure that the cacao bits would be my favorite part, but they were far too bitter.

Wild blueberry

I was afraid that this would be sickly sweet, as dried berries tend to be, but it wasn’t.  There were definitely dried berries in there — indentifiably! — but it didn’t taste cloying at all.  I liked it.

Overall, the chocolate brownie is still my favorite, but I’d buy any of them, with the exception of the trail mix flavor.

9 responses to “Review: PURE Bars

  1. ~Jessica Zara~

    Great reviews: your opinions of the PURE bars co-incide exactly with mine! The Chocolate Brownie was my favourite too, though the Blueberry was a very close second.

    I don’t think that I’d rate the chocolate one as the best raw/healthy chocolate flavoured bar ever, because I love my Nakd Coco Locos too much. I just wish that the latter were Kosher so I could send you some!

    I was disappointed in the trail mix one too for the exact same reason: I thought I’d love those cacao nibs but they were totally bitter and tasteless…in fact the bar didn’t really have a strong flavour at all aside from the apple pieces. I think with the apple one itself I still prefer the apple pie Larabar because it’s less sweet and more ‘natural’ tasting.

    Never tried the Cranberry Orange one though, although being that I hated the cherry one it’s probably just as well!

    Hope today is a better one for you than the previous couple have been.

    Take care

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

  2. Oh my goodness I looove Pure bars! The chocolate is definitely my favorite but I like the cherry as well… I haven’t been able to find any other flavors and didn’t even know they existed! I shall be on the lookout now :)

  3. the chocolate brownie looks CRAZY GOOD! i seriously will pick one up since uve reviewed them! <3

    have a gorgeous sunday love :)

  4. imaginenamaste

    those look awesome–esp that wild blueberry and chocolate one! i’ll have to keep my eye out for them!

  5. I always feel so left out when people do these kind of reviews, because bars are one of the popular blog world things that I can’t really enjoy thanks to allergies. I guess I just have to be content with the fact that I can make my own… when I’m not too lazy ;)

  6. Pingback: Sunday Night Blues « Blue Eyed Heart

  7. YUM i love pure bars! they’re such a convenient snack and they are actually a bit cheaper than larabars down here in the dirty dirty.

  8. Love pure bars! I’ve only had the chocolate and blueberry thus far. Blueberry was SOOOOOOOO good! I get them at a local health food store :)

    Dana xo

    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  9. Yay! Thanks so much for the great review of Pure Bars. We just also changed our packaging so check out our new look on the website :) Thanks again! xoxo
    Veronica

    http://www.thepurebar.com/

Leave a Reply

