Melting Blob

Humid.  Sticky.  Ew.  Ew.  Ew.  I am simultaneously melting and expanding… I don’t mind the heat at all, but the humidity kills me.  I swear, it seeps into my pores and just stays there.  There are probably at least five pounds’ worth of fluid retention on me right now, and I am not liking it.

But don’t think that stopped me from trekking all over town.  Oh, no.  In fact, on my lunchtime trek, I encountered something which would make many bloggers squeal with glee:

New Trader Joe’s opening on Monday!  I’m not a big fan of Trader Joe’s, but rest assured, I will check it out anyway.  ;)

I was more excited about my actual destination on this walk:

Yes, I went back.  I decided I should just stop being such a moron and keep the damn thing, but assembling it myself is probably not the smartest choice… lest I make a mistake and only discover it under fifty feet of water.  That wouldn’t be very good, would it?…

That’s more like it.  :D

romaine, raw corn, alfalfa sprouts, roasted baby bellas, roasted tofu (garlic powder + paprika)

In assembling the above, I came across an adorable polyploidy mushroom.

There seems to be some color missing, so it was fetus carrots to the rescue…

Well.  Also because I had to use up the carrots, like, last week.  I tried a new flavor hommus:

If you know me at all, you know that I hate tomatoes.  I hate tomatoes far more than I love mushrooms, which is why I was hesitant to try this.  But I actually hate tomatoes because of their seeds, which isn’t a factor here… and I really liked this flavor!

Random: remember when I said that salad croutons make me uncomfortable because of what “they” say?  Observe:

Oh, do shut up.

Now I am going to share some recent finds.  You will notice that none of these things are presented in liquefied form, and that would be because I never actually wound up going to the dentist, because he had to attend a funeral.  But since his secretary called my home phone and not my cell phone, I left work early anyway.  I wound up going to the supermarket with my mom; that isn’t actually when I got the aforementioned finds, but I did get these:

Sea salt, banana extract, cinnamon extract.  Ohhh, the possibilities!!

Anyway, back to what I was saying.  Find #1:

I didn’t like it as much as the chocolate hazelnut butter… in terms of drizzle-ability, anyway.

Find #2:

Before I get into this, can I get some photography help?!  The first picture is too yellow; the second is too blue.  I am apparently not very good at this whole lighting thing.  Anyway, it’s a Dr. Praeger’s meatless All American burger, and I was too lazy to photograph the box, which is unfortunate since the picture on the website is of the southwest burger.  In any case, it’s been quite a few years since I’ve had a burger, but it was kind of scary how similar this tastes to real meat.  It was kind of dry, but that could be because I left it in the oven for too long.

Recycled.

Because this post is already longer than it has any right to be, I am going to save the verbal vomit… which I really shouldn’t do, for my own sake, but whatever.  And there may or may not be a giveaway of sorts within the next couple of days…

Happy Thursday!

“The worst solitude is to be destitute of sincere friendship.”
~Francis Bacon

10 responses to “Melting Blob

  1. I would say that I’d trade you weather (it’s been kind of miserable and rainy here), but while I love the heat you guys have been having over there in the east, I’m definitely not a fan of humidity. I guess I’ll take my rain without complaint until the sun decides to come out again.

    I’m extremely wary of veggie burgers, but I do enjoy eating them occasionally. Are the Dr. P’s good? The only ones I’ve had are Amy’s (wonderful) and Sol Cuisine (horrible).

    Hope you’re doing well, hun <3

  2. traynharder23

    that burger looks pretty good and not as oily as the other patty from Dr. Praegers!

    sorry about the humidity. it’s always drizzly in the morning around here. =(

    and i love how organized your salad is!! =D

    banana extract…hmmm. =D

  3. Yeah, the humidity is killing us. 83% here, I think.
    And yes, I agree, I love how you plate your salad, lol.
    The mushroom…I thought it was larve xD

    xoxo

  4. ~Jessica Zara~

    That quote made me feel so sad…it’s a really poignant one and probably explains why I feel so down all the time!

    I’m retaining fluid too and that’s just in the UK ‘heat’ which is nothing compared to what you’re enduring…my calves look like footballs so goodness knows what you’re having to put up with. Huge sympathy there!

    I would probably pee myself if they opened a TJs in the UK…it would probably be in London anyway though *hmph*
    <3

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

  5. OOOH I liked the chocolate hazelnut better than the chocolate almond too! It tasted like chocolate cake batter to me. Of course I sqeeled when I saw that pic of TJ’s. If only they’d head to Charleston. The world would be a better place! ;)

  6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    you know we all love your verbal vomit :) never feel the need to suppress it!

    & i can’t wait to try the chocolate hazelnut justin butter- i won it in a giveaway!! That hummus flavor sounds delicious- i love mushrooms & tomatoes. You should definitely check out trader joe’s- it is really good in value and in price!

    oxoxoox

  7. Pingback: It’s Not You, It’s Me « Blue Eyed Heart

  8. Pingback: CSN Stores Upcoming Review + Hale & Hearty « Blue Eyed Heart

  9. Pingback: Hop & Hobble « Blue Eyed Heart

  10. Pingback: Alphebruary, Day One |

Leave a Reply

