Brilliant

Today it occurred to me that it might be possible for me to graduate sooner than I’d thought, but without killing myself in the process… if I take online courses over the summer, I would eliminate the need to travel an extra two hours every day, which would free up some time to actually do some coursework.  It wouldn’t be easy, but potentially doable… and then I could graduate in December.  My school doesn’t offer online classes, but they accept credits from other accredited institutions on a case-by-case basis.  So, if I can find a school that won’t require all of the hassles involved in applying (i.e., undergraduate transcripts, GRE scores, letters of recommendation) — since I don’t even want to matriculate — that would make my life a lot easier.  Not to mention the fact that a lot of the programs are about half the price of my school!!  (Don’t even get me started on how I wound up in such a disgustingly expensive place.  It is thanks to an “academic scholarship.”)

It’s really a futile effort, but still trying to empty the freezers.

After microwaving:

Um.  Let’s try stirring that up.

Eh.  I think I prefer my own versions!  This is fine in a pinch, I guess, but it was a little salty, a lot watery, and not a lot of protein at all (3g, I think).

There were also a couple of apple cinnamon mini muffins in one freezer.

With vanilla yogurt, chunky peanut butter, and cinnamon.

And an exhibit of idiocy, I guess:

Butternut squash roasted with paprika and chili powder, tofu steak, and Italian blend vegetables with Mrs. Dash fiesta lime seasoning blend.  As you can see, I left the squash and tofu in the oven for way too long.  I was pretty angry about that, but you know what? … There will be other squashes, and there will be more tofu.  Not the end of the world.

I actually spent a lot of time telling myself something similar on my commute home today… to just chill out.  I waited for a local train for fifteen minutes… during which time I watched six trains speed by on the express track.  And I could have walked to the next station in less than ten minutes, but whatever.  And then, after I spent all that time waiting, we stop in the middle of a tunnel due to “train traffic ahead of us.”  What train traffic?!  There is no train ahead of us!!  Gah.  I hate the MTA.

I’ve been wanting to try this for a while, but my skin is so crazily oversensitive that I’ve hardly used anything but prescription products in years… but I decided to take a chance on this because it intrigued me.  I shouldn’t say anything yet, since I’ve only used it once, but so far it hasn’t done anything evil to me!  Check back in a few days to see if my face has erupted.  On that note, I really need to get my eyebrows threaded before my vision starts being obstructed.

There are so many things I need to do, and I just can’t seem to get around to doing them.  Schoolwork is piling up, and the thought of it paralyzes me when it should really spur me into action.  And I have a mountain of mail to go through, but I just don’t seem to have the time for it, and I can’t figure out why since I am not really getting anything done!  It makes me very anxious when my surroundings start to get so “messy.”

So, naturally, I decide to catch up on ANTM (yeah, yeah, my guilty pleasure).  Except that I can’t seem to get the full episode, which is really irritating.  So maybe I should go to sleep, since I’m not doing anything useful anyway? … Oh, yeah.  My hair is wet.  Again.

Old standby:

Tomorrow, my family is going to bake matzah.  When most of you think of matzah, you probably envision the squares that you can buy in the supermarket.  We don’t use those on Pesach; in fact, I will probably rant about this at length over the next couple of weeks, but pretty much nothing in this house is store-bought over the holiday.  We go to a special matzah bakery to make our own shmurah matzah, which essentially means “watched matzah.” (More detailed explanation of the difference can be found here.)  When I was little, it was an exciting thing for me: I got to come late to school because of it!  (Hey, I ought to include photo tours with these little “lessons”… bwahaha!)  Then I got old enough to actually do something besides watch, and I ended up being tasked with washing the mixing bowls, which needs to be done with cold water because using hot water might “cook” the flour / water mixture and create all sorts of problems.  The sink is right near the door.  And we always seemed to do this on a very cold day; sticking your hands in ice-cold water with frigid surroundings?  Not fun.  I’m going to work tomorrow, thank you very much.  (I don’t even eat that matzah; I buy my own shmurah matzah, because I want whole wheat.)

Hopefully it will not be frigid tomorrow, though.  The space heater in my room has decided to stop working, so I’ve come to the conclusion that this means winter is officially over.  And with that, I will go be useless some more.

Have a great weekend.

“Don’t part with your illusions.  When they are gone you may still exist, but you have ceased to live.”
~Mark Twain
(At the risk of sounding extremely
repetitive — I like this guy!)

12 responses to “Brilliant

  1. uhh how do you bake matzah? PLEASEEE share! gratzi :)

    also, i loveee the ‘clean out the freezer’ game. def one of my favorites.

    sweet dreams <3

  2. wow! baking your own matzah! CRAZY cool!!!!

    i cleaned out the fridge earlier this year. cleaned out fridge = stuffed tummy. hahaha. and getteing sick of frozen baked goods. =D

    i have to try my amy’s food soon. well, march is FROZEN FOOD MONTH i think! so you are totally going with it.

  3. Gah! I hate it when a meal doesn’t turn out the way I wanted it to. But you’re completely right… there will be other meals. It’s something I’ve been able to come to terms with recently as well :) One bad meal isn’t the end of the world.

    I also hate it when things feel like they’re piling up on me. Sometimes everything feels fine and then BOOM all of a sudden there’s tonnes of things out of nowhere. They’ll get done though; don’t stress too much :)

  4. love the info about your school stuff, the matzah, and the loreal product! been trying for 10 yrs to get off lancome, i.e. the only thing that doesnt break me out and in the last week per a reader’s suggestion/commnet to me, I got on Aveeno’s bar soap. It’s $2.79 at Target, it’s an oatmeal moisturizing bar, she recommended the clarifying bar but my target didnt have that one so i picked up the only aveeno bar they had, cheap, and it’s working, no breakouts! yay! keep me posted on the loreal too!

  5. I love hearing about your culture ~ I studied all modern world religions in a reasonably amount of depth at school (my atheist parents were horrified that I chose the subject over geography :P) but it’s brilliant to hear about all of the traditions and festivals in more depth. The boy/girl segregation issue must be difficult to deal with though…I hope it’s not to rude a question but do you ever feel oppressed by some of the more…well, misogynistic traditions? There are so many positive aspects too, but it’s just something I find hard to get to grips with in many religions; the privileging of men over women in general. Apologies if I’m being out of line!

    That’s great news about the online courses! I really hope they work out for you.

    Your freezer-emptying meals all look really nice to me! I get the same way when meals don’t work out though…but as you say, there will be other opportunities to eat those foods and the anxiety just isn’t worth it. I hope that at some point I’ll learn not to get so irked when meals go a little awry.

    Have a lovely week-end

    ~Jess~
    xoxoxo

  6. My skin is super-sensitive as well and I finally a product that cleanses and works without breaking me out…Cetaphil!!

  7. hahah i crack myself up when i come up with genius ideas which someone else would have thought of in like 5 mins… online classes sound like a great idea. thats what i took during recovery when i was still in college. they are easier and the tests are either essay based(which you can pre-study for) or multi choice!

    as always, adore the earrings

  8. sounds like a lot of work! but it’s nice to have traditions. hmm, online classes, if it cuts down on your commute time i say go for it! kinda funny when you realize you can make something that tastes way better than an already made version

  9. Good luck with the graduating stuff!! I was very proud of myself for doing it in 4 years! (Esp monetarily) Silly me went to a State school out of state : )

  10. That frozen meal looks pretty good to me, actually!
    But it looks teeennnyy tinnnyyy!
    oh well.
    Good luck with the online course! I’ve heard they aren’t the easiest things.. I’m sure you’ll do great though! <3

    xxoxoxo

    Vera

  11. I did online classes over the summer, and it was HUGELY worth it. Many schools have online “distance learning” courses that you can take without having to officially apply or anything. It’s a little bit of a pain if you plan to apply to another graduate program afterwards, because it’s an extra place to request transcripts from, but I was really glad that I did it.

  12. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    oh the joys of matzah- have fun!! & good luck with everything- i know it is stressful, but i truly believe it will all work out <3 love you!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

