Blog Birthday Giveaway Winner

It was my blog’s birthday today.  I did mention that before, didn’t I? … Giveaway winner is all the way at the end of this post, which is impossibly long, so I won’t ruminate on the past year.  ;)

Yesterday’s mail included my federal tax rebate.  I would love to splurge on something crazy, but it’s going to go straight into the bank!  I think it’s rather pathetic how exciting it is to get that check — it is my money, I worked for it, and it should have been in my account all along.  Argh.  But I want to use my state rebate to go on a vacation.  I’m still pondering whether to go away over spring break, and if I should go on a dive trip then… I won’t be able to get my own wetsuit in time, and I did say I wanted to do that before I went diving again!  Problems, problems.  ;)

Remember what happened the last time I tried to add All Whites to old-fashioned oats?  Yeah, it didn’t exactly work out.  I was going to use oat bran this time around, but someone had given us baby bananas on Purim, and I really needed to use them; and I like bananas much better in oatmeal.  So I used a very small amount of All Whites (I’m guessing it was around 1 oz.), which took f-o-r-e-v-e-r to whisk.  My KitchenAid mixer is just too big for this.  I am definitely going to get an electric whisk!  Anyway, I mashed up one of the baby bananas and cooked it along with the oats, and then used part of another banana (the rest of which was so black that it went into the trash) to frame the peanut butter.

I don’t really care for peanut butter in oat bran, which is another reason why I wanted to use oatmeal.  And it worked out quite well!  As an added bonus, I loved the chunky peanut butter here; I even prefer it over smooth in this case.  Good to know.

A couple of people asked which muffin toppers I use.  They aren’t Vitas, because those are pretty close behind Amy’s on the I wish I could have that and it’s so unfair that I can’t list!  I use Muffin Delite — it’s the only option I have.

New Turtle Mountain flavor we tried this week…

Butter pecan.  This did not go over well.  Dad: Don’t buy ice cream with nuts in it!  (This from the man who consumes almonds by the pound.)  Well, I don’t like nuts either, but we had to try it at least once.  My brother refused to eat it today, claiming he could “smell” it.  Okay.  Then when I said that nuts don’t have a smell, he accused me of being a hypocrite because I like the ends of bread better than the middle.  Connection?  I don’t know.  But I, of course, being skilled in the art of guilt, managed to feel it anyway for eating it when he didn’t, because I don’t love it.  Whatever.

And then we went to another brother’s house for an anniversary party / birthday party for my sister-in-law.  Her side of the family came too — and if you think my family is huge, theirs is at least double the size.  It was somewhat frightening!  His fish are also frightening — they’re huge too.  Maybe I’m biased, but I prefer my own aquarium.  I’m glad he has a big one, though, because when he got that one he gave the old one to me!

I also went to the mall tonight to buy boots.  I got the exact same pair that I bought a few months ago, albeit half a size smaller — guess I won’t be able to wear multiple pairs of socks! It seems like an odd thing to do, but this will prevent me from having the same boot-finding headache next year as I did this year. I was in and out of the mall in less than twenty minutes. I don’t know what happened to me — I used to be such a girl when it came to shopping, and now I can’t stand it.


So, the giveaway.  I asked what I should change on my blog, and these were some of the suggestions I received:

  • Less dead fish
    I’d love to indulge that request, but I’m sorry to report that one of my red wag platies died yesterday. On my way home from the mall tonight, I bought two bumble bee platies.  They looked a lot yellower in Petco’s tank than they do in mine!

  • Shorter posts
    I suppose not being a real-life chatterbox has something to do with my incessant babbling here!  I do realize that it’s probably a lot harder to read it than it is for me to run off at the mouth (fingers?)… while I can definitely try to keep posts shorter, sometimes (okay, a lot of times) I just want to ramble.  Case in point: this post.  Epic fail on the “keep it short” scale.
  • Jewish culture
    This should be an easy one for me, right? … All it would involve is yapping (which we’ve already established that I can do) about something I already know.  I’ve never really said anything too in-depth about that because A) I’m really bad at explaining things “in general” — I can answer specific questions, but giving overviews is not my forte; and B) I am always afraid that I will sound like I’m proselytizing!
  • More pictures
    Okay, that I can definitely do.  Considering how my camera is just another appendage to me, and all!  ;) Averie said that I should include pictures of myself… I have done that once or twice, but I will always password-protect those posts.  I’m paranoid, what can I say??  I hate that I am, but I don’t want anyone I know in “real life” finding out about my blog.
  • Recipes
    I’m a little puzzled about this one, because aside for the ongoing battle I have with my recipe for protein pancakes — which isn’t actually a recipe as yet, since it’s a work in progress — I don’t really have any!  Unless you call throwing some random steamed vegetables together a recipe, that is.  Must go check old posts and see what this means.  ;)
  • Aesthetics
    Indecisive person that I am, it’s impossible to decide on a new theme… I did change my header a bit, though.  It wasn’t the right size before, and it always bothered me!

But you don’t want to hear my rambling about all that… you want to know who won the giveaway! I used random.org to choose the winner: Katie!  Congratulations!  :D  E-mail me at blueeyedheart@gmail.com and let me know what you want me to include as your “favorite,” as well as where you’d like me to send the package.

Thanks to everyone who entered!  I’m coming up on 300 posts, so you never know… ;)

Have a lovely Sunday.

“For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

13 responses to “Blog Birthday Giveaway Winner

  1. ooo LOVE PB on oats! ive gotten to the point now where i cant even eat it without it on there!

  2. congrats to the winner! i found that egg whites worked much better in oat bran than in oats for me, but i think it’s all about the method. i definitely ended up with scrambled eggs in my oats the first time. LOL i’m glad less dead fish was a contender, but sadly i know it’s out of your hands. yeah for more pics of YOU! :)

  3. i keep wanting to making egg white oats but im so worried i’ll mess up, haha!
    congrats to the winner!

    xoxo Vera

  4. I would love to try some muffin delite!!

    hurray for new boots! I can’t stand malls either normally. They completely drain me of all my energy.

    Butter pecan is not my fav flavor of ice cream- and I definitely don’t care for nuts in ice cream either.

    Happy Sunday!

  5. I love the header. The hearts around your eyes. Dare I say you look like a seductive blue eyed exotic princess :)

    Ok i gotcha now on the photo posting. Duly noted.

    The recipes suggestion and that you feel you dont have any..well when you make something w/ your family that may be like a tradition or a jewish thing or whatever, just snap a couple pics of it, and post it. And if people are like oh that looks great, then take the time to type up the recipe. Just a thought that way you “have recipes”!

  6. Hehe someone asked me to write shorter posts once ;) now that is one suggestion that I couldn’t comply with, because I am totally incapable of not rambling. I like your blog just as it is, though I agree with Averie that your altered header is great! Happy blogiversary :)

  7. I love the new header! I think it looks great :) And happy birthday to your blog!

    I’ve recently found that egg whites work better in oat bran than oatmeal/steel cut oats; I think it’s mainly due to the fact that oat bran absorbs things a lot more than the other two varieties do.

    And I can completely relate to your dislike of shopping. Even on the rare occasion that I actually feel like going, after a few stores I’m completely drained and bored. Maybe it has to do with the fact that actually finding something I like is super rare.

  8. HI!

    LMFAO!! You are some serious fish killer.

    I use 1 extra-large egg white (which is a litte below 1.5oz) in my oatmeal, I love the fluffiness so much. I whisk it with a fork, so it’s not ‘stiff’ like for meringues but still. I don’t want to wake up the house with my hand mixer! Only takes me less than 1 min though.

    Hate nuts in ice cream too. Your brother is funny, I know plenty of people who loves the end of the bread. :)

    xoxo

  9. YAY! Thanks so much, L :-D

    I still haven’t successfully incorporated egg whites into my oatmeal… maybe one of these days…

  10. Happy blog birthday!

    Aww, I actually love your long posts and verbal vomiting. I’m not chatty in real life either unless I’m particularly manic (or with Katie and Fi ;) ) and I think it comes through in my lengthy posts too. But I can understand how they’d be hard to follow…we need our outlets though!

    The presentation of your oats is beautiful…and I love the new header.

    Don’t feel guilty about the ice-cream ~ I think your brother was mostly just pulling your leg to antagonize you by the sound of it. Not sure what your Dad’s excuse was though!
    <3

    ~Jess~
    xoxoxo

  11. Congrats to Katie!

    Taxes are so confusing. I know they say you shouldn’t get a refund, because then you aren’t collecting interest on money because the gov’t has it, but I hate paying it! Happy you got a return :)

    I am excited to read more about Jewish culture! Ha, I am super indecisive about my blog layout too. One obnoxious person (that I unfortunately know irl) was bugging me to change it for over two years.

  12. Happy Blog Birthday! :)

  13. Pingback: By The Hours « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

