I Hate Winter.

Guess what!!  (Warning: I’m about to brag.)

Second week in a row!! :D

This Sunday was so different from last Sunday in terms of weather, it isn’t even funny.  Last week I ran out to buy pita on Sunday night, and I didn’t even take a jacket.  If I’m not wearing a jacket, it’s got to be pretty warm.  Today I was all bundled up in a thermal shirt, sweatshirt, scarf, and down coat, and it was still cold.  Every winter I am reminded of why exactly I want to move to a warmer climate.  I hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate the cold weather!!  Have I mentioned that I hate it?!

It was so cold that I had to clomp about in my sister’s “Uggs.”  (There is a long convoluted story behind those quotation marks, but trust me, you do not want to hear it.)  My feet (well, mostly foot) are giving me all manner of problems… and my podiatrist doesn’t have Sunday hours anymore, so my options are either to dash over like a crazy person when I get back from class tomorrow and hope I make it; or wait until Thursday.  Since I think feet are sort of a necessary part of everyday life, I might go with the former.  I just love paying people to chop up my extremities, don’t you??

To avoid a repeat of what happened to my finger when I made the cottage cheese pancakes, I treated myself to a new griddle pan.

Of course, I couldn’t resist playing with my new toy right away!  So, even though it would have made more sense to use up some more of the cottage cheese, I went with the fact that I am not a very sensible person and made cinnamon French toast instead.

Very heavy on the cinnamon.  I love this pan.  I also think that I’ve gotten so irritated with my nonstick cookware in the past because I never bothered to treat it right away.  Well, and the fact that my  mom doesn’t care about using metal utensils and / or scouring pads on it… but she’s not likely to use this, so it’s safe.  :)

When I was younger, I always used to be kind of “embarrassed” by the fact that I liked kasha.  For some reason, it was viewed as an “old people food,” probably because it came from “the old country.”  My “best friend” liked it too, but she actually is Russian, so that doesn’t count!  Is there a food that you’ve felt weird about liking? 

I still do love kasha, but since I’ve discovered that bulgur tastes very similar and is a lot easier to cook, I haven’t made kasha very often. Today, however, I made kasha varnishkes.

I hadn’t had this in years.  And — gasp! — it isn’t even whole wheat pasta!  And I lived to tell the tale.  Imagine that.

I have a paper due tomorrow.  Like the last one, I know I haven’t given it 100%.  I’m sure it will reflect in my grade, and I’m sure I’ll be $*!&ing furious with myself then.  But in addition to the shenanigans above, this is what I did instead of working on the paper like I should have done…

I got another algae eater, because the microscopic one is probably going to be swallowed whole any day now.  And a gold gourami and a geo. I like the geo because it reminds me of the Bolivian rams I used to have, and I loved those.  I don’t particularly care for the whiskers on the gourami, but, well, I can’t get smaller fish anymore, unless I want to kill my kissing gourami, since I’m guessing that’s who is eating all the disappearing fish. Apparently, “community fish” are no longer that community-oriented when they get bigger. Gosh, thanks for telling me that now!  And the water in the tank is clouding up for some reason.  I don’t know why.  It is irritating me.  Even more irritating is that everyone is asking me, “Why is the water so cloudy?”  This happens all the time… If I knew why it was cloudy, I would DO something about it and it would not be cloudy anymore!!

Okay, so that took up some time.  Next, I decided that since it’s about that time of year, it is imperative that I make sufganiyot.

I made about three dozen of these.  And I officially hate my pastry injector.  And the stupid morons who decided that it’s a good idea for pastry filling to come in a plastic bag inside a box instead of in a jar!!

Clearly, all of these endeavors were far more important than working on a paper.  The only reason I actually had it done at all is because I am a moron and I thought it was due before the other paper.  It’s been so long since I’ve done it that I just didn’t feel like re-visiting it… and I’m handing it in tomorrow, but I need to present it next week.  Oh, joys.  Someone shoot me now.

Actually, don’t bother; I’ll just freeze to death tomorrow instead! … Do I really have to put up with another few months of this?!  Thirty-six days until my vacation…

Have a happy Monday.

13 responses to “I Hate Winter.

  1. you are a BEAST at crossword!! i totally love the library too!!! well good luck with your papers lovely!

  2. I cannot do crosswords for the life of me! I think I’m a “rebel” when I do suduko in pen… :)

    I also detest cold. When I search for jobs the first thing I look at is the weather!

    Good luck with the papers….trying to find focus right now, myself! May resort to bribery :)

    Have a good Monday! Hope your foot feels better!

  3. You know, I used to go on and on about how ugly “Uggs” are. But you know what? They are the most comfortable shoes in the world, and I don’t know how I’d make it through these winters here in NY without them!

  4. CONGRATS ON DOING THE SUNDAY CROSSWORD! you are putting me to shame.

    uggs ? fuggo. =D

    you should move here to california and make me pancakes!

    XOXOXOOX

  5. I am not big on cold weather but I do get to where my cute collection of sweaters. I feel weird about liking hummus. I can’t explain why but just do.
    I love doing the crossword puzzles in People and TV Guide. I’m good at pop culture. Stay warm and have a great week!!!!

  6. sorry about the cold :-\ and that cinnamon french toast sounds deliciouss!!

    xo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  7. OK, so I will win the lottery on Wednesday and buy us both houses somewhere hot – as long as you promise to bring a gluten free version of sufganiyot! They look just like my favourite doughnuts from when I was a kid :)
    Good luck with the new fish! I think you need to install a security camera…

  8. CONGRATS on the crossword, I’m hopeless with them. I do love a sudoku :)

  9. OMG. How do you DO that?!! You genius…No wonder you work in the library….you’re like a walking encyclopedia! Never want to play trivia with you!

    Freak this. I HATE WINTER TOO! Even in LA, it’s cold and annoying!

  10. Pingback: I Love Fire « Blue Eyed Heart

  11. Pingback: Angry « Blue Eyed Heart

  12. Pingback: Feels Like Friday « Blue Eyed Heart

  13. Pingback: What Does A Body Need? « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

